We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location with warm friendly staff”
Review of The Samling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Samling Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We only had a 1 night stay but that was all that was needed for us to decide that a return visit would be on our agenda for the future.
Gorgeous building with views second to none.
A warm welcome greeted us and this continued for the duration of our stay with all the staff being friendly, professional and knowledgable about the local area. Nothing was too much trouble.
The attention to detail and little touches make a stay at the Samling something really special

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saabsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Samling for one night after attending a friend's wedding down the road...wow, did this place deliver!

My wife checked in for us in a hurry during the afternoon while I was on usher duty...and the hotel was completely accommodating given her rush. They couldn't do enough for her, helping with bags, taking care of the check-in efficiently and even going so far as to say "we guess you'll be quite late tonight after the wedding and tired in the morning, so we'll bring your breakfast to your room".

Sure enough, when we eventually got to our room in the early hours of the next morning there was a breakfast-in-bed card waiting for us to simply be hung on the door....no extra charge. The staff were even accommodating when we woke earlier than expected and called through to see if they'd mind bringing forward the time we'd requested for breakfast. Then there was the breakfast itself...high quality produce cooked to perfection.

The rooms are simply fantastic. Tastefully decorated, spacious, complete with large bathrooms full of high-end toiletries. I'd recommend you go for a room at the front of the hotel...the view from the window is stunning, a full panoramic scene of Lake Windermere. As for the service...well, from what I've already written you can easily tell it's second to none!

Highly, highly recommended, this is one of the best hotels we've stayed in anywhere. We'd definitely return!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The location of this hotel is stunning with truely superb views over the lake. The staff's attention to detail is second to none, with some of the finest food you'll ever eat served in a relaxed and intimate setting. They serve one of the best breakfasts I think you'll ever eat.
It was however let down a bit by the condition of the room which was starting to look a little rough round the edges.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kev1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

10 stars for everything, 5 just aren't enough !!!
Location,welcome,all staff, from reception to restaurant and housekeeping were helpful,cheerful and so professional which made for a truly first class stay. Breakfast splendid,room wonderful and evening meal delicious.

Room Tip: We had a peep into a couple of the other rooms and they were just as gorgeous as ours,so all rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rellis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

My wife and visited The Samling Hotel for the first time and were very impressed
The staff led by George were excellent, extremely helpful. knowledgeable and professional.
The food was superb, imaginative and extremely tasty.
The restaurant staff, especially our young lady waitress were outstanding.
We stayed in the Dovesnest which was a lovely room and we particularly enjoyed the hot tub with the wonderful views of Windermere.

Definitely our new No 1 favourite hotel in the Lakes

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CasJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel in April for a birthday celebration. The road to the entrance is very narrow but when you arrive everything is breathtaking, from the hotel itself to the stunning view. On arrival the staff are very polite and explained everything. We had a dinner reservation in the fantastic restaurant later that night and were thrilled with the free uograde to the 7 course taster menu (a must if you are staying here) it was delicious!
We stayed in the Yan, whilst not the most plush the hotel has to offer it was still lovely and the decor was nice with a lovely sunken bath.
Overall everything was great and we will be returning. However, if you venture out to the hot tub at night be sure to take a torch as its pitch black! I think they should get a light up there to be honest.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bluestarlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for his birthday treat. It didn't disappoint. The view from the hotel is beautiful and even though Ambleside and Bowness are very close we wouldn't have known it was so quiet. The room was good but the bathroom was gorgeous. Try and book a room with a view; we were in Dovenest which is at the back so unfortunately for us no view. The 7 course dinner was delicious, each course cooked, explained and served with love. All the staff are very professional and George was great, nothing was too much trouble for him. This is the perfect place to get away from it all and for a bit of romance.

Room Tip: Dovenest has no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank discerning60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
5.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samling Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £275 - £693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Aa Red Star Hotel 3 Aa Rosettes1 Michelin Star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Samling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samling Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Samling Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing