We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute class”
Review of The Samling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Samling Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolute class”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent two nights at the Samling between Christmas and New Year and it was perfect in every way. The food is incredible, the staff are great - very helpful, knowledgeable and courteous but in no way stuffy - we felt completely at home for the 3 days we spent there! The room was great, there was even a Christmas tree in the corner. We had one of the rooms without a lake view, but you didn't have to go far to see it so it was of no consequence to us.

The location of the hotel between Windermere and Ambleside is great for an easy walk to either, and the combination of the hotel and the lakes at this time (or any time) of year made for an unforgettable anniversary break. Anywhere else in this area would be a huge compromise!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    105
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
48
519
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I would love to have left a review for this hotel but sadly they cancelled our reservation just five days before we were due to stay. I booked (and paid) for the reservation early in August to celebrate our 4oth Wedding Anniversary in December. They offered us a room upgrade on a different date which really didn't help. They booked us into a different hotel but it really was a very disappointing experience all round.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AlanBennett2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,203 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,221 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

This fabulous, boutique hotel occupies an elevated position with stunning views toward Lake Windermere. It has won a host of industry awards and critics regard it as world class. The Michelin starred food is prepared with enormous skill and care and the lunch menus are especially good value.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Great location - overnight break with some walking. Room with stupendous views from two different windows of the lake. The restaurant tasting menu with wine flight as good as it gets. November is a great time to visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Methera - great views, facilities and deep bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jezzerrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Our second stay and equally enjoyable. Lovely location,delicious food and excellent service.
The decorated Christmas tree in our room was a lovely touch.
We didn't notice the constant rain outside!
Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilly6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed at the Samling to celebrate my husband's birthday and were very impressed. A thoroughly enjoyable stay from our warm welcome to our farewell. We stayed in Methera, a delightful room with a large sitting area and a view of lake Windermere. We had a couple of issues with our bathroom but when we came to settle our bill in the morning a deduction had been made to compensate for this. Now that is what I call customer service! We had the tasting menu with the wine pairing. The food was delicious and presented in a very theatrical way. Surprisingly one highlight was the cheese trolley. There must have been at least 30 cheeses to chose from all in peak condition. I haven't seen a selection like that since we stopped going to France in the 1990s! Our only criticisms were a rather long wait for our first course and the white wines being served far too cold. Apart from that an unforgettable experience and one that we hope to repeat before too long.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Over6044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altrincham
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We had the tasting menu, both carny and veggie and they were both wonderful. There is also a good wine choice. The hotel is a bit tired but very comfy. Only one toilet downstairs for everyone to share and it kept blocking. Tom our waiter on sat night was well overworked, he seemed to do everything (and do it well). George who runs the front of house was good too, his only fault being he watched us struggle up the steps in pouring rain and never came out with a brolly or to grab our luggage. We had a lovely nights sleep in Tethera and we will definitely be returning. The food and views are spectacular.

Room Tip: The deluxe doubles at the front of the hotel have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
5.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
964 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samling Hotel

Property: The Samling Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 aa red star hotel 3 aa rosettes1 michelin star ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Samling Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Samling Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing