We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claire Worrall”
Review of The Samling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Samling Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We have just stayed at the Samling in the Tyan room and it certainly lived up to our expectations. The staff were genuinely welcoming, highly attentive and very knowledgeable about the food and wine. The room was lovely and the evening meal was exceptional. Adventurous cooking and fascinating flavour combinations - cuisine of the highest order! Above all, it is a warm and relaxing place to stay - thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: We only saw one room, but if you want a romantic room with a stunning view, choose Tyan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richworr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed one night for a celebration, paying £320 for a room overlooking the lake, dinner bed and breakfast. It was our first visit. Having successfully negotiated the very steep dive, we pulled up outside the main entrance and were greeted by a member of staff. He took our bags inside, and took the keys to park the car around the back. WE asked about the hot tub and were told there as a free slot if we went there and then. As it was raining, the path up to it was slippy, and there is no where to keep your things dry while you are in the tub. I'd say you need to be well organised to get the best out of the experience on a wet day, but it was warm and there is a nice view over the lake.

The staff were unfailingly helpful throughout our stay, having to cope with a series of issues that should not have been necessary if the hotel had been better maintained.

We could not get the gas fire in the room to light - neither could the first staff member who tried. The next morning, there was a similar problem. The heated towel rail never worked as no-one was available to change a fuse. The extractor in the bathroom also didn't work, the sink was cracked and in the bedroom the carpet was stained, and some chairs worn. The lighting was poor.

The evening meal was excellent, starting with drinks by the real fire in the lounge, and then a well paced five course dinner. There was a welath of lovely flavours and it was good fun. The staff were efficient and helpful. The dining room itself was dismal however, and in need of decorating to spruce it up.

Breakfast was served in the room, with a preliminary early warm drink at a time of our chosing. The morning paper didn't arrive with the drink, but with the later breakfast, leaving too little time befoire check out to relax with it. However, as the lighting was poor, it was difficult to read anyway. Breakfast, oprdred the night before, arrived on a big tray and we transferred it bit by bit onto the small table. The chairs were too low, making it uncomfortable to eat at the table. The food was very nice, except for the mass produced marmalade/jams sewrved in those little pots . Asd everything else was nicely presented, this seemed a pity.

On leaving, the hotel presented a bill but had failed to subtract the deposit. Rather than apologising for this wheh we pointed it out, we were told that they didn't normally take one. This felt a tad insulting, and spolied the otherwise good impression staff had made.

Room Tip: Our room was shabby, so I couldn't recommend it. I don't know what the rest were like, of co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

A great experience. Greeted on arrival and super service throughout our stay. The room was excellent, and breakfast was good. Despite the high quality, there was no stuffiness at all. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerbertGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I stayed at The Samling Hotel in early January 2013 with my partner and dog and we all loved it! I thought having the dog would mean that we would have a sub standard/basic room but that wasn't the case at all. Our cottage (Dove Nest) had a Mal Maison feel to it decoartion wise with a huge bathroom including roll top bath. The best bit was that it was only 10 seconds away from the outdoor hot tub which we took full advantage off for a relaxing dip after our meal. With regards to the food, we choose the 7 course tasting menu with wine pairing and loved every single minute of it! Some of the dishes weren't to my usual taste but you couldn't fault them and I thoroughly enjoyed trying some new things (even the snail cigar!). I would definitely recommend The Samling Hotel especially for a romantic break and I'm looking forward to visiting them again soon for more of their delicious creme brulee!

Room Tip: Dove Nest was great for the dog and very close the hot tub but would love to stay in the Tyan Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tory531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My wife and I recently returned from a stay at the Samling. It has that special feeling of a small country house hotel and reminded us of The Old Church Hotel on Ullswater, now unfortunately converted back to a private residence. The young staff provide attentive and enthusiastic service. Just before Xmas we enjoyed a meal at Joel Robuchon's L'Atelier two Michelin starred restaurant in Covent Garden and we both agreed that there were elements of the 6 course gourmet menu that matched this level of cooking. The combination of beetroot and pomegranate was particularly memorable. As evident from other reviews it will not be long before this level of cooking is formally recognised. Unfortunately this will increase the Samling's popularity and make it even more difficult to book.
We had one tiny criticism. The availability of two-ply toilet tissue would have made our experience complete!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Methera suite in the main hotel. Very special indeed. Much more spacious with comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KeithAylen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We decided at the last minute to extend our stay in the Lake District and called in on spec at the Samling to see if they had a room available. At first we couldn't find anyone but when we did eventually meet the young manager he could not do enough for us. In fact for the twenty four hours we were there he looked after us so thoughtfully and is a real asset to this place. A very hard working individual indeed.
The room we had was Methera which has lovely views of the lake if you are lucky enough to see it. It was foggy for part of the time we were there.

The soft furnishings are showing their age a bit but plans for refurbishment are on the cards.
I am a light sleeper so I found the noise from the central heating boiler (I think) which was switching on and off rather disturbing. There was also some noise from extractor fans at the back of the hotel.
We booked in for dinner which was an experience. For us the food is overworked, too many things going on at the same time which meant in our case that the main courses arrived looking very artistic but luke warm.
The dining room is very austere and we thought that some fresh flowers in the hotel would have cheered things up without compromising the minimalist look.

We enjoyed drinks by the lovely real fire in the lounge and the canapes were delicious including some spicy homemade nuts as were the petit fours served after the meal.
The dinner menu with about four choices per course only changes seasonally. We think this might limit the amount of nights you would want to stay there although perhaps the chef would cook to order if you asked.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hollins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Me & my partner stayed here on Sunday 6th January for the second time & were yet again more than impressed with the hotel, food & service. We stayed in a cottage suite (Bothy) which was spacious & very well decorated. The bathroom was very spacious with a huge bathtub (very unusual bath) we opted to dine in the restaurant & both had the 7 course tasting menu. I had mine with wine pairing which was lovely, the food was incredible & some dishes were very unusual however all the flavours worked. All staff members were very help ful & couldnt do enough to accomodate us. We will return. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
5.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samling Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £267 - £688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Aa Red Star Hotel 3 Aa Rosettes1 Michelin Star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Samling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samling Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Samling Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing