We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sound night stay”
Review of Craig Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Craig Manor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed at his hotel for just one night with my husband and family from Belgium.Rooms were fine although there was a problem with both showers which I am sure will be sorted now as staff are helpful and very friendly. Food was very good although I would suggest you ask when ordering your meal that you would like a bit of time between courses. We were asked to give our choices before going to table and first course arrived as we sat down but unfortunately the next two courses arrived straight after taking dirty plates away which meant we had no time to rest between courses. This spoilt what we hoped would have been a relaxing evening. Definitely no complaints about the food though.

Location is good just a few minutes walk into centre.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PMS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
There are newer reviews for Craig Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband & I visited this hotel one Valentines weekend (it wasn't this year by the way - but I had to pick one) and all I can say is WOW, this hotel is stunning from the entrance, right to the rooms. It was luxuriously appointed with views over the fells to die for. The room we stayed in was well proportioned and the bed was very comfortable. The staff are attentive - prices themselves are not cheap, but well worth it for the treat.

This is one of the best hotels we've stayed in - and we've stayed in a few of them over the years - I'm not a walker, but I still love the area

Room Tip: ask for a fell view room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Val A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from a shorts stay at craig manor. Our 4th visit. Customer service in all areas 5★★★★★ booked on line, website crashed, rang hotel to confirm. Lady called patti sorted reservation out and upgraded us to superior room on first floor at no extra charge. On arrival had quiet drink in the bar, and then went to bowness for shopping. I asked if they could leave an ice bucket and two champagne glasses in our room. When we went up to the room, the balloon I had ordered was there, as was the ice bucket and glasses on the extra large bed, were two fluffy dreding gowns, the bathroom had a massive p shaped jacuzzi bath and power shower, the room gad a seating area with arm chairs and a table and stunning views of the lake, mountains and gardens, the four course evening meal was absolutley delicious, we aske for a windows seat and got it. The breakfast next day was very comprehensive, hot and tasty. Everything we asked for on this visit we got. All the staff we met in every area were so pleasant and friendly and superbly efficient. This is not a chain hotel, it is privately owned and the staff go the extra mile. My partner got birthday wishes from everyone, and a complimentary helium balloon waited at our dinner table. I know there are some negative comments on here, this is a 3★★★ hotel, but the food, service and comfort are all 5★★★★★ cant wait for my next visit

Room Tip: Rear room, away from the road, lovely views, first floor the best for space. No lift so if have mob...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

After a bit of confusion over our room we thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel in June. The staff were extremely helpful and offered us a free two course meal on our first night over the room confusion . The hotel is situated central between the town of Windermere and Bowness on the lake. It is extremely comfortable but our view room was a little small, room 217 and has limited view of the lake. We will definitely return to the hotel in the future

Room Tip: Avoid room 217 as it is small and has no bath.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as we visited the lakes for a wedding at Newby Bridge & my dad's birthday.
We booked The Lord & Lady of the Manor deal plus an extra night. Brilliant value deal. The restaurant food was delicious, in fact it was that nice we are there again on the third evening. All had something different and enjoyed it. Breakfast was great, cereal, fruit & full English with options of eggs cooked to order.
The rooms were small but really clean. As we had an infant with us in a cot bed it did feel even smaller however had there been just two adults, like in my parents room it would have been fine. We poss should have upgraded to a family room (so our fault). The shower was brilliant & really powerful not a little trickle.
Staff were really friendly & helpful with any help or enquiries. We requested a balloon for our breakfast table on the second morning which was on the table as requested. Waiting staff were really friendly.
The only one comment is that the decor is a little old fashioned & could do with tidying up, but can't fault anything else, would definitely stay again due to the location. You can walk easily into Bowness & Windermere from the hotel so it's perfect.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank katieandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary. On arrival we were greeted by a very professional receptionist who explained everything to us. We were very pleased to find that we had been upgraded to a lake view room. The room itself was spacious with a very nice large bed that was so comfortable.
Once we dropped our bags into the room we walked down into Bowness. The town has everything you can ask for. On our first night we had the 4 course dinner menu, the food was amazing and the roast of the day and sticky toffee pudding are a must try. We had thought we would eat in town on the other 2 nights but quickly changed our minds and continued to eat at the hotel.

We walked up the hill to Windermere on 2 separate occasions and on both times were lucky enough to find to lovely coffee shops. Due to the weather we had to buy a large umbrella but it only rained for about half the day.
I just wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are lush. Very quiet and only woken up by the noise of the sheep at around 8am.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milou_430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Friendly hotel within walking distance from Lake Windermere.The highlight is the excellent food. We had a four course meal as a part of our deal and it was of an extremely high quality. The service was also excellent. The breakfast was the best that I have had in a very long time. The hotel could do with refurbishment but this in no way affected our enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deryck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Manor Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Windermere
#14 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £84 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Craig Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig Manor Windermere
Hotel Craig Manor
Craig Manor Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing