We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dinner!”
Review of The Samling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Samling Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for a birthday treat in June. From the moment you arrive you feel relaxed and the views over Lake Windermere are stunning!
The staff are all extremely friendly and I can't understand any criticism in earlier reviews,
The hotel is elegant with great decor, although our room was in a building outside and was somewhat dated compared to most of the other rooms.
Definitely recommend you book the hot tub at sunset with a glass of champagne!
Dinner was absolutely stunning! We had the seven course taster menu, with the chef's recommendations for the accompanying wine... Once again the staff were incredibly helpful, explaining what each course consisted of and why each wine complimented the food.
Loved our stay and would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

I had wanted to stay here for some time and my husband booked it as a surprise for my birthday. Our room was lovely,with views on two sides over the Lake. Unfortunately,we found the bed to be very firm. It was also very hot,so we did not sleep well,although it had been no trouble to get the duvet changed to a sheet and blanket.
If you like something different,then the food at dinner would suit you.We found it a bit too fussy for our taste,with too many different flavours. The breakfast,however,was great. A really good full English.
The staff are superb and could not do enough for you.
The setting is superb,with wonderful views from the terrace. Would we go again,probably not.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed at the Samling with my wife on the 17th to the 19th June. We booked a classic room, which was really nice with views overlooking lake Windermere. The staff were really attentive and the food was amazing; you can see why this hotel was voted best dining hotel in the world 2013!

I recommend that you have dinner at the Hotel at least once and I recommend that you order the seven course tasting menu, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillibrand65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We visited The Samling for two nights to celebrate my 30th birthday and would thoroughly recommend it if you are looking to treat yourself. The hotel is well located between Windemere and Ambleside, up a long driveway which gives it a nice secluded feel. We stayed in the Tyan room, which is luxuriously decorated with blue wallpaper and velvet cushions and topped off by a fantastic view across Lake Windemere. Can’t understand the complaints from other Tripadvisor members about the room looking a bit tired – ours was beautiful!

We took the advice from other reviews and booked the hot tub for pre-dinner which is a must – fantastic views over the Lake and a great way to kick back and relax. Definitely book in advance as it did appear to be very busy!

Dinner itself was the highlight of our stay – we opted for the tasting menu and found each course delightful, particularly the salmon with grapefruit and beetroot, pork three ways, and the pre-dessert mojito. The wine pairing was a great addition – wines that I don’t normally enjoy came to life with the flavours of the ingredients. The restaurant staff were knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the food and service was friendly and unpretentious.

Breakfast was also good – I chose smoked salmon and scrambled egg one day and pancakes with blueberry jam the next, both of which set me up for a hard day’s walking.

The staff were very attentive and offered help with making suggestions for meals out and also arranging taxis so that we could both enjoy a drink. I also loved the turn down service with little chocolates left for us to enjoy.

Tiny quibble (if I have to be really picky!) was that coffee supplies in our room were not replenished (coffee pods, milk, and sugar). Tiny thing – but when everything else is so good, you notice the small things!

Room Tip: Tyan is decorated with fabulous blue patterned wallpaper and beautiful views over Lake Windemere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kreeves1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Samling has stunning views over lake Windermere and is set in tranquil gardens, ideal for a peaceful and relaxing break. The house is very attractive and our room was beautifully decorated with every amenity you could wish for and a very comfortable bed. Although we stayed there during the recent hot weather, the room was cool and airy.

On arrival we arranged for a turn in the outdoor hot tub (which I mistakenly referred to as a jacuzzi and was snootily reprimanded: It's not a 'jacuzzi' madam it's a hot tub, as if a jacuzzi was far too down-market for this place) and were asked if we would like champagne to be served whilst we were there. We were told that someone would come to remove the cover and serve drinks. After half an hour (by which time we had removed the cover ourselves as we were only allotted a limited time in the tub), the very flat champagne arrived.
We had booked the 7-course tasting menu for dinner, and during pre-dinner drinks on the terrace we were attended to by a member of staff who can only be described as condescending and supercilious. We tried valiantly to make polite conversation and asked questions about the hotel but his replies were so haughty, we gave up in the end. Then came the pantomime of being served over-hyped, over-described food that totally failed to come up to expectations, with most courses having the same taste of burnt garlic. We were obviously expected to feel privileged to be there and nothing short of breathless admiration was anticipated, but if I have to face another attempt at turning belly pork into haute cuisine, I'll lose the will to live. Where was any element of summer in the menu, apart from the mojito sorbet served as pre-dessert? Where were the seasonal vegetables, apart from the ubiquitous wild garlic that overpowered everything else on the plate and a few peas that you could count on the fingers of one hand? And please don't get me started on the overuse of beetroot... On the plus side, the wine was truly excellent. Breakfast the next morning was served by a dour young man who looked extremely bored and gave the impression he wanted to be somewhere else. The breakfast itself however was very good indeed.
Overall impressions: lovely hotel, exquisitely and tastefully furnished, wonderful location. Snooty and pretentious staff (apart from Tom - very knowledgeable and friendly). Food not as good as the hotel thinks it is.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Enjoyes our weekend immensley we were upgraded to a suite.
Both a la carte and the tasting menu were wondeful , visually stunning and very tasty food. Impeccable service, felt like a rock star. Staff super friendly toung and eager to please.
Think the waiter was Tom hats off to him.
Location is superb can walk to ambleside for a snack and shopping 25 minutes approx along the lake.
Manmire is a wonderful room only qualm, was that blinds are white and early sunrise causes a light room so bring eye mask, seriously my only problem

Room Tip: manmire is a wonderful room only qualm, was that blinds are white and early sunrise causes a light r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 313klf313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We recently stayed at The Samling for our 25th wedding anniversary. We had always wanted to visit and we were not disappointed. We had a memorable experience made all the more special by the excellent staff who are a true asset for the hotel. Special mention to Tom, George and Andrew who made dinner each evening a truly memorable experience. Their knowledge of the food and their enthusiasm was infectious and each night at dinner was a little bit of theatre. Ian the chef deserves to earn his Michelin star, we stayed for 4 nights and each evening Ian produced 4 different menus, no mean feat when you are serving the 7 course taster menu! The food was magnificent. But that's what it is all about at the Samling something a little bit different.

We opted for breakfast in our room each day as the view was lovely and it felt much more relaxed than sitting in the restaurant, there was no extra charge for this and everything was beautifully served.

We understand there is to be a significant investment in the hotel over the coming months and we look forward to returning to see how things have changed. The only difference I would like to see is that the hotel invests in some new suits for the front of house staff, they deliver first class service and they deserve to look the part as well.

Thank you for a memorable holiday we look forward to returning and wish you continued success.

Julie and James Parsonage

Room Tip: Take advantage of breakfast in your room, no extra charge and a real treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
5.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samling Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £210 - £547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Aa Red Star Hotel 3 Aa Rosettes1 Michelin Star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Samling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samling Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Samling Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing