We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saturday afternoon lunch ”

Charlie's of Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We open at 9am for breakfast .11.30 we change to a lunch menu. 3pm another menu change afternoon teas! Then booking only for an evening meal
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Saturday afternoon lunch ”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Loitered a bit whilst looking at menu as needed gluten free options. Nipped in and asked one of the ladies who stated they had gluten free bread options. Not too busy. Ordered two large latte's. Pannini and cheese and onion toasties on gluten free bread. Latte's arrived within five minutes and they were not too bad. Milk was slightly over temperature and espresso under powered but that is being over picky. Food was very good standard and served within about 15 minutes which is just right. Very nicely prepared fresh side salads. Nice welcoming relaxed atmosphere. Good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Coopauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    31
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe, friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

I really like it here, good selection of tastey paninis, good colourful art I'm the walls and made to feel welcome by friendly, professional staff. Art was inspiring too - took a couple of photos to use in my digital scrapbook.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissFaceMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely food and coffee”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stopped here for a late lunch (2 adults and 2 children) during February half term and were very pleased with the service and delicious food. Excellent customer service and value for money. We will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shexxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

A great cafe, tucked away just off the main street. Spacious and comfortable with happy, friendly staff. They were able to accommodate my diet restrictions (vegan and gluten free) with ease and just made me something off menu.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't be faulted- perfect on a cold, windy, rainy day...”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Absolutely fantastic. The people working there couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful and it was a lovely atmosphere, I felt really at home. Breakfast was very tasty and my friend's complicated dietary requirements were accommodated with ease and good humour. Really liked the trivial pursuit cards on the tables, too- a very nice touch. We ended up staying for hours. Very highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie's of Windermere also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Charlie's of Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing