We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Craig Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Craig Manor Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed this weekend on a 2 night package that included 4 course Dinner each night, english breakfast each morning, late checkout, champagne, chocolates and 3 course lunch on the final day for £178 per night!!I know there are a few bad reviews for this hotel but I've stayed in many hotels in the same area and can honestly say you would struggle to find another offer similar to that and so close to the Center of Bowness. Had a wonderful time there and would go again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra (it's not much) and get a lake view room they are twice the size of the stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlingm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    221
    90
    23
    26
See reviews for
60
402
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We as non- residents tried to book a table for dinner last night and were directed by reception to speak with the barman ??? (Not the restaurant manager).We approached the bar as directed and were greeted with the barman putting his palm up towards us while pulling a pint and stating he was not taking any more.
His attitude left a lot to be desired and if this is the way the Hotel is run then we had a lucky escape.
I am sorry sir we are fully booked this evening was not part of his vocabulary.
There is much competition in the area.
This establishment did itself no favours.
We had a drink here the night before and thought we would try it for a meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed her for two nights on bed and breakfast basis. Hotel is in an ideal location with ample parking facilities. We booked a lake view room and were allocated room 305 which is on the top floor. The room was very clean and looked as if it had recently been refurbished,however due to situation of room it was quite quirky in shape. My husband didn't like the bathroom because the shape of it made it a bit difficult to use the toilet without banging his head. Said it would have been okay if he had a flip top head.
We had dinner in hotel on our first night and it was fine.Breakfast was first class. The only thing we didn't like about breakfast was the fact that 8.30 was when it was served.We are early risers and 7.30 would have suited us better. Don't think we have ever stayed in any hotel where breakfast is served so late.
Bar prices in the hotel were alright. Some parts of the hotel could do with a little TLC, looking a bit tired in places. However these small problems wouldn't stop us from returning to hotel. A good enough 3 to 3.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here to celebrate our 1st Wedding Anniversary and paid extra for a lake view. They didn't tell us you would need binoculars to see it! Room was ok, very clean, we were excited that we had a Jacuzzi bath, but it didn't work! A bit disappointed that the bar didn't do cocktails but never mind. We also didn't realise it was a dog friendly hotel. After coming back to our room from a nice meal and drinks we were greeted down our corridor with a dog in the opposite room barking away (the owners must have been out) not what we wanted on a romantic trip, we have enough of that at home with our next door neighbours dog barking all the time. I definitely wouldn't come back to this hotel. The best thing about it was breakfast. It was superb!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed there last sat in August as a present for my birthday.We paid extra for lake view and put in room 315 which was on top floor.Room was small but adequate but on going to bed the trees over hanging the roof on the hotel were bang against our room.We tried our best to get to sleep but no chance with the wind causing trees to hit roof.At 2 am we had to go to reception and lucky enough they had one room left so moved us to that.Next morning we were informed that next door to hotel they would not let them cut the trees overhanging onto Craig manor so they knew all about this problem.just a bit disappointed after paying 150 pound for one night and was not even offered a drink for our inconvenience but we never let it spoil our weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bangorlad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here with friends for 3 nights, having read a few negative reviews we were a little unsure. But were pleasantly surprised, all the staff were lovely very friendly and helpful especially Magda and the gentleman serving at the bar. My husband has ceoliacs but this was not a problem with a menu of what was gluten free! And the staff never forgot. Food great and lots of it!!! Only niggle was the battered hake the batter was not crispy. The rooms are not a bad size lovely view(you are not in them much) and seem to have been recently redone. Would definitely stay again! Thank you for making our stay so pleasant!

Room Tip: Lakeview room at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We weren't staying at the hotel just dropped in for a meal because we couldn't park anywhere and they had parking . We were told they had a table and sat in the waiting lounge on outdated understuffed chesterfields . Staff very friendly , rather a long wait after ordering and drinks quite pricey . Dining room very outdated with 80,s style swags and tails curtains !
The food was good and service very good , prices not too bad but two complaints would be the roast potatoes that come with the belly pork were obviously of the frozen mcCains or aunt bessy variety and the crackling on top of the pork was soft and chewy not at all crunchy like it should be .
Overall it was passable and the starter mushroom in pancake was very good . .
So fifty pounds for two starters main courses and one wine one coffee not too bad . I mentioned the roast potatoes so hopefully they will take note . The service made up for it , would probably go again.
I looked at the prices for staying at the hotel fir DBB and it seems good value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank paulaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
1.1 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Manor Hotel

Property: Craig Manor Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Windermere
#14 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Craig Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig Manor Windermere
Hotel Craig Manor
Craig Manor Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing