We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'd stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ivythwaite Lodge hotel
Ranked #38 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'd stay again”
Reviewed 18 September 2009

The service was excellent and the greeting very friendly. The rooms were well equipped and furnished to a good standard. We had a four poster bed - the only problem was one of the posts slightly obstructed the view of the television!

The breakfast was excellent - we chose the full English breakfast, but the alternative of scrambled egg and smoked salmon was equally delicious. We stayed for two nights and went back to the same Italian restaurant they recommended which was about 10 minutes away. Lake Windermere is about a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayengee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
163
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Mick & Wendy are very welcoming & friendly people, always available should you need any help & make you feel at home. The rooms are excellent, spotlessly clean & very comfortable, with everything you need. The guest house is in a very quiet location, but an easy 10 minute stroll to either Windermere or Bowness, where there are plenty of pubs, cafes & restaurants. Be warned, don't eat too late at night as Wendy's breakfasts are gorgeous, plentiful & not to be missed! We managed to skip lunch we were fed so well! We had a lovely, relaxing stay & will most definately be back again!

Steve & Jane, Manchester

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedlionManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 2 days,this was a beautiful peaceful place to stay we stayed in the attic room what a marvellous spacious room this is,we didnt want to come home from there,mick & wendy are very good hosts and wendy cooks a great breakfast,we will certainly reccommend this to other people and we will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

we stayed at the ivythwaite lodge for a short break. we were greeted with a warm welcome. the hotel is decorated to a very high standard. we stayed in the attic room and the double spa bath was brilliant. the breakfast they served was excellent with a wide variety of choices including fresh fruit, yougart. continental breakfast, full english breakfast and vegitarian options. well worth a visit, will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breaksie
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Would recommend this guest house to everyone, only stayed one night, wished we could of stayed more, everything about this place is stunning and the double spa bath was made for memories.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breaksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Wendy and Mick run a lovely place here. Situated midway between Bowness and Windermere it is an easy walk to the fleshpots of both! ( Can especially recommend the folk group on a Sunday night at the Hole in the Wall.)
Our first night was B&B in a great room with a jacuzzi, the remainder self catering in the "Nook". I believe we were the first. Fabulously equipped, lacking for nothing, we enjoyed it so much we lost all track of time. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imnerbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

My husband and I stayed here for celebrate our first wedding anniversary - we were in the Great Gables room in the attic which had lots of space with the most comfortable bed ever! It also had a great double bath with spa, which was lovely after a long and wet days walking!

The location is fantastic, right in the middle of Windermere and Bowness. Its fine to walk to Windermere for the restaurants in the evening - of which Mike and Wendy recommended some lovely places to eat (including Rambla in Windermere - highly recommend) and it was on a quiet road.

Breakfast was lovely full English with other options and came with home made sausages!

All in all, would highly recommend this to couples looking for some beautiful countryside walking and restful accomodation and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellapbfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#29 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#37 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#13 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ravensworth
The Ravensworth
#15 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivythwaite Lodge hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivythwaite Lodge hotel

Property: Ivythwaite Lodge hotel
Address: Ivythwaite Princes Road, Windermere LA23 2DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ivythwaite Lodge hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ivythwaite Lodge hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivythwaite Lodge Hotel Hotel Windermere
Ivythwaite Lodge Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing