We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to have a meal”
Review of The Samling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Samling Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to have a meal”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

First visit to this hotel, went along for lunch ( for a birthday treat ) has to be amongst the best anywhere !
The decor is clean, modern and just right to relax to whilst having a pre meal drink, the staff are excellent at making you feel welcome and they are attentive without being in "your face "
The food is with doubt amongst the best you will ever eat !,, yes it really is that good !

Overall impossible to find fault

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tastyman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    107
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
52
537
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

First impressions when we arrived were good, someone came out to greet us. Our rooms were not ready so we were offered drinks in the lounge. The Samling has great views over Lake Windermere which we enjoyed from the lounge and our well presented and lovely rooms.
I think we were the only ones who took advantage of the hut tub, in the rain, which had great views of the lake as promised.

We all chose to have the taster menu, and the food was well presented, with a good sense of the theatre, as well as tasting great. Tom was our waiter, and was very knowledgable and enthusiastic about our food and wine pairings, in a pleasant friendly way, which made us all feel relaxed. We have previously eaten in L'Enclume and found The Samling to be a more pleasant relaxed experience.

A slight mark down in the score is due to the mediocre breakfast, but as we had really gone for the dinner experience this will not stop us from returning!

All in all a great experience with fantastic service, second to none. Every need we had was anticipated and met!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife recently celebrated a special birthday and I wanted to make the occasion as memorable as possible and the entire staff were 100% professional, dedicated and most helpful, hence the whole experience was wonderful. The warm welcome and assistance at the door on a cold, wet January afternoon was greatly appreciated. Our room, 'Tyan', was spacious and beautifully decorated to a high standard of quality; the glow from the fire, coupled with the panoramic breathtaking views of the lake, completed the picture. The bathroom was luxurious, in every detail and lacked nothing. Evening dinner was a gastronomic delight and the wine list catered for all tastes. Breakfast was delightful, completely relaxing, with the same attention to detail. The bed was large and very comfortable, which ensured a good nights sleep. Will I return?, you bet.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a large, quiet and comfortable room with excellent facilities, combined with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Located set on the fellside above Lake Windermere the location is ideal for touring the lakes. The tasting menu paired with wine is a must. It is caberet of taste and vision truly spectacular. The private outdoor hot tub needs to be booked but the views over lake windermere with a bottle of fizzy are remarkable.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a lake view. Check with the hotel. pay the extra its worth it. Barker brow is a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddie4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We went for lunch to celebrate my husband's birthday, taking three adults and a four year old with us, so six in total. The five adults had the a la carte menu and they did a special meal for the little one. The wine waiter advised us on champagne and he was spot on, and we also had two bottles of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. The total bill came to £539, so judge for yourself whether you think that was expensive. We though it was well worth it, because we could not have bettered the experience; everything from the valet parking on arrival to the umbrellas held for us as we left was perfect. The food is exquisite and immaculately presented. The use of dry ice and quirky equipment kept the youngest member entertained (and the adults too) and she loved her spag blog - served in what she called "a witch's hat". The flavours are superb and the meals brilliantly balanced. We have eaten here before, but this was extra special and everyone loved it. The staff are discretely attentive. For example, little one commented that there was juice in the bottom of her bowl, and in the blink of an eye a spoon appeared for her. We will go again.... soon.

Room Tip: We didn't stay - we went for a fabulous family lunch. A great place for a special celebration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tennisfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

It was a memorable stay at The Samling as I had just been proposed to earlier that morning down by the lake.

A reasonable welcome could of been a little happier but hey oh nothing was going to dampen our day. It was a crisp cold January morning a year to the day in fact, my fiancé had book the bothy a detached cottage. Simply magnificent! The view over the lake was breath taking as was the cottage. The in room touches like REN bath products, green & blacks chocs, voss water were all upper touches that made it feel luxurious.

We booked the hot tub for sun set and sun rise which was perfect it was typical frosty English weather thankfully not wet... But the hot tub got that hot we had to kept taking breaks thankfully we took water with us to drink. It was nice and private and I guarantee it's one of the best views, extremely serene.

Food was sensational, a lovely stay shame about the value and service and other negative posts. I think The Samling lacks in all year round consistency.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

From the initial booking process to checking out, a first class experience. We stayed in Methera - a spacious and well appointed suite (cannot be called a room!), with wonderful views. Dining was superb with wonderful food served impeccably with style and a sense of theatre. Staff were friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
5.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,362 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
982 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samling Hotel

Property: The Samling Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Aa Red Star Hotel 3 Aa Rosettes1 Michelin Star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Samling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samling Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Samling Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing