We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chestnuts Guest House
Ranked #15 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at Chestnuts for 3 nights recently while visiting the lake district. Great location halfway between Windermere and Bowness and walking distance to many pubs, restaurants and bars. The rooms are tastefully decorated, cosy and quiet, guaranteeing a good nights sleep. Fresh coffee plunger in the room was a nice touch. Breakfast was freshly prepared and heaps of variety offering everything from fruit, yogurt, cereal to a full English breakfast. Our hosts Heather and Nigel were friendly and accommodating and offered us suggestions on places to visit and go walking. In summary a lovely short break. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAD502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    18
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
127
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We visited Chestnuts Hotel again last weekend this was our second short break and although the weather was poor, the weekend was otherwise very enjoyable, the room was spotless with tea coffee and biscuits, the breakfast was excellent and plentiful.
The position of this hotel is ideal for a walk into Windermere or down to Bowness.
We can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are possibly quieter as we could hear some noise from the kitchen as Nigel prepared b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy1762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My Wife and I stayed for two nights October 11th & 12th, and this was a last minute booking,

We can only give this Guest House an average rating as the bathroom in our room was poorly laid out. You couldn’t use the mirror to shave with as the sink was in the way and the lights in the room were so dim it was difficult to see. The hot water only ever got luke warm all and didn’t get hot. The water pressure was also so low it took ages to fill the sink. Also the electric shower was just adequate; again probably do to the water pressure. It’s clear the owners have never stayed in the room otherwise they would have picked up on these simple issues.

The staff / owners were somewhat short at breakfast, and as someone else’s has already mention on this site the whole experience felt more like a business transaction.

We won’t be staying here again; there are far better guest houses in the area for a similar price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLoyds506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights here after changing our dates a few times! We arrived early but was happily greatest by heather who said if we didn't mind waiting she would have our room ready. We were given coffee and biscuits which was a lovely touch. When we were shown to our room we were in awe as it was perfect! The breakfast was lovely and I couldn't fault anything about our stay. It was a perfect location to explore the lakes, and would highly recommend this as the place to say. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This bed and breakfast is ideally situated between Windermere and Bowness. We have been to the lakes many times and stayed in various other places but this would be by far the best. We always try and book room 6 its a beautiful room but I am sure the others are equally as nice. The breakfasts are great and the scrambled eggs are something else. Its also nice to have a car park where its not a nightmare getting in and out of as I am not the best driver. We try and come here each year for my birthday and its not changed one bit reall excellent value for money especially considering what you get compared to other b&Bs.roll on November!! Lauren and Thomas, Sunderland

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenandThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked early evening and were soon being directed to possible dinner places in the centre of town or down by the lake. Chestnuts is mid way between the town centre and the lake, 10 - 15 minutes walk in each direction. We had a very comfortable night and excellent breakfast the next day. Thank you both very much!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingfamily00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My wife and I recently spent four nights at the Chestnuts, and were extremely happy with our stay. Nigel and Heather, the owners, are very friendly and always on hand if you needed suggestions about places to go or where to eat, etc. The cooked breakfast each morning is excellent and has a good amount of choice. We had a lovely room on the second floor with a four poster bed and good size en suite bathroom, which was very clean and tastefully decorated. The Chestnuts is equidistant between the town centres of Bowness (which is right on the shore of Lake Windermere) and Windermere -- about a ten minute walk to either, which was ideal. In short, a wonderful stay, and we would highly recommend!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maxbakerhytch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Denehurst Guest House
Denehurst Guest House
#19 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#13 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#12 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#23 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts Guest House

Property: Chestnuts Guest House
Address: Princes Road, Windermere LA23 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnuts Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sympathetically updated throughout January 2017, Chestnuts is an attractive Victorian B&B offering seven individually styled bedrooms, many with original period features. With a choice of doubles, four-poster rooms and a twin room, all guest bedrooms have en-suite showers or baths, and plenty of little luxuries from free Wi-Fi to a hot drinks station. The house itself is over a century old, and sits in a quiet area, surrounded by a secluded garden, and ample off-road parking for guests. The dining room is an airy room, with high ceiling, and benefits from an original fireplace, perfect for an early winter’s morning. Chestnuts is an easy five-minute walk from Windermere centre, and ten-minutes’ walk to Bowness and Lake Windermere; making it an ideal location for the scenic Lake cruises, England’s highest peak Scarfell Pike and a mainline train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chestnuts Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing