We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Craig Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Craig Manor Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed over the Easter break and had a fab time, the hotel is ideally situated for the town centre, ferry, walking and the pubs :)

food at the hotel was great as was the staff and the room ideal...drinks not over priced and a friendly bar man , hope you enjoyed Bruce S :)...lovely view from the conservatory with a hot coffee or a fine wine..or both

loved the place and we will be back x

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    234
    91
    23
    26
See reviews for
62
415
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Booked a 3-night deal at this place for me & hubby. It's well-located, just a short walk from shops, restaurants & the lakeside. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable. We'd booked a lake-facing room which had a wonderful view. The staff in all areas are friendly, helpful, efficient and courteous. The restaurant was one of my favourite areas with stunning views over Lake Windermere. I have to say that the food matched the view. Tasty, well-cooked full breakfasts and gorgeous evening meals. We'll certainly be returning here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay in a very clean, welcoming and friendly hotel, food was excellent ( buffet breakfast, but best we've had).
Would definitely stay again and highly recommend.
We would definitely eat there again while just visiting Windermere, as restaurant is open to non residents

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

In a great location in Bowness on Windermear, this is a friendly and comfortable hotel, within easy walking distance to shops and the lake. There is plenty of on-site parking and nothing is too much trouble for the friendly and efficient staff.

Rooms are small, but clean and comfortable and offer everything required during your stay.

The dinning room is excellent with a wide range of menu choice and first class service. There is a very comfortable well stocked bar area in which to enjoy an aperitif or after dinner drink, or in which to just retire after dinner with your coffee and sit and enjoy the magnificent views.

Overall this hotel offers good value for money, excellent service and high quality dinning.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms can suffer from traffic noise as the hotel is located on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonybilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is our fifth stay at this Hotel. It is very old and we love the character. We had a lake view on this occasion which was lovely, have had smaller rooms on previous occasions, always clean and adequate, I cant understand people complaining about small rooms, this is an old building that is the characteristic of it! Excellent service and outstanding food in the restaurant. Staff always pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salzzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed on a 2 night deal. If the idea of this is to impress guests who would not usually stay here so they would return, in our case they have failed.
We had a very small room on the ground floor on the side of a very busy road. The windows could not be locked in a partially open position, so we had to bear the heat and stuffiness and sleep with them closed. We took the duvet out of its cover and used this to sleep under. The bathroom has an extractor fan which made a noise but did not extract much of the hat steamy air, so we showered with the bathroom door partially open.
Breakfast was very good, a choice of fruit, cereal and the hot buffet English which was freshly cooked and not swimming in grease as is the usual case. Dinner on the first night was mixed. Lamb Henry was very good, well cooked, tender and tasty. The Braised Beef was also just as good. However, the Roast of the Day, Lamb was chewy, fatty and had a most peculiar flavour. The only thing that mad the meal enjoyable, was our waitress, Penny, whose humour had everyone in the restaurant amused.
The next night we dined in the town as there is an excellent choice of Restaurants.
We suggest that a lakeside view would be quieter and with them being on a higher floor, better ventilated as windows could be opened.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Did a 2 night KGB voucher deal, with Dinner on 1st night. Good value for money. Hotel is old fashioned, but not run down. Evening meal in the restaraunt was lovely. Great food. Breakfast very good also.
Room was at rear looking out to gardens. Clean and roomy enough without being over special.
There was a bar, but no one ever at it. Did not generate a lot of atmosphere.Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rear of hotel will be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
376 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Manor Hotel

Property: Craig Manor Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Windermere
#14 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Craig Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig Manor Windermere
Hotel Craig Manor
Craig Manor Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing