We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful room, food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed in the Deluxe Room 5 for two nights and was very impressed. The room was very spacious and modern with some special touches. Ate in the hotel resturant both nights - delicious! If your looking for a top weekend break in the Lakes, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanWorthington5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,217 - 1,223 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is our second visit to this fantastic hotel. We stayed here December 08 and thought there could be no way it could improve but the hard work that has gone in to making the rooms look even more fabulous and some alterations in other areas has done nothing but enhance what was already a fabulous hotel. Food is outstanding and you are not hurried off your table or pressured to vacate the resteraunt. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome and the atmosphere is warm and friendly. Kevin was great throughout and nothing was a problem. Our room was sumptious with a luxury spa bath which was superb after a long days walking. We will definately back and most certainly will not be leaving it 2 years till our next visit. Thanks for a superb stay.

Room Tip: If you want to spoil yourself room 17 is one of the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Applegarth for 2 nights as a birthday treat. We had read previous reviews and felt that some might be a little unfair, after all, the website made it look fabulous! So we visited with open minds and really hoped we'd come away giving it 5 stars.
To set the scene, we own and run our own pub and restaurant so feel we can provide a balanced opinion, knowing what it takes behind the scenes to create a place for people to enjoy themselves.
On arrival the initial impressions were that it was smart and modern and we were looking forward to getting inside.
We were greeted by the owner who checked us in very quickly, gave us a map and showed us where the spa was, then he directed us to our room. We did not get shown up or any offer of assistance with luggage but this was not a problem to us.
We stayed in room 7 on the first floor. The bathroom was fantastic with a huge jacuzzi bath. We were unsure how to work this at first but found a switch in the bedroom, no details were provided in the welcome brochure though.
The bedroom itself was OK, not as large as it appeared on the website and the bed was only a double and not very luxurious, in fact, my husband found it very uncomfortable and did not sleep well either night.
The restaurant is small and intimate but oh so quiet, there is some background music but at such a low volume you could've heard a pin drop and therefore the room lacked atmosphere. The food was of a reasonable standard, nothing outstanding in our opinion but enjoyable all the same. The first night the meal was quite rushed and we would have preferred to take our time and enjoy our wine etc.
We had a couple of drinks in the bar afterwards but it was very quiet and by 10pm we were the only ones left and the owner started turning the lights off so I guess it was bedtime!
Breakfast was alright, table service so you had to ask for everything. They forgot juice so had to be reminded, the poached eggs were overcooked but the full English was acceptable and more toast was brought without any problem.
On our second evening it was the son in law Kevin who was working. He was noticeably absent from the bar for long periods, even though it was busier. We sat with empty glasses for a while waiting for him to return.
Overall we feel this place has so much potential, its got so many positives and with just a bit of tweaking, could be excellent.
Service leaves a lot to be desired, the owners do not seem bothered and do not seem to appreciate their guests. The general feeling is underwhelming.
The decor in the main is very nice, although confused in parts with the odd tacky faux floral arrangement that looks totally out of place!
Location was good, in Windermere close to shops and only 15 mins walk to the lake and Bowness.
Would we return? Probably not. We enjoyed our stay but felt it hugely overpriced for what we got, even at the Lakes premium prices.
A shame as the website gave us such high hopes for a luxury break.
We just hope they realise what they have and brush up on these weaknesses as it could be magnificent.

Room Tip: See the website for photos as all rooms are different, room 7 has a fantastic bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Len78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times now and can not fault the rooms, the food and the more than friendly accomodating service. Anyone who feels otherwise is lacking in the ability to politely ask for ANYTHING they need or the intelligence to appreciate the hard working honest, self employed amongst us. Those of us who often travel alone on business will totally appreciate how warm and welcoming this place is - if you're on a holiday and out for a relaxing break.......enjoy! The lamb is superb and my steak was oresome.....I'll be back x

Room Tip: I have stayed in 3 different rooms all were new, clean, modern and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My husband arranged a two night stay for our 1st wedding anniversary and although the hotel itself is beautiful (our room was lovely) Applegarth does lack the small touches that you would expect from a 5* hotel. Mainly around the standard of the breakfast and the attention to detail with service and housekeeping.

I don't feel that our expectations were too high at all but we were left feeling that overall it was GOOD but not great. I also gave my feedback direct to the hotel but was almost made to feel like things were my fault and the response was quite tepid.

Overall OK.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynseyG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We booked this hotel as a special treat for our first wedding anniversary. The rooms all looked amazing on the website and we decided to get a luxury room and treat ourselves. Upon arrival, we were pointed towards the basement of the hotel where our room was. The room was tiny and not at all reflective of the photographs. There was only one bathrobe which was very strange and the tea/coffee facilities were very dated.
On the plus side, we had our dinner there that night and it was amazing. I had the seabass and my husband had the fillet steak- we could not fault it in any way. The chef/waiter was very attentive. However, once dinner was over I got the impression that we were not wanted in the bar! We managed to get one drink around 9:30 and then all staff seemed to disappear...presumably our cue to leave!
Breakfast was very nice- served to order to your table. Could improve on their customer service greatly and perhaps invest in a friendly receptionist as the owner is severely lacking in this department!
Highlight of our stay....my husband had a shower in the morning and the steam revealed a lovely message about boobies and even a detailed sketch on the bathroom mirror! Clearly they could do with cleaning it every now and again......

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Me and my partner booked in for a romantic birthday weekend and were so excited to get away from it all and take a break. We paid over £205 per night for our room, which we chose because of the luxury spa bath and huge bed. We were promised luxury all the way - This really wasn't the case. The room was in the basement and the blind constantly had to be down because of people sitting outside could actually see in. We had a view of table legs and chairs. The tea and coffee making facilities were poor and low quality. Only one bottle of water was put in a room for two people. The toilet bathroom was very small - Even sitting on the toilet was difficult for my partner who is over 6ft tall. The hotel information guide didn't tell us how to use the spa bath, television or heating - We had to call up to reception for this. The bed was uncomfortable too, not what you'd expect for a room costing as much as this.

We had dinner at the hotel on the first night. The food was bland, over-priced and the restaurant lacked any kind of atmosphere. It almost became awkward. The food wasn't really that great, considering they boast an amazing chef. Really, I think the chef is a little above his station as none of the flavours went together. The blue cheese really over-powered my veal and was stacked on a dollop of mash and school-meal style vegetables. The hotel charged approx £9 for a double gin & tonic and £4.50 for a small glass of red wine. The restaurant wasn't very busy and was poorly lit. The person in charge, was also making us feel quite uncomfortable, and we felt rushed.

We had issues with the spa, which was closed due to a fire. The spa you can visit instead is by no means luxury and very poor in comparison to what is promised. Although the fire is mentioned on the website. You cannot access this information via iPhone or iPad.

Our biggest issue was the manager. When we told him how disappointed we were, he almost told us off. His customer service skills are extremely lacking and the guy is totally rude. We even left a night early as we felt so disappointed and put off. The manager actually allowed two disappointed guests to leave the hotel without batting an eyelid.

I've been in touch with the hotel, who also show the same level of ignorance and bad customer service.

The hotel is in a very good position for the shops and bars of Windermere and isn't too far from Bowness. However, all of the bad points really should tell you to stay well away from this hotel. It seems that if you have any sort of problems, they're just not willing to help. I've never been given such poor customer support in all my life.

Room Tip: You may be best spending elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Clurrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,442 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
351 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £134 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing