We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chestnuts Guest House
Ranked #7 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This bed and breakfast is ideally situated between Windermere and Bowness. We have been to the lakes many times and stayed in various other places but this would be by far the best. We always try and book room 6 its a beautiful room but I am sure the others are equally as nice. The breakfasts are great and the scrambled eggs are something else. Its also nice to have a car park where its not a nightmare getting in and out of as I am not the best driver. We try and come here each year for my birthday and its not changed one bit reall excellent value for money especially considering what you get compared to other b&Bs.roll on November!! Lauren and Thomas, Sunderland

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenandThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked early evening and were soon being directed to possible dinner places in the centre of town or down by the lake. Chestnuts is mid way between the town centre and the lake, 10 - 15 minutes walk in each direction. We had a very comfortable night and excellent breakfast the next day. Thank you both very much!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingfamily00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My wife and I recently spent four nights at the Chestnuts, and were extremely happy with our stay. Nigel and Heather, the owners, are very friendly and always on hand if you needed suggestions about places to go or where to eat, etc. The cooked breakfast each morning is excellent and has a good amount of choice. We had a lovely room on the second floor with a four poster bed and good size en suite bathroom, which was very clean and tastefully decorated. The Chestnuts is equidistant between the town centres of Bowness (which is right on the shore of Lake Windermere) and Windermere -- about a ten minute walk to either, which was ideal. In short, a wonderful stay, and we would highly recommend!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank maxbakerhytch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The first thing that has to be said...this guest house had the most comfortable bed we'd ever had the pleasure to sleep in...absolute bliss. It was located only a ten to fifteen minute pleasant stroll away from the town centre in what seemed to be a quiet and calm area. We loved the stay here as the owner was pleasant without being overly present or intrusive...I enjoy peace and fuss freebreaks so this was perfect for us. Good breakfast, easy parking and a serene feel to Chestnuts guest house ...highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fangpilotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed weekend of the 16th August. Booked from previous reviews and not disappointed. The hotel is easy to find and approx half way between bowness and Windermere, so a pleasant walk into both towns. The hotel is small 7 rooms, however do not be put off, it lacks charm, comfort and hospitality and fantastic breakfasts. We had room 7 the aptly named Windermere room. It is at the top of 2 flights of stairs so might not suit everyone, however we found the room to be more Han adequate with nice little touches. Like wine glasses and corkscrew. Regular coffee and tea and hot chocolates supplies. The room also has a hair dryer a godsend with Cumbrian weather! Nice touches in the bathroom with cotton balls, earbuds and complimentary shower gel and hand wash, a great and powerful shower too.
Beds were very comfortable and large enough being kingsize, so a great nights kip was had too with also plenty of storage and a nice drying area for our wet coats.
Finally, breakfasts were awesome with a nice choice of food, I especially liked the full cooked breakfast as it was tasty and non greasy, so was a pleasant tasting breakfast. They also offer eggs benedict which was good, hubby had this and enjoyed and on our second day I had the scrambled egg and salmon, which was pure yumminess.
We had a great relaxing stay and would definately recommend the hotel and we will definately use again on another visit - hopefully without rain next time

Room Tip: If not good on the legs a lower level room would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We came to stay for a weekend and found the room had everything we needed, it was very clean and comfortable and the hospitality was brilliant we couldn't have stayed in a better place we loved every minute an would definitely stay again highly recommended

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Lovely b&b. Good location between Windermere and Bowness. Very friendly and helpful. Beautiful house.

Thanks so much for the thoughtful early breakfast. Just what was needed before a cold swim in Lake Windermere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty635914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,447 reviews
0 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 107 in Windermere
414 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 107 in Windermere
1,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 107 in Windermere
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts Guest House

Address: Princes Road, Windermere LA23 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £88 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnuts Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sympathetically updated throughout January 2017, Chestnuts is an attractive Victorian B&B offering seven individually styled bedrooms, many with original period features. With a choice of doubles, four-poster rooms and a twin room, all guest bedrooms have en-suite showers or baths, and plenty of little luxuries from free Wi-Fi to a hot drinks station. The house itself is over a century old, and sits in a quiet area, surrounded by a secluded garden, and ample off-road parking for guests. The dining room is an airy room, with high ceiling, and benefits from an original fireplace, perfect for an early winter’s morning. Chestnuts is an easy five-minute walk from Windermere centre, and ten-minutes’ walk to Bowness and Lake Windermere; making it an ideal location for the scenic Lake cruises, England’s highest peak Scarfell Pike and a mainline train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chestnuts Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing