We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not eat better for the price”

Grey Walls Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Price range: US$6 - US$44
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You will not eat better for the price”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Had read the good reviews of this place, and decided to try it when we arrived on friday at windermere..We were shown to our table and offered complimentary bread (superb) whilst the waiter described everything on the admittedly limited menu..Ive never ordered belly pork before , but was talked into it....glad i was...superb..Also had a dessert (even though full from 1st 2 courses) of poppy seed cheesecake.,this too was as good as ive ever had. I STRONGLY recommend anybody eating out in windermere to try this place, especially the earlybird offer of 2 courses for under £13..The choice of dishes may be small, but its probably because of that ,that the quality is so good. Wish all restaurants were this good at this price !!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MICHAEL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    55
    13
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“quality food at affordable prices”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My family and I were treated to an elegant window table with excellent views. A live piano player added to the whole experience and the food was beautifully home made and hearty. Coupled with friendly service and more than reasonable prices it is hard to say anything negative about this new steak house.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal of the week”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel but went to the recently opened steak house for a meal. We had just walked the Dales Way and we could honestly say this was the best meal of the whole week. The service and care by staff was excellent and the food was perfect. I am pretty hard to please but the homemade bread was superb, the starters for us all delicious and the main courses too were hard to beat. We would have loved to have had a desert too but were too full. Many thanks for making our last night of walking so memorable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AllyBEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarporley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, incredible service, stunning value!”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Have you ever found a business that delivers such a great product that you know you will always be a customer? This is what we found at the 'Grey Walls'

The description on the menu states "Good quality local produce, cooked well at a reasonable price" This statement is the clearest case of under promising and over delivering I have ever come across in a business. Especially the food industry!

First of all the welcome from Tim is top notch, his manner and style really makes you feel special and his knowledge of the menu and how the food is prepared and cooked help build a picture in your mind that leaves your mouth watering in anticipation of what's to come.
When the food arrives it is everything Tim promised it would be, the chef is obviously very very talented and clearly enjoys his work!

The food we had was simply some of the best we have ever eaten! It was of a quality that is to be expected from a restaurant charging 3 or 4 times what we paid.

Reading this you may think I am being overly complimentary but the first class service and food delivered by the team at the 'Grey Wall' should be experienced by anyone who thinks old school customer service and value is a thing of the past.

We wish the team the very best of luck for the future and we will see you soon when we come back with the family.

Thanks for the experience.

Mark & Sue

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Evening Meal”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stumbled across this fantastic restaurant by accident - it was Saturday night of the bank holiday weekend and everywhere was busy - I am glad they were, as we had the best meal we have had for a long time at this restaurant. The service was perfectly attentive without being to intrusive. The food was superb, and the fresh bread with olives and balsamic/olive oil served to the table was a lovely and a welcoming touch. The menu has enough choice of everything without being over the top. We would definately come here again and looking at the other reviews would probably stay at the hotel too. Thanks for a great meal.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHarrisonLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grey Walls Restaurant also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Grey Walls Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing