We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lake district retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ivythwaite Lodge hotel
Ranked #43 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Lake district retreat”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break in the attic room for our 2nd wedding anniversary.
The room was fab, really spacious with a massive bed which was also amazingly comfortable.
The room had a DVD player with flat screen tv and a fridge was a great touch.
The breakfast was very good and the hosts Mick and Wendy were great hosts.
The bathroom has a huge double Jacuzzi bath which was wonderful after a day out walking.
Our only gripe was that our tea and coffee facilities were not replenished at all during our stay so come the last day we couldn't have a hot drink.
The guesthouse is in a great location with only a short walk into Windermere.
If your visiting the lakes then stay at Ivythwaite : )

Room Tip: stay in the attic which I think is room 5 its massive and the bed is the most comfortable thing in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbycat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
163
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Catterick
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just got back from a fab 2 days in the lake. Booked a last minute room at the Ivythwaite on Weds night and was there by thursday lunch time. Wonderful accommodation, warm and friendly host's, immaculately clean with everything you need. We stayed in the Cranny, gorgeous little place. Would have loved to have stayed longer and will defo go back. Lovely setting and close to everything. Totally fab and would tell everyone to treat themselves to a stay at the Ivythwaite,
Enjoy! We did!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leoniecatterick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shenzhen
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I don't write many reviews but Mick and Ivythwaite are too great for me to be lazy this time. My parents and I lived in Cranny for two days, which were very cozy and relexing. It is very difficult to find a b&b that is willing to accommodate three persons. Ivythwaite has been a great help to us! Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doyouhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Mick was an excellent host, giving good recommendations for evening dining in Bowness. ivythwaite Lodge is a short taxi ride from Bowness, but we found it an easy walk. Breakfast is well presented with a variety of choice to suit any palate. I would not hesitate in recommending this well run family B&B

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lescullens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a great stay with Mick and Wendy they are fantastic hosts. The breakfast is excellent and the location of the guest house is lovely and only a short walk into town, it is very peaceful and has beautiful surroundings. We really loved our bedroom in the attic and the spa bath topped it off - very relaxing! We can't wait to go and stay at the Ivythwaite Lodge again can't recommend it enough!

Mandy and Graham

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aghh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a lovely two night stay in July 2013. Wendy and Mick made us feel very welcome. They cook up an absolutely fantastic breakfast with lots of options to chose from (I recommend the pancakes). Wendy was very helpful about giving us restaurant recommendations as well, so we never had a bad meal. From Ivythwaite it is an easy ten to fifteen minute walk up into Windermere, or down into Bowness. If I'm ever back in the Lakes, I wont be staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

brilliant hotel run by mick and wendy. our 3rd stay, they always make us feel at home. theres nothing better than lounging in the garden on a sunny day. really lovely genuine couple trying to make a difference to peoples stay in the lakes. a tribute to the tourist trade. the breakfast is amazing with top quality produce. (im fussy with my sausages so its always a treat). if you think its a little pricey, you get what you pay for. book it, you wont be dissappointed. i forgot to mention the massive whirlpool bath that nearly takes up all the bathroom. oh yes, in the bath with an ice cold cider.

Room Tip: go for the attic. its dearer but amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doctorhotfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#29 of 107 in Windermere
182 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ravensworth
The Ravensworth
#20 of 107 in Windermere
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 107 in Windermere
1,012 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 107 in Windermere
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 107 in Windermere
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivythwaite Lodge hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivythwaite Lodge hotel

Property: Ivythwaite Lodge hotel
Address: Ivythwaite Princes Road, Windermere LA23 2DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ivythwaite Lodge hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ivythwaite Lodge hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivythwaite Lodge Hotel Hotel Windermere
Ivythwaite Lodge Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing