We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ivythwaite Lodge hotel
Ranked #42 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location very friendly”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Our 3 night stay with Wendy and Mick was excellent and the close walking distance to Barrow or Windermere was an ideal location choice. Breakfast choices were extensive and the quality high. The rooms were a good size and the facilites well proportioned. Thanks Mick and Wendy for a great stay for a good price.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
163
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Had a perfect stay at Ivythwaite Lodge. Mick and Wendy are really friendly and helpful hosts. Breakfast was tasty and there was lots to choose from. The house and rooms are beautifully furnished and kept very clean. Bed was so comfy and the spa bath was a real treat! You can walk into town in less then 15 minutes. There is unrestricted on street parking on the quiet road outside the hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteRoseScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This was our first time at Ivythwaite Lodge and we were extremely impressed with the warm welcome we recieved from the lovely hosts Wendy and Mick. We were fortunate enough to stay in a couple of the guest house rooms and both were extremely well presented and very clean. Breakfast was excellent. We also had the opportunity of staying in the 'Cranny' and this was a beautiful self catering cottage that met all our needs.
We will definelty be staying again in the future and will strongly recommend the Ivythwaite Lodge to our family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This was the second time Gary and I stayed at the Ivythwiate Lodge Hotel, and it was everybit as good as the first. We stayed in the Helvyn room, which was lovley. The bed was so comfortable and the double spa bath was everything you needed after walking the Old man of Coniston. The breakfasts are excellent, beautiful fresh fruit salad, then a choice of Full English, pancakes, omlettes or my favourite Scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. All cooked fresh and beautiful. Mike and Wendy are the perfect hosts and are lovley and friendly. The furnishings and decor are all lovley. The price is excellent considering the size of rooms, spa baths and fantastic breakfasts. Would highly recommend to others, and would most definitely stay again. Hopefully we are going back in October.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the Helvelyn and the Great Gable Delux and they were both excellent. Both bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissFussy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

just returned for a short break at the Ivythwaite Lodge, this was our 2nd visit and another throughtly enjoyable break, Mike and Wendy are superb hosts and make your stay a memorable one, nothing is too much for them, The accomodation is first class, lovely and roomy, exceptionally clean, you wont be dissapointed, The breakfast selection is fantastic and the scramble egg and smoke salmon is yummy, so dont be afraid to try it, and mike is always on hand if anything is needed. thanks mike and wendy for another wonderful stay, see you again soon :-) sue and sam

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Excellent location, clean and welcoming. What else could you want. Mick, the host is funny and down to earth. We found it perfect for a base to explore the lakes. The breakfasts are good and the room we had, No5, large and comfortable. Parking was easy and it is only a short walk to the lake. Bowness was a surprise. More like the Italian lakes and less like the UK. Very pleasant evening troll to some excellent restaurants. Would visit again anytime and highly recommend.
Thanks for a lovely time.

Room Tip: We had No 5. A large loft conversion. Loads of space, very quiet, biggest bath you have ever seen. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Just returned from a one night friday stay at the ivythwait lodge...easy to find, and a short stroll from shops/resturants/pubs and the windermere lake. The lodge is a perfect, cosey hideaway! Just myself and my partner went for the one night, and found it great value for money...you get a nice breakfast in the morning from 8.45-9.30. Mick the host was very friendly, and made you feel welcome! The lodge is modern/nicely decorated, very cosey.We stayed in the Gable room on the top floor...very spacious with the large/jacuzzi spa bath in the en-suite, bed big and comfy, fridge kettle cups and glasses provided,also a tv in the room and docking station to use.Your given your own key for your room/front door so you can go and come back when you please.....lovely place to stay,would recommend!

Room Tip: Try to ring first to see what rooms are available....we did,and got a good deal compared to online,a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 19Tripaholic89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#39 of 108 in Windermere
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#29 of 108 in Windermere
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#31 of 108 in Windermere
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Ravensworth
The Ravensworth
#20 of 108 in Windermere
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invergarry Guest House
Invergarry Guest House
#16 of 108 in Windermere
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivythwaite Lodge hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivythwaite Lodge hotel

Property: Ivythwaite Lodge hotel
Address: Ivythwaite Princes Road, Windermere LA23 2DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ivythwaite Lodge hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ivythwaite Lodge hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivythwaite Lodge Hotel Hotel Windermere
Ivythwaite Lodge Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing