We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ivythwaite Lodge hotel
Ranked #40 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

had a lovely time, mick was great, really chatty and friendly, the room was lovely and clean and the bed was fantastic, the bed linen was crisp and clean, there was tea and coffee making facilities in the room which was really handy and the spa bath was brilliant, mick had lots of local information for us and it seemed nothing was to much trouble, the only things that we felt let this otherwise wonderful place down, was the very small TV in the room, my husband couldn't see the footie score, the toilet made an awful groaning noise when you flushed it and the towels available were limited, especially as we wanted to use the spa several times during our stay, breakfast was lovely, we didn't mind filing out our order the night before, however I asked for the continental breakfast and porridge, as I didn't really want cereal, the porridge was really creamy, but a little on the cold side, all I was then offered was some toast, so not sure what's continental about that, unless I didn't understand it clearly, also the toast was very limited and the butter was two tiny skinny sticks, not sure why a small bowl of butter is not just put on the table, my husbands breakfast was cooked really well, there just wasn't enough of it, 1 sausage, no beans or black pudding !!!!!! whilst the food was of excellent quality, we felt it was stingy which was a shame, apart from that the friendliness and the cleanliness was second to none, so thank you guys.

Room Tip: I think, looking at other reviews, any room at ivythwaite lodge would be worth staying in, all seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
162
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I decided to treat my Girlfriend for her birthday by taking her to Ivythwaite Lodge. Quite simply, she loved it. The room was fabulous, the breakfasts were truly something worth getting out of the lovely bed for and the hosts were among the nicest and most friendly people we have met.

It was clean, tidy, nicely appointed and had a very homely feel, which is a hard thing for guest house to pull off.

WELL worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FIRE1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We chose ivythwaite lodge as its positioned in between Bowness and Windermere, and not too far a walk from either. The accommodation was lovely, big comfy bed and fabulous modern bathroom, i unfortunately couldn't take advantage of the lovely spa bath as i was 5 months pregnant! The breakfasts were delicious, and as we stayed a few nights we got to try a few of the options, pancakes were by far my favourite!! The hosts were extremely accommodating, and even offered some friendly tips when i had a bad day for morning sickness. We were made to feel very welcome, and were told about the self catering room for our next visit after the baby arrives!! Would definitely recommend and will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkfairydust85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We've just got back from a lovely weekend in the Cranny at Ivythwaite and we are already planning another stay.The cranny is a perfect cosy and comfortable stay,with excellent hosts,a 5 minute walk away from the town centre.We can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have just returned from two nights staying here with the fantastic hosts Wendy and Mick.
I usually stay in Hotels as I was working up in the Lakes for a couple of days and thought this place looked and sounded so nice and perfect I would give it a try instead of the boring ,corporate hotels.It is a gem of a find and I would recommend to anyone who enjoys lovely four poster beds with comfy matresses and beautiful duvets bedroom and spa baths -pure luxury-it is perfect for a weekend away or a romantic getaway-perfectly positioned for Windermere 7 mins walk and Bowness 15 mins with lots of bars and restaurants all within walking distance.Breakfast was lovely and couldn't fault a thing-well done -really enjoyed my stay will recommend you to all my friends

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing -my room was number 4 which had a double spa bath -perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stirlingwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Ivythwaite Lodge is located between Windermere village and Bownness. On arrival we were greeted by Wendy and Mick and from the second we walked through the door we knew this was an excellent choice. This is an establishment with very high standards, everything is immaculate with high standards of cleanliness. The décor is relaxing and whoever planned it has a wonderful eye for detail. The room we chose was again immaculate the linen on the four poster bed was pristine, furniture well looked after and polished. The bathroom was beautiful and included a double ended Jacuzzi. In the mornings we started breakfast with fresh fruit salad which had been freshly prepared, we then opted for the full English breakfast which was very tasty, there were other things on the menu which sounded equally tempting such as smoked salmon and scrambled egg, breakfast was finished off with a mix of white and wholemeal toast which appeared to be from an unsliced loaf which somehow seemed to add to the flavour and of course a pot of tea. We have stayed at many other hotels and bed and breakfasts in the area and believe me in our opinion this is the best and we will visit again.

Room Tip: Go for the four poster room with Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summershere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home after a fantastic week staying in The Nook cottage at Ivythwaite Lodge, and wanted to tell everyone what a lovely place it is. Highly recommended!

It is in a lovely part of Windermere, away from the main centres of Bowness and Windermere but in easy walking distance.

The cottage is 'a home away from home' with everything you need. Mick and Wendy, the owners, have furnished it to a high standard and made it very comfortable. Thanks to Mick for sorting out the wifi when it wasn't working at the beginning of the week!

There are so many great restaurants, we were spoilt for choice and will have to return to try some of the ones we didn't get to!

We would definitely recommend this cottage and hope to return again in the near future!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#31 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#36 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#13 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ravensworth
The Ravensworth
#17 of 109 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivythwaite Lodge hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivythwaite Lodge hotel

Property: Ivythwaite Lodge hotel
Address: Ivythwaite Princes Road, Windermere LA23 2DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ivythwaite Lodge hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ivythwaite Lodge hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivythwaite Lodge Hotel Hotel Windermere
Ivythwaite Lodge Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing