We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seclusion and beauty at the Samling”
Review of The Samling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Samling Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The Samling is a stunning boutique hotel with breathtaking views of Lake Windermere. We stayed for four nights August 23rd-27th and had a ball. Our room was a spacious luxury double (Tyan) with a large window overlooking the front gardens and lake - perfect for a leisurely breakfast. The bathroom was a good size with a separate shower and a very deep bath.

The hotel's restaurant is very good. As we had eaten most of what was on the menu by our last night, the chef kindly whipped up some new dishes for us to try as a finale, which was greatly appreciated and added that dash of variety. We were served by bright and cheery waitresses with good knowledge of the food.

The service in the rest of the hotel was also superb from start to finish and couldn't be faulted.

It is expensive, but well worth the price. We plan to come back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Tyan, our room, is at the front of the main house and I would imagine has some of the best views (de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingoftwickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

We celebrated our wedding night at the samling last year in November, (just my husband, daughter and I)the hotel is very relaxed and private yet you are made to feel welcome by the staff at all times, they can't do enough for you! The food is lovely and again the dining room is small, intimate and has a cosy feel in which to enjoy the beautiful food, all courses are explained by the staff and wines recommended throughout. Breakfast in the room is a must, along with a booking for the hot tub. We stayed in Barker Brow which has two floors and a lovely view, (our daughter stayed downstairs and we had the upstairs to ourselves!) toiletries are very nice too! we have booked for our third stay here on our anniversary this year and I'm really looking forward to a good relax and some stunning food! Will always hold a special place in our heart and would definitely recommend to others

Room Tip: The little cottages/suites are lovely and more private than rooms in the hotel building. Barker Brow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennygk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Our daughter booked the visit as a wedding anniversary gift. The setting is wonderful the views spectacular. The service was very good, the staff made us feel welcome and they where all very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the lakes.
The food was of a high quality and i would recommend the taster menu.

Room Tip: We upgraded our room to the Tethera room on the front of the hotel, it was well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Spent a night here en-route to Scotland recently and it really impressed us. Normally we stay at the Gilpin however we decided to do something a little different this trip. All in all Gilpin standard and a fun restaurant of equal quality but all on a much smaller and mre intimate scale. Great artworks in the grounds and house. Fell in love with the Miro.. Our room (Dovenest) was a little small but quite adequate and with a great bathroom. Service discrete but attentive. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BatmanMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay.
We were in a nice suite ( Hovera ) with a good view of the lake. The suite was on 3 levels and was spacious, if a little dark and somewhat worn - stair carpets frayed etc.No fridge but a generous supply of free bottled water, crisps and chocololate. The suite was not cleaned on the 3rd day with no explanation.
The dining experience was the main problem. The Dining room is small (7 tables for 2 ) and is devoid of atmosphere. Tables are very close together with conversation muted and whispered. We had prepaid for the tasting menu throughout our stay which we ate from this on the 1st night.
This was a painfully slow affair and took from 7.45pm until 10.30. It might have been less onerous if the food had been good but it was not. Small portions were expected but the food was a confusion of multiple flavours which were supposed to compliment one another but did no such thing. At the table various 'apparatus' was used to infuse the food or apply dry ice. Good if this made a differnce to the taste but it sadly did not and was simply pretentious.After 2 hours one couple could not stand the wait any longer and left mid meal.
The second night we tried the set menu, hoping this would be a slicker affair with less eccentric fair. Unfortunately the food was more of the same and it took well over 2.5hrs for 3 courses. Coffee was not even considered because of the potential wait.
By the 3rd night we simply could'nt stand the thought of eating mediocre food in a crowded and soulless dining room, enduring excessive waits between courses. Despite having prepaid the expensive tasting menu (£130 ) we went to Ambleside and enjoyed a meal there. This was neither mentioned or recognised on our departure.
Altogether the experience was expensive and very disappointing.Needless to say we will not return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank highexpectations520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed in Pymm to celebrate my husbands "special" birthday
What an amazing view ! The room is at the top of the main hotel building giving an amazing view down lake windermere
The bathroom has the biggest bath I've ever seen ! Wonderful !
We used the out door jacuzzi , again over looking the lake, great place to enjoy a gin and tonic
The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble
And the food , we chose the twisting menu, oh what a treat !!
Great place to relax and enjoy the lake district

Room Tip: Pymm the room at the top had the most amazing view, large sitting area a d great bath room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We spent two nights at the Samling. It's wonderful. Sure, some reviews of this hotel and restaurant will complain about some small issues with the rooms needing a spruce up, and they do need some minor touch ups, but that is being very picky. I travel all over the world and stay at lots of luxury properties and the Samling is really special. First off there is the view which is spectacular, and the property is really beautiful. The service is also top notch. From the moment you pull up you feel special. The staff is warm and professional but not stuffy. The rooms are large and well fitted. The rooms do, as some have noted, need some sprucing up, but for the price, you are getting a killer deal. Our rate included 2 world class dinners for two and breakfast. You cannot get a better deal for a luxury property than that. The restaurant is exceptional. We had 2 fabulous dinners and breakfasts. The service in the dining room is also top notch. I'll give a particular nod to Tom and Andrew. So, all in all the Samling is really wonderful. There is something to be said for great service, classic rooms, a stellar view and fabulous food. This place has them all. You could pay double or triple what we paid for similar quality, so when you put that together with how memorable and serene this hotel is , it can't be beat. It's not the Ritz Carleton. It's more soulful and unique, like a great friend that will always be there to comfort you and make you feel special. Friends come with some rough edges for sure, but they are forever. And the Samling is all of that and more.

Room Tip: We had a room in the main house upstairs with 3 windows facing the view. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatnPalmSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
5.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,414 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samling Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £227 - £548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Aa Red Star Hotel 3 Aa Rosettes1 Michelin Star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Samling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samling Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Samling Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing