We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little cafe”

Charlie's of Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We open at 9am for breakfast .11.30 we change to a lunch menu. 3pm another menu change afternoon teas! Then booking only for an evening meal
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely little cafe”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Lovely cafe, well decorated and very cosy. Staff were very nice, polite and helpful. The food was presented well and tasted great. They had a great range of coffee's and tea's, even with the option of soya milk! The paninis and sandwiches were nice as were the jacket potatoes. They had some very nice cakes and lovely scones!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kajal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    31
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Coffee & cake with a side helping of local knowledge”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I took my Grandma here for a light lunch and cakes (with a choice of home-made cakes - always a bonus). The location of the cafe was great, with a disabled parking space opposite and inside there was a firm hand rail, so my Grandma could make it easily up the couple of steps to the seating area.

We enjoyed tasty home made soup and then had a choice from various home made cakes for afters. There was a range of local leaflets and booklets to browse through over your coffee. The couple serving were efficient and friendly, willing to offer that extra bit of advice about places to go and visit whilst we were in the area.

A good place to visit if you want a bit of local inside knowledge served with your coffee!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmandaB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming!”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

On a return visit to Coffee Bar 7, we were met with a huge smile and a hug from Heather. Comfy sofas, tasty coffee, delicious food, prompt service, good conversation, spotless bathroom with baby changing facilities. Strongly recommend visiting this delightful tea shop. Will be back again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“One person band with grill”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We popped into Bar 7 after arriving early. Thought we would grab a cuppa and bacon butty and waste some time until we could check in and support a small local business

The service was good, though I didn't realise it was just one nice women working everything until we left.

The pot of tea was good, nothing spesh but it was just a tea for two.

The bacon sandwiches were pretty poor as the bacon was very under cooked for both of us and the tomato in mine was just that sliced in half though I should have asked though if it was chopped, maybe the few people ordering at the same time rushed things but other peoples seem to have been cooked well.

The cafe within itself is nice. I am not sure how one person would manage (with a George foreman) if the place got busy, there was about 7 people in and our breakfast was spoilt for us. Not sure we would return though might as well of gone into Booths or elsewhere and may in future.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duderoo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LONG Wait”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Went for a quick lunch with husband and two hungry children- then waited 50 minutes for cheese toasties and paninis! It was ok but wouldn't return- think they are basically a cafe and not equipped to deal with lunch menu in a quick manner.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesLinlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie's of Windermere also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Charlie's of Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing