We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Samling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Samling Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The food, the room, the hillside hot tub, the breakfast - most of all, the service - were all first class. Far from our first Michelin starred experience, but certainly one of the very best. The balance of warmth and professionalism was absolutely spot-on.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootsontheground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    101
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
46
500
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Lakes is spoiled with great places to eat, and I've been spoiled by eating in a lot of them. The culinary highlight remains L'enclume, but as a complete package, The Samling was one of the best Sunday afternoons I've had for years.
The food was excellent - at the cost or reputation you wouldn't expect anything else. However, the service was even better. 5 adults and a 19 month old terror went for Sunday lunch. We were tucked away in the private dining room with the library as our own personal lounge. The little one slept on the sofa until our main courses arrived. He sat up at the table in the provided high chair and in no time at all the staff delivered a perfect freshly made fish and chips for him to tuck into. He was treated as a guest with equal status as an adult and this made his parents and his grandparents incredibly happy.
The attention to detail was apparent in everything, from how we were talked through the plates to how we were welcomed from the car with an umbrella. As we left and looked back at the ground floor window, the staff were already cleaning small boy's fingerprints from the library windows. When people care this much about the small things, but can't do enough to help you, you know you are experiencing service of the highest order.
We will definitely book to go again when we revisit the Lakes for our annual Spring pilgrimage.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank K-M-Kitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

I work as a head chef in a 2 rosette restaurant in the area and am always looking for places to eat. Iv eaten here many times in the past but this was the first since they regained its michelin star...As a chef it's an urge to be picky which my girlfriend hates but everything was faultless. The food, the service, the atmosphere. Simon Rogan has some serious competition.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Auldy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a present for our 10th wedding anniversary in Feb 2014.
We stayed in Barker Brow, and although it was a bit creaky, we thought this just added to its charm, we had a wonderful time. As we read some of the previous reviews, we decided to take our German shepherd dog with us. The hotel were very accommodating and friendly staff stopped for a chat when they were near, especially to make a fuss of our pup!
The restaurant reception was cosy and intimate without being intimidating. The food was delicious and we didn't find it weird at all, the frozen mojito was a show stopper!! We booked the hot tub ( which is super hot!!) and enjoyed a child free weekend. The view across the lake from the bed was fantastic and the food was exceptional, we opted for breakfast in bed, which felt very decadent.
All in all, a fab weekend, and a wow event for our anniversary, enjoy!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for a weekend - our first visit, and we loved it. The staff were fantastic, room service was always spot on and very quick, I felt that nothing was too much trouble. The room was very nice, cosy and clean. A bit creaky, which was a pain when going to the bathroom in the night, but we got used to this. We ate in the restaurant both nights, the food was fabulous, very earthy flavours that pushed the boundaries. We both thought there was a lot of truffle flavours in the menu, but as we love truffle this was a bonus! The only thing I really didn't like was the salmon dish with liquorice. The fish was beautifully cooked, but marred by totally overpowering liquorice flavours, and a revolting liquorice crisp that stuck to the roof of my mouth and served only to stick my teeth together. However, this was the exception - all other dishes were delicious. I particularly recommend the venison (perfectly cooked) and the pickled vegetables with quails egg and ham hock. There was an outstanding cheese chariot as well - which perfectly finished off a lovely meal. Breakfast both days was served In our room, and once again the service was efficient and speedy. The hollandaise sauce with the eggs Benedict was sublime, and large pots of tea/coffee meant we were set up very well for the day. My only real complaint is the hefty charge of £30 for 2 small packed lunches - which consisted of a sandwich, crisps, water, cake and an apple. Really??! However, we would love to return one day, The Samling is certainly a very special place.

Room Tip: The lake facing rooms give a stunning view of Windermere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scallywagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We booked the Dove Nest for a romatic get away and it was lovely. The only problem we had was one of our chairs had a horrible stain on it (Which could be anything). I mentioned it and they sent the cleaner over. The cleaner said "I knew about it but didn't have time to do it" which I thought was rude. So I spoke to the manager who was very nice and sorted us out some champagne and an upgraded meal.
Apart from that, the whole experience was lovely. I would recommend the seven course taster menu, it takes just below the 3 hour time they tell you, that you need. The staff would bring out all sorts of strange dishes and give a very detailed description, which was informative and interesting. We used the hot tub at about 10pm (in February) and it was raining hard. However the this didn't spoil the mood as the hot tub kept us lovely and warm. The hot tub view is much better of a day, for anyone who wants more to look at.
The location is about halfway up a steep hill. This gives you great views and looks great when driving to it. The room looked well kept and had quirky features which we both enjoyed. There was a few marks in the shower but the two-person free standing bath was great. It also has a side bit attached to place your champagne :).

I'd love to go again as it was a nice and different hotel experience, to what I am used to. I am normally a fussy eater so I was glad that I took the risk and tried their great menu.
Also, the room came with dvd player and sky.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skella45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had afternoon tea at the Samling in February. Having been to a number of places locally for afternoon tea we were very excited to come here. Mainly because of the reputation of the hotel and also because of its Michelin star.


The service from start to finish was excellent! The two gentleman who looked after us were attentive and warm, whilst unobtrusive.

We sat in the lounge overlooking the lake and enjoyed the view from the slightly worn sofas. The first gentleman brought out a selection of extravagant home bleneded teas for us to choose from and wow, they were impressive. Pungent and elaborate.

The cakes soon followed and although they were enjoyable I thought they weren't as exciting and crafted as we had experienced at other local hotels. All looked like they had been made in bulk and then portioned. The perfect afternoon tea to me encompasses varying styles, tastes and textures of cake as well as a degree of creativity. Most of which just wasn't there.

All in all the experience was enjoyable but for a Michelin starred top local hotel, I would have expected more.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeCobb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
5.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samling Hotel

Property: The Samling Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 aa red star hotel 3 aa rosettes1 michelin star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Samling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samling Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Samling Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing