We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab few days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab few days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

My wife and I have just arrived home after another few days holiday in the Lake District and once again we stayed at the Applegarth Villa Hotel. Once again we had a fantastic time. The hotel is improving all the time with rooms being improved and even new ones being added. All to a luxurious standard.
As usual the owners and staff are all really friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
As for the food.....well.....it gets better each time we visit.
Thanls Applegarth for a lovely holiday. Even though it did rain nearly all the time we were there.But there again if it didn't rain in the Lake District....there wouldn't be any lakes.

Room Tip: Look at the website. Rooms at the rearof the hotel have better views. Over the village and the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you Sid for the kind words. It was lovely to see both you and Val again. We will try and arrange for better weather next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    105
    40
    22
    10
See reviews for
25
918
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

my fiance and I were very lucky to be given a voucher by our friends for our engagement for a nights stay at applegarth. amazing place...stayed in room 7 with the most amazing bathroom :) great location and owners and staff very welcoming and friendly. we got to check in early and had a peak at luxury room 2...which was very impressive!! use of spa facilities at the old england was an added bonus. we had a meal in winderemere but the breakfast was delicious...recomend the poached eggs :) overall great stat but bed was a bit hard for me but great experience that will always remember :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Gift vouchers make a great present and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review us and for the kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

My husband and I spent the night here to celebrate our anniversary. We had fab room with an amazing bathroom (17). The atmosphere was very relaxed and the owners/staff were very eager to please. The food at dinner and breakfast was delicious and as it was included in the price, made the stay excellent value for money. We will definately have a return trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3smashers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in September this year for two nights and had a wonderful stay. I didn't tell my girlfriend what hotel we were staying in, just that it was in the lakes... she, like myself, was very impressed with the hotel and even more so with the room!

We stayed in room 7 and you're welcomed into the room by a nice bedroom, decent size and nicely decorated. Walking through the room into the bathroom and wow... the bathroom is just immense! A huge whirlpool/jacuzzi bath tub for relaxing with a glass of wine and an amazing walk in shower that I wish I could use every day!

The hotel itself was very elegant and the staff went out of their way to make your stay that extra bit special. I did read many reviews before choosing this hotel so was a little apprehensive on reading some poor reviews (in particular regarding the staff) but I can honestly say I had nothing to worry about. As mentioned previously we stayed for two nights so took advantage of the free 3 course dinner offer. The meal itself was nice but not mind-blowing, the mains tended to let it down, it just needed a bit more than a piece of meat on top of some veg, the starters and desserts were very tasty though. I would be a little disappointed to have gotten this meal for £35 each if paying normally. The breakfast was nice and adequate, again nothing unbelievable but good value considering it was included in the price.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again. Getting the two free evening meals included makes it good value for money, without it I would say it's a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Room 7 is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo83RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Applegarth Villa is beautiful. Perched at the top of Windermere, it looks and feels like a boutique hotel. The owners are welcoming and professional and make you feel at home.

The communal areas are beautifully furnished and everything about it has been done with care and attention to detail. From the stained-glass window to the flowers and furnishing.

We have stayed in Room 5 and Room 9 - both are sumptuous. Each room has a modern bathroom coupled with a beautiful bedrooms. The owners have taken their time to create one of the most elegant, yet comfortable boutique hotels in the Lake District.

On our next trip to Windermere, we will be staying at Applegarth. Without question.

Room Tip: Spoilt for choice. Which ever room you choose, you will tell your friends about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gallan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

What a lovely hotel and restaurant. Owners make you feel very welcome and room beautifull. Deff will be going back. Very goodlocation. Within walking distance for most places. Everything about the place is first class.

Room Tip: Room 2 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

we had 2 nights in the applegarth and it was beautiful, the decor is stunning and they are adding on extra rooms as we speak .
we had dinner there one night it was delicious and a lovely rioja wine.
would definately stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
24.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing