We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ivythwaite Lodge- simply gorgeous!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivythwaite Lodge hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ivythwaite Lodge hotel
Ranked #37 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ivythwaite Lodge- simply gorgeous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2009

My boyfriend and I have just come back from staying at the Ivythwaite Lodge- It was utterly gorgeous, we stayed in the the gables room- this was bigger then expected, very comfy bed, plenty of space and as for the aqua bath - soo relaxing. The breakfast were very tasty and filling. Our stay was simply perfect- the perfect combination of walking, eating, drinking and relaxing.
Ivythwaite is perfectly located - windermere and bowness are lovely, we also went to ambleside, kendal, keswick and Grasmere- throughly recommend grasmere- its beautiful quaint village and the lunches in Heidi's are gorgeous.!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridiewestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    22
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
160
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

Had to place a note on TripAdvisor the second we returned home. Me and my husband never really get the time to go away on a weekend so this had to be perfect. We booked the attic room, and at first we were a bit reluctant because some attic rooms can have very restricted head room....God werent we wrong. Pay the extra and have this room.... You get a massive ornate bed, lovely solid wood furniture - Nothing from MFI....lots of space....,,,,thick luxury carpet and 5 Velux roof windows with black out blinds if you like a nice sleep in. The bath was massive and can even get 2 people in it. The only thing that i would say is.... "the photo's on the web for this room dont justify it....its a million times betta" Sorry Wendy and Mick but thought you might want to know this constructive comment. Anyway moving on....Bowness is the place to eat and drink and Windermere is a little flat. The walk to Bowness from Ivythwaite is ten mins max and only £2.50 in a taxi. You will find all places for everyone......Wine Bars, olde world pubs.....lots of places to eat for all budgets. Day trips - We went to Ambleside on the boat which took 35mins each way and cost £8.00 return per person. You can go for the day and decide whenever you want to return. We went and spent 3 hours walking and checking the olde world pubs and quaint shops, what a lovely place. Next day we went to Kendal for the day on the train, but we went on a Sunday and it was dead,but still managed to have a good look round and enjoyed it......Dont ponder about deciding on where to stay because you might just find that Ivythwaite is booked up and you will miss a real GEM.....
Darren & Louise from Leeds

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLouNo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

hotel was really nice, only downside was i had asked wendy if she would put in the room for our arrival 2 bottles of wine and a box of chocolates for our arrival. this was for my husbands birthday, 50th, very upset when we got there and wendy told me i owed her FIFTY POUNDS, i checked how much the items had cost as i thought this was very expensive and was upset to learn it had cost not nearly as much as i was charged by wendy, it was a let down after what was a lovely few days away would advise people not to ask for any extras in the room if they stay there, otherwise was a lovely place,

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2009

what a lovely hotel. its situated right inbetween bowness and windermere. just a few mins walk. the hotel itself was lovely. the room was really clean and very comfy. the bath was so lovely, it was great to come back to after a long walk in the cold. wendy and mick were lovely people. they were so welcoming, really helpful. they even recomended walks that we should go on. we will defo be returning the the ivythwaite!!!!

  • Liked — the owners,the location and the bath
  • Disliked — nothing!!! it was fab!!!!!!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_n_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2008

Well what can we say! Ivythwaite guest house is by far the best place we have stayed in the lakes for a long time and we'll definitly be staying there in the future. Wendy and Mick are very friendly and welcoming. The attic room was amazing perfect for celebrating our anniversary especially having champagne in the huge spa bath! Thankyou for helping us have one of the best weekends ever in the lake district. Tony and Stacy

  • Liked — the rooms and the welcoming
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyandStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North yorkshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

We chose this place due to the other lovely reveiws we have seen and boy we wernt dissapointed!
From the gardens to the breakfast, every detail was taken care of to make sure we had the best time.
The hosts were great, nothing was too much trouble and always asked if everything was ok.
The rooms were very spacious with plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuts even chocolates! The beds were huge, very soft and made every day for you. The bathroom with the amazing spa bath really is big enough for two, you dont want to get out!
The location was great, very deciving as its so close to bowness and windermere really only a five minute walk to either with some lovely cafes and resteraunts on the way, we cant recomend this place enough and will be going back as soon as possible!

  • Liked — All of it, rooms, bath, breakfast, company.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ClareNorthyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dudley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

This place is lovely!! In fact thats an understatement, the owner is really nice and friendly and can cook!

Breakfast is definatley a must its great, with fruit or cereal and then the full cooked breakfast a great way to start the day.

The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable.

The four poster bed made our weekend, we didn't want to go back to our bed as this one was so comfortable and the tub, well talk about sinking into luxury!

The house is situated about a ten minute walk from the town and its quite a nice walk, plenty to do from here a good central location.

This was our first weekend away without our 4 year old and my god what a weekend it was!!

  • Liked — The Bed!!!
  • Disliked — nothing it was all great
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lozblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#14 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jerichos Guest House
Jerichos Guest House
#11 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Denehurst Guest House
Denehurst Guest House
#16 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#24 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#29 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivythwaite Lodge hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivythwaite Lodge hotel

Property: Ivythwaite Lodge hotel
Address: Ivythwaite Princes Road, Windermere LA23 2DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ivythwaite Lodge hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ivythwaite Lodge hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivythwaite Lodge Hotel Hotel Windermere
Ivythwaite Lodge Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing