We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A meal which was a big disappointment to the end of a holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We saved this meal at JR's for the end of the holiday as the menu outside looked inviting and appeared it might be a fine dining experience - it was not! Unfortunately, we walked in to a sweltering and unpleasant restaurant environment, where there were few diners and poor ambience. When we sat at our table, the blinds were poorly set and the waiter was unhelpful about addressing this. The service was poor and not as might be expected of a 5 star hotel, in our experience.

The food was very average and the venison, as mentioned by a previous reviewer, was chewy and only half was edible. The field mushrooms starter was mushrooms in a strong stange sauce. The sauces for both the starters and the main meals overpowered the flavours of the main ingredients. We decided to end our meal at this point and went to have a very pleasant dessert and coffee nearby.

Definitely not worth the inflated prices for what was a poor meal. Furthermore, whilst the manager said he would convey our disappointment to the chef, he was quite dismissive of our complaints.

I am glad we didn't stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,112 - 1,118 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

My partner & Stayed for one night in Room 18. This was booked as a surprise for my partners birthday and I wanted a spa experience for him.

Tried booking a few days before in hotels with spas attached but they were either full or wanted 2 night minimum stay. So as Applegarth included the use of the MacDonald hotel spa and the rooms on the Internet looked lovely I booked here. The cost was around the same price as some of the well known exclusive hotels in the area so my expectations were high.

We spent the morning in the spa at the MacDonald which was lovely.

On arrival at Applegarth Villa the manager was very brusque but polite. Told us as it was a public bar the bar would shut at 11.00pm which to my mind is unusual for a hotel charging these prices.

We weren't shown to our room, just handed keys and told to make our way downstairs.

Be warned room 18 is in the basement and the only view you'll have is of the floor of the terrace and tables & chairs and if people are sitting out there then they can see right into your room. This fact is not stated on their website & I really think it should be.

The first thing that hit us when we entered the room was the strong smell of damp & must. Which is strange cos the The room is very clean but obviously hasn't got good enough ventilation as it's in the basement. When you walk into this room you enter a sitting area with the bedroom and bathroom off it which sounds great but in reality is a waste of an area & is just a walkway to the bedroom. Theres no reason for you to use it as the couch just faces a mirror. Could do with a TV there? The TV is in the bedroom though. The furnishings were nice though and the bathroom was lovely & looks recently refurbished.

The shower was fabulous.

The worst part of the room (besides the smell) was the ceiling. It was a suspended tiled ceiling which looked like it was a left over from a 1970's office block. Why oh why would you refurbish a room and leave the ceiling looking like that?!

We were booked in for dinner and were
served 4 small canapes in the lounge. They tasted a bit strange & were extremely cold.

The menu seemed nice but not cheap at £35 for 3 courses.

My partners dish of haggis with neaps & tatties arrived. It was deep fried balls of what appeared to be tasteless sausagemeat. No hint of neaps or tatties no hint of haggis either! We did wonder if we'd been given the wrong starter! We told the waitress but she didn't really seem to want to take it on board. My starter of what was supposed to be a stuffed field mushroom was literally a bowl of button mushrooms in lots of sauce in a soup bowl

The mains of lamb & venison were adequate but unfortunately quite tasteless & served up looking exactly the same.

A couple on the next table seemed to think the same especially when theyd ordered risotto & been given a plate of new potatoes & veg with it. This seems to be the standard regardless of what you order.

We opted to share the cheeseboard for dessert and that was the best part of the meal, which isn't a great advert really as the cheeses were all bought in from local sources.

We had a drink in the bar afterwards and enjoyed talking to a few other guests.

Just after 11pm as promised the manager came in and said we needed to leave now as the bar was closing. He
wasn't that polite & I made us feel quite ill at ease as if we were nuisances for
being there.

I think he uses the excuse that it's a public bar to close early as there was no one from the general public in the bar and I get the feeling they wouldn't be made that welcome if they did venture in from the street.

Breakfast next morning was adequate but I've had much better quality breakfasts in establishments that are charging much less than here.

We checked out just before 10.30 as we actually felt that the manager wouldn't think twice about charging us if we stayed a minute past the check out time.

On check out I did point out the smell in the room. He did apologise but then he promptly stood up & walked away. No goodbyes or 'hope you've enjoyed your stay' We basically felt like he wasn't really listening.

We've stayed in Jericho's at the Waverley which is a few yards away from here and much more reasonable in price Rooms are lovely and the food is amazing. Breakfast is superb. It's more of a restaurant with rooms than a hotel but Applegarth Villa isn't in the same league.

Maybe the manager & chef should walk over to Jericho's & get a few tips.

We didnt let it spoil our weekend but we won't be back. There are lots more higher quality hotels in Windermere for the same price or less.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mhm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

From the warm welcome to the chatty goodbye, our stay was one of the best experiences we've had as hotel guests. We were booked into room 9 which had a wonderful view over to the lake in the distance. The bedroom was immaculately decorated with lots of little touches that made the decor a pleasure to look at. The bathroom was the showpiece, there was even a television at the end of the bath with a floating remote, how cool is that! The restaurant provided excellent food, the whole menu was tempting. Breakfast was superb with a slice of bacon that was almost a gammon steak. The bar provided good conversation and if you're a beer drinker, I can recommend 'Colly Wobble'. Will go back there next year and bring other people with us. Can't recommend Applegarth enough.

Room Tip: I can only recommend room 9 but just look on the website and all the rooms look comparable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend at Applegarth - even the weather couldn't spoil it. Our room (2) was exquisite, comfort all the way. I have stayed in many a hotel but both the bed and pillows were first class. our evening meals taken in JR's restaurant were well prepared, portions were just enough and tasted wonderful. All of the staff made us feel welcome and the waitresses were pleasant and courteous.

Room Tip: Take a good look on the website before deciding on your room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Arrived to a very warm welcome from Alan who kindly took the time to tell us about Windermere and what there is to see and do, he kindly gave us a street map so we could find our way around.
The hotel is situated at the top of Windermere village within easy walking distance to all shops and restaurants. Bowness is a good 20 minutes walk down to the marina where you can hire boats or go on the steamboat to Ambleside.
We stayed in room 10 which is on the second floor exceptionally clean and looks over the back of the hotel through a lovely large window and you do actually have a slight view of the lake in the distance. Also ipod docking station and flat screen tv complimentary drinks tray and a safe for your belongings. The furnishings in this hotel are second to none the decor is top quality the bathroom small but EVERYTHING is of a very high quality, lovely toiletries, waffle bathrobes a lot of thought and effort has gone into making this hotel "stand out from the crowd!!"
The building really did take my breath away the solid oak original features, the original mosaic floor, the stairway with its stained glass windows, the chandeliers, even the snake skin sofa...nothing is over the top, they mix traditional with modern and it just all works very very well.
We dined in on the offer "dinner on the villa" excellent service, good presentation, a very good selection on the menu to choose from, good vegetarian options aswell. Really tasty food and im not usually beaten when it comes to puds but the sticky toffee pud did just that! I just couldn't quite finish it. All good sized portions!
The restaurant is located at the back of the hotel with lovely views, nice and bright and airy. The crockery is white and a lovely shape i liked the fact that the fresh herb bread and triangle pieces of butter were served on a grey slate in the centre of the table...its all these little touches that make it stand out. Breakfast was good also, no buffet table/continental but cereals fruit juices and full english followed by toast and a selction of preserves.
Thank you for being excellent friendly sociable hosts and making our stay very enjoyable, would highly recommend you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blossom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a two night stay in the applegarth. The hotel is in a great location; a few short steps and you are in Windermere village. The reception and bar area is elegant and spacious with plenty of seating and wonderful views. Our room (15) being small yet comfortable with an iPod player, flat screen and power shower. The bed was quite hard but I think this is personal taste. The room was quiet at night with no noise from the road considering we were at the front of the hotel. The owners and staff at the applegarth are all very friendly and pleasant; northing is too much trouble and as a guest you are made to feel special.
The spa that we used in the Old England hotel in Bowness was modern and spotless but we found it hard to relax as there were childrens swimming lessons taking place when we used it (at around 5.00pm)
Jr's restaurant is fabulous. We dined on both nights and were really impressed. The menu being extensive and locally sourced.
Do not listen to any bad reviews, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellieLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

this is our fourth time at the applegarth and we were not disappointed
the hotel is lovely as the management and staff.
totally relaxing in the restaurant and bar area

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macayrscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,191 reviews
20.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £137 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing