We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankyou so much for rescuing our weekend !”
Review of Craig Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Craig Manor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We called into the craig manor after vacating the Macdonald Old England Hotel, see review, We met Patty the Hotel Receptionist what a delightful girl and she couldn't have been more helpful, after explaining our situation, she gave us 4 sets of keys and said go and have a look round and choose your room, which we did Room 305. She even gaves us complimentary bath robes to cheer us up. Rooms were clean and the bed was very comfy and the bathrooms immaculate. But overall the staff are awesome, everyone was pleased to see you and had a smile on their faces, couldn't do enough for you. Not a luxury hotel, but being quite cosy and homey everybody you met was in that frame of mind, even the cleaning lady put herself out to get me something with a smile and a cheery hello. We ate in the restaurant and the food was really good, I couldn't decide what desert to have and the head waiter said I would recommend you have the Creme Brulee as your meal was rich and heavy and he was totally spot on.... fabulous creme brulee. Lovely Hotel, lovely staff and although I generally like a bit of luxury when I go away, it was a pleasure to stay here and I will do again. Thanks for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Room 305 has a bigger bed and views over the lake and the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzigriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

From the minute we arrived we were met with friendly, happy staff. W e werent rushed at all while we waited for our friends to arrive, and this carried on all the way through our stay. At meal times we were given plenty of time to choose and enjoy our food. The fact they allow dogs was nice too. Although we don't have one they made the hotel feel homely. A great time at a great hotel . Going back again asap.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marshmymellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Love this hotel ,have stayed here a number of times and would recommend it for food, comfort and service. The staff are very helpful and the location is near to Bowness without being right in the centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Have just returned from a weekend break and I would like to say what a great place to stay this hotel is. It is in a great location, a short walk into Bowness for a bit of retail therapy on a cold, wet February day was much appreciated and meant that it was also good to visit other restaurants without having to drive.
The first night's meal was part of a deal and was of an extremely high standard, in fact my husband said that it was the best meal he had ever had. The manager of the restaurant, Laszlo was a joy, whenever we saw him throughout our stay he was smiling and very attentive to all the guests at the hotel - if only all managers could be of this very high calibre. He obviously inspired his colleagues to be just as helpful and pleasant both in the evening and at breakfast, I hope that the owners of the hotel appreciate Laszlo and the rest of his staff.

The room was clean and well decorated but on the small side, our room 212 faced onto the road which was a bit noisy at times but it didn't keep us awake.

All in all excellent value and a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parsley1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Great location. Majority of staff were super polite and helpful, especially the evening waiter who seated us for dinner. The rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. We would visit again in the future!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorajayne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a lovely break, we booked a lake view room and also got amazing views of the snow capped fells. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant, and the staff very professional and helpful. Breakfast was also lovely. The hotel is just on the outskirts of Bowness, so a lovely walk to the lake, shops and cafes, all in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: A lake view room just makes it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have always wanted to stay here ,but very let down ,the room 205 had the most creaky floorboards ever and also a fan/ boiler noise going all the time ,no sleep at all ,we asked to be moved which we were after first night however in next room - no sleep again due to rowdy drunken folks above which even receptionist heard &commented on when we checked out !
Never again came home exhausted

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Di A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
322 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Manor Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#14 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £85 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Craig Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig Manor Windermere
Hotel Craig Manor
Craig Manor Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing