We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnuts Guest House
Ranked #12 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at the Chestnuts for 2 nights on our way back from Scotland, we had a very long journey and were greeted with tea/coffee and cakes which was very much appreciated. Nigel & Heather are perfect hosts. The b&b is very well organised and very clean. The breakfasts are excellent - especially the poached eggs!
The rooms are very clean, and toiletries are provided - also dressing gowns, and a lovely little teddy bear on the bed (nice touch). Tea & coffee (coffee was fab!) making facilites in the room.
The Chestnuts is perfectly located to explore the Lake district, but as we had been so many times before and had spent hours of driving, it was lovely to park the car and just walk to Windermere and Bowness, we had a lovely rest. The weather was even kind to us!
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Chestnuts, and when we are next in the Lake District would definiately stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cate&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    18
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
134
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We just spent 1 week in the Lake District region - our 1st time.
This B&B is really well situated, between Windermere and Bowness, at a 5 min walk from each. The house is located in a small road next to the main road linking Windermere and Bowness, which is great as you don't hear the traffic.
We stayed in the Coniston room, a four-poster bed. The room is really clean, with the bed made every day and towels changed. The bed is really comfortable - which is nice after walking all day!
Heather and Nigel are really sympathetic - we were served tea and cake upon our arrival, which was early than planned.
The breakfast is very well cooked and in sufficient amount, with fresh products.

We can only recommend this place, which made our stay so agreable.
Thank you to our hosts

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elle_et_lui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandersh, Owner at Chestnuts Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
We would like to thank these, and all our guests who have taken the time to write a review. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This was our third or fourth choice of B&B, I we return to the lake disctrict it will definitely be our first! The location is perfect, around 10 minutes into Bowness and 15 minutes to lake Windermere if you go by foot(parking in both these locations is a nightmare. We mainly left the car in the chestnuts car park and explored the area on foot. The room was well appointed, and extremely comfortable, perfect after a day out and about.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aphra88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

we stayed at the Chestnuts on Sunday 21st July for two nights, we stopped in a room with a four poster bed. The room was spotless, it was up in the eves of the building so it had some unusual shapes to the room. The bathroom was spacious, and it also was spotless. The Chestnuts was only a 10 min walk from local ammeniaties. The breakfast was lovely there was plenty of choice and cooked fresh. We would stop here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindyloo59_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthYorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Has just spent our anniversary weekend here, fab location, great breakfast, lovely clean guest house, best nights sleep for ages (very quiet) and in a great location between Windermere and Bowness. Nothing was too much trouble from Heather & Nigel. Room was not quite ready when we arrived so we sat for 10 mins with scrummy homemade cake and coffee. Definetley a place to re visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weingarten, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

What a wunderful place!!!
Heather and Nigel let us feel home. When in Lake District this B&B is a must. Wunderful quiet situation with excellent rooms and outstanding breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Chestnuts was a quality B&B, with high class appointments and service. The breakfasts were well-cooked and well-served, the location was ideal for exploring Bowness and Windermere on foot and the surrounding countryside by car. Quiet and comfortable with a queen size bed, it felt luxurious without being expensive. Wi-fi available but not accessible in our room.

Room Tip: Slight traffic noise in front room, wi-fi only accessible on landing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamelafro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Chestnuts Guest House, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to say that we have fixed our wi-fi connection and it is now available in all bedrooms as the well as the lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
679 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 108 in Windermere
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts Guest House

Property: Chestnuts Guest House
Address: Princes Road, Windermere LA23 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnuts Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sympathetically updated throughout January 2017, Chestnuts is an attractive Victorian B&B offering seven individually styled bedrooms, many with original period features. With a choice of doubles, four-poster rooms and a twin room, all guest bedrooms have en-suite showers or baths, and plenty of little luxuries from free Wi-Fi to a hot drinks station. The house itself is over a century old, and sits in a quiet area, surrounded by a secluded garden, and ample off-road parking for guests. The dining room is an airy room, with high ceiling, and benefits from an original fireplace, perfect for an early winter’s morning. Chestnuts is an easy five-minute walk from Windermere centre, and ten-minutes’ walk to Bowness and Lake Windermere; making it an ideal location for the scenic Lake cruises, England’s highest peak Scarfell Pike and a mainline train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Chestnuts Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing