We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FABULOUS PLACE”

Review of Jay's Nest

Jay's Nest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jay's Nest
Living space Kitchen/dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Jay's Nest
Living space
Kitchen/dining
Bedroom
Winter scene
Private decking
Shoes off please
Patio doors
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bath/shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stephanie...
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FABULOUS PLACE”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we've stayed here and I just can't say enough good things about Jay's Nest, we just love it here......we'd live here if we could!!!! The cottage is modern & spacious but has a lovely cosy feel and offers real value for money when you look at other similar styles of accommodation. It is extremely well equipped and has some lovely personal touches...the flapjacks were delicious, thank you. The bed, pillows and bedding are so comfortable, we didn't want to get up!!! The view out of the living room window is fantastic because the cottage is quite high up. We were lucky enough when we stayed to watch a brilliant, unexpected firework display below....we had a birds eye view from the window and right next to a beautiful warm fire!! There's plenty of information about local walks and restaurants etc which we found really helpful. Booths is definately worth a visit if you're eating in instead of Tesco's or Co-op because there are some lovely choices of food there. It probably took about 15-20 minutes to walk to either Bowness or Windermere where there are some lovely shops and restaurants. A really nice, shortish walk we came across which was beautiful & romantic (& easy) was off Rayrigg Road by the bus stop, across a field which brought you out to the treelined shores of Windermere. If you follow the shoreline until you hear running water, you come across a waterfall. We had a brilliant time here again and Ange and Gary are really helpful and accommodating. We literally can't fault anything and have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation for a lovely 'get away from it all' break. Thanks again, look forward to staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and warm nature of the accomodation
Liked least: Nothing really. Only issue was we couldn't find a local Chinese takeaway that delivered!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Norman C
St Albans
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent wee apartment for two”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Located away from busy Bowness and closer to nicer Windermere. Private and very comfortable fits 2 adults easily with well equipped kitchen, comfy sofas, tv, dvd, music and a great bed. Power shower is great. Fantastic restaurants nearby and a good healthy walk up the hill afterwards. Never saw owners as no need but knew we could contact them if required as just next door. Price is right and we will be going back for longer than 3 days next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no bath mat
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline9...
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location, good amenities, very suitable for married couple”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We booked Jay's Nest from Australia. The owners were extremely helpful and cooperative as we were not able to stay a full week and we were not penalised for this in the fee we paid. The cottage was clean, had good quality equipment and is very suitably located for those wishing to be independent and go sightseeing via car. We were fortunate during our stay that the weather was superb which helped us enormously as we were able to get out and about for extended day tours and have a comfortable place to come back to. The bathroom could benefit from a toilet brush, just a minor inconvenience but nothing we couldn't live with. Also, for anyone with a large car, parking might be a problem however the owners were extremely obliging and made sure our small car always had a space of its own. As first time visitors to the Lake District it was a wonderful, happy experience aided by the accommodation being user friendly and very convenient to amenities travellers may need. As with another visitor, we hadn't realised that the cottage wasn't detached but that wasn't the owners fault in any way and this was in no way detrimental to our enjoyment or privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, very central for accessing shops and restaurants and sightseeing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveryDeta...
Grimsby
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good clean accomadation just not the romantic hideaway retreat I'd hoped”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here in July for 3 nights Wed - Sat. After much research trying to find the perfect accommodation in easy walking distance to winderemere I settled on jays nest for our romantic break away.

The accomadation is well appointed and clean, there was no welcome when we arrived but that was fine as the key was held in the secure lock. I think i felt disappointed as the accomadation is actually an extension above the owners garage so is attached to their home, which is situated on a residential road. Unfortunately the owners must have wooden stairs & our looked forward to lay in since we had escaped the children wasn't to be. I also felt that the garden wasn't as private as it could be and whilst we sat out to enjoy our breakfast it did feel a bit awkward as people were walking past.

However it is central and easy to walk to bowness and Windermere. There is a book with recommendations of eateries & places to go, we had beautiful weather so enjoyed all that the lakes had to offer.

On checkout at the designated time we knocked to handover the key having not seen the owners for the 4 days but unfortunately had to post through the door. In other self catering accomadation I have stayed I have either been welcomed or said good bye to, I felt that this was missing at jays nest.

We ordered online shopping & had this delivered first evening which was great idea, the supermarkets are few and far between & the odd co-op doesn't always have what you would like, def recommend doing this.

Overall good clean accomadation in easy reach of Windermere and bowness but if you are looking for a hideaway romantic retreat I don't think this is the place

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2013
Thank you for you valued & detailed comments. We're sorry we weren't on hand to greet you on this occasion - we pride ourselves on our customer service but sadly could not be on hand this time due to family circumstances. This is the only comment we have ever had in 4 years about noise from our stairs & we now plan to carpet them. Again, sorry you were disappointed to find that Jays Nest is attached to our home but our website clearly states this is the case. Most of our guests find the privacy they are looking for but occasionally a neighbour may get a fleeting glimpse of part of the garden whilst walking or driving past (although they will be 25 metres away on the private drive).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda4507
Bribie Island
1 review
“Wonderful Lake District cottage.”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Jay's Nest is a modern, clean and very confortable holiday cottage for a couple. The kitchen is well set up, plenty of storage space in the bathroom and bedroom, a great feeling of seclusion but with Gary and Ange nearby for any questions or advice. They are excellent hosts and do all they can to make the stay comfortable. Good location. Overall very good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and the
Liked least: Furniture is on the low side for anyone with bad knees,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful property with views, charm and character.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Jay's Nest is a fantastic place to stay.
It has been thoughtfully designed and the modern interior is excellent.
The vaulted ceiling in the kitchen and living area really sets the standard. Views from here are fantastic. The kitchen is well equipped with no need to even take a tin opener!
Countryside walks from Jay's Nest are 5 minutes away.
Windermere and Bowness are 10 minutes walk with great restaurants, pubs and shops.
We would have no hesitation recommending and returning to Jay's Nest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$78
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing