We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Cottage”

Review of Jay's Nest

Jay's Nest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jay's Nest
Living space Kitchen/dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Jay's Nest
Living space
Kitchen/dining
Bedroom
Winter scene
Private decking
Shoes off please
Patio doors
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bath/shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bernieb25
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Jay's Nest has been built to a high standard and is a great place to stay for visiting the Lake District. You will not be disappointed if you stay there. We will be going there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraFan
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic location for a getaway to the south Lakes”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a great week at Jays' Nest. Gary and Ange are a lovely couple and the apartment is peaceful, spacious and well-presented. A proper kitchen and a nice powerful shower, far better than the ones at home! Parking is right outside and the location is great; a 10 minute walk to Windermere town centre, and only a few minutes walk to the edge of town and the country walks beyond. There's even a convenience store a couple of minute's walk away, if you need any last-minute supplies. Windermere itself gives great access to the south of the Lake District and so you won't run out of places to visit and things to do. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space and tranquility
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutbeck...
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday Retreat”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The cottage was beautiful modern interior, spacious and centrally located for Windermere and other villiages and towns within a short drive.. We couldn't ask for better. The kitchen was fully equipped and lovely and warm as it was February we were never cold. Lots of wardrobe space and a spacious shower/bathroom.
We would recommend this cottage to any couple who want a little bit of luxury added to a holiday home.
We are going back in the summer so that says it all doesn't it? We'll make use of the decked garden.
Sandra & Duncan Dickenson

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shell2511
Greater Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my husband for five nights. The cottage is contemporary and is equipt with everything you could need for your stay. The setting is lovely and peaceful so we found it to be very relaxing. It's within walking distance of windermere and we found lots of places to eat there. I would highly recommend this cottage :0)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susandX68...
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Cottage is equipped to a high standard and is in a great position for exploring the area by car or on foot. Easy access to Windermere and Bowness. The cottage has everything you need if you want a night in after a busy day. I will recommend this cottage to our friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey S
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Luxury property. Fully equipped. Perfect location. Close to both Bowness and Windermere. Ideal for walkers - no need to use car at all if you don't want. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selwyn S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Jay’s Nest is in Windermere. It is a hidden a Gem.
The cottages is very well fitted out with everything that you might need.
We have stayed in many accommodations in the Lakes but this is by far the best one.
It is perfectly situated, just a few minutes from Lake Windermere and a short drive to Ambleside and Grasmere.
We will love to stay here again

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing