We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brendan Chase
Nearby Hotels
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$370
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Windermere Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
46
46
12
12
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
46
12
12
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake districtfamily roomguest housewindermere stationenjoyable staycomfy bedeccentricityguesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Three women friends arrived without reservations and were shown a spacious room with three twin beds. We felt lucky! David was a fabulous host with a good sense of humor and great advice on nearby walks. The B&B is large and David and his helper stayed busy caring for and cleaning, welcoming guests and cooking the best breakfast we had on our stay. He does have rules which ultimately benefit all the guests. We enjoyed our stay and even went by to say hi on our way back to the train in Windermere. We would all stay there again. Thanks David!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Three of us from the US stayed here in early July 2011. It was the only place for which we didn't have a reservation on our 2-week trip in the Lake District, and it turned out to be a gem. Thanks largely to David, the owner/host. He may, initially, seem - to use the words of a reviewer below - a little "eccentric," but we soon found him to be a helpful, informative, and friendly host! When we arrived at the B&B late in the day, he promptly recommended a great short walk to Orrest Head nearby with fantastic views of the lake and surrounding city. The not-pricey B&B is clean and had the perfect accommodations for three travelers on a walking/hiking trip. We count the breakfasts we had there as one of the best during our two weeks in the Lake District. On our return back to Windermere to catch the train - to which the B&B is very close - we even stopped in to see David and invited him to coffee at a nearby cafe. Not only would we definitely return, we did ...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The owner was rude to me when asked to use the phone to ring home, the hotel was a --- pigsty and there was seman stains on the quilt.

I would not recommend this ------hole to my friends full stop.......*frowns*

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Strawberry16372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Have just returned from a trip to the lake district with my partner where we stayed at Brendan Chase B&B. On arrival we were greeted by David who at first seemed a little 'eccentric' but nice enough. David did insist on running through the rules full throttle the moment we stepped through the door which we were a bit surprised about but if thats the way he runs his business than ok.

The rooms are very basic and in need of much refurbishment but you pay for what you get. I wasn't expecting the standards of a posh hotel or anything as you can see from the photo's on the website that it's quite dated but I must say that the rooms are very poor and the whole b&b smells like an old peoples home.

My partner and I went out for the day and on return we purchased a bottle of wine to open whilst we were freshening up for the evening. I had to ask David if it were possible to borrow 2 wine glasses and a cork screw. On asking this question I was abruptly told to use the plastic cups provided in the room. He did lend us his corkscrew but I must say with the attitude that this was a huge inconvenience.

We went out for the evening and returned back to Brendan Chase and went to bed. Unfortunately our room was positioned next door to the shared bathroom and there were lots of people from different countries staying who liked to shower at 2/3 in the morning. Needless to say we did not get a good nights sleep.

The next morning we came downstairs fro breakfast. On arrival we were told by David that breakfast was served between 8 and 9am. We arrived in the breakfast room at 8.40 and sat ourselves down. When David came into the room, he made a comment that it was almost lunchtime, as if we were very late coming down from our room. Then after a little while he made a further comment that he had been waiting for everyone to come down since 8am but everyone turned up later. I found this to b a bit rude to moan about people coming down between the correct times. It's not as if we turned up at 8.58 demanding a cooked breakfast.

All in all, not a very good experience at Brendan Chase and will not be returning under any circumstances. It seems to me that for David, his guests are somewhat of an inconvenience for him. The rooms are cheap and I understand that you pay for what you get however, if you are paying your hard earned cash to stay somewhere then my advice is to pay that little bit extra where you'll get a good nights sleep and good hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Katherine_Lyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I have just returned from a biking holiday with 3 friends to Windermere, we stayed at the Brendan Chase B&B which was exactly what we were looking for, The owner David is a fantastic host and could not have been more helpful during our three nights there.
Unfortunately it rained each day we were there but David was on hand to give us some excellent advice about places to visit regardless of the weather.
I would recommend the Brendan Chase as a place to stay not only for its convienient location but also for the assistance you can get from David which made our stay a fantastic expierience especially as we were unable to go touring on our bikes at any time during our stay.
After reading some of the negative reviews on Trip Advisor we were a little concerned at what we would find but David was there to welcome us upon our arrival and was an excellent host from start to finish.
Regarding the parking David directed us to the back of the building and told us he would be there waiting for us which he was with absolutely no problems, sure the space is limited but with some sensible parking there should not be any problems.
Breakfast was absolutely fine everyday, beds made each day, towels changed everyday nothing negative to comment on whatsoever.
Many thanks David for making our trip to Windermere an excellent one, we are looking forward to returning in the future.

Thanks Again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 5349andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews