We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Hotel and Friendly Owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel and Friendly Owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Four of us stayed here for the Easter break, we booked it online and from arriving we had a very relaxing and pleasant stay! The accommodation was first class our room (17) was large, comfortable, beautifully decorated and very clean (in fact this applies to the whole hotel). Our bathroom was warm and inviting with a real treat of a TV to watch whilst luxuriating in a huge bath. The bed was comfortable with super soft sheets and plenty of pillows. We ate dinner each night in the hotel and the food was lovely with a good choice of wine and friendly serving staff. Although to be fair the hotel is so well situated you could easily walk to town for a selection of restaurants - it is just nice to eat, drink and be merry without stepping outside!. The hotel had lots of parking and we had no problems that others have sited. I thoroughly recommend if you are visiting the Windermere area or general Lakes then stay here!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
The relaxed atmosphere you describe is exactly what we try to achieve at Applegarth Villa. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your Easter break with us and hopefully you all went home refreshed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    106
    41
    22
    10
See reviews for
26
934
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

My wife and I spent four superb nights in room 2 (ultra luxury) from 27th March. The room itself, the hotel in general, the food and the service from the owners and staff alike were exemplary. To put this magnificent period building into context it has been skilfully crafted into quality accommodation that is family run with the support of efficient staff. If you are looking for a hotel with a concierge, 24 hour reception or a lift in place of a magnificent staircase lit by an glorius stained glass picture window you should reserve rooms elsewhere. If you are looking to eat beautifully presented food from a varied and interesting menu and relax in sumptuous surroundings with features such as a whirlpool bath, a steam room or luxurious bed then go to Applegarth Villa.

We particularly liked the friendly relaxed atmosphere which lacked any pretension. When time allowed the owners spent a little time talking about the area and their aspirations for the hotel which added to the personal and professional service.

We took advantage of the spa facilities that have been secured by Applegarth Villa at a hotel in Bowness for their guests and my wife thoroughly enjoyed the treatments she had. We went to Windermere to completely relax and re-charge our batteries; this additional facility in conjunction with the accommodation meant we did exactly that.

Will we be returning to Applegarth Villa in the future? Yes without doubt.

Room Tip: Room 2 was fantastic! The views across the village park and fells in the distance are worthy of cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you Dave and Suzanne for your great review. We hope you enjoyed your special birthday stay at Applegarth and hope to see you for many more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Travelled up to Windermere before Good Friday to experience the gorgeous rooms of the Applegarth hotel, the excellent restaurant and the facilities of the nearby gym and sauna. A warm welcome from suzanne and the cozy atmosphere of the hotel and room were first class. Enjoyed it so much we booked for xmas week.

Room Tip: We chose the ultimate room which exceeded our expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Look forward to your return visit for our Christmas celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

this is our second visit to the applegarth villa, the place/rooms and atmosphere are great if you want a relaxing break in the lake district.
we stayed in room 14 this time which has a 7 foot wide bed along with a double bath tub, the rooms are all large and designed by an interior designer and are finished to a very high standard.
the food once again is excellent and fantastic value if you book the room when the Dinner on the villa offer is on.
we will be booking again shortly for the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to your return visit in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We picked the Applegarth as we wanted a relaxing break in luxurious, comfortable surroundings. We were upgraded from a 'Deluxe' to a 'Luxury' room, which of course was very nice. Our room (4) was large, but very cold and didn't really warm up during our 2-night stay. It had been decorated nicely, in muted, understated shades, and at first glance the tiled bathroom was very modern and impressive. It was, unfortunately, all 'style over substance' - the sink was very low, just above knee-high, which meant you practically had to bend double to use it, and the shower didn't ever really get hot. There was no under floor heating or slippers provided, which meant the floor was absolutely freezing. We never really got warm at all in that room. Unfortunately the bed was so uncomfortable - it was terribly hard and we had 2 terrible nights' sleep and didn't really ever get comfortable at all during our stay. We did mention this to a lady when checking out and she said they had just received some padded mattress covers so I guess future guests could request these should hard beds not be to their taste. I just felt a little underwhelmed by the whole experience and felt that the luxury touch was not quite there - for example the toiletries in the bathroom were extremely disappointing, the tea tray was embarrassing with a terribly poor selection.....Obviously this didn't ruin our stay, but I personally feel that these touches are important and can make a subtle but important difference.

The building itself is absolutely beautiful, and it is in a good location. Breakfast was ok, but there wasn't a huge selection and everything is served to you rather than being able to help yourself to cold items/drinks, so it all felt a bit formal and stilted.

If you stayed here, it would be a safe bet as it is a nice place but, for me, it was just lacking that extra touch of comfort and luxury I was hoping for.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsHMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, the magnificence of the building and quality of the furnishings.
With regards to the temperature of the room and the shower, both are thermostatically controlled. One call to reception and a member of staff would have happily come to show you how they worked if you were having problems. We are disappointed that the bed was not to your liking. As I'm sure you will appreciate everyone has different preferences and again as with the room/shower temperature if you had only asked this could so easily have been resolved at the time making your stay more pleasurable.
Our toiletries are sourced locally with Green credentials but lack non of the luxury of usual brand names. Our refreshment trays include everything from bottled water to hot chocolate with most things in between. If there was anything further you required,a member of staff could have helped. Applegarth has a full working kitchen with numerous speciality teas, freshly baked biscuits etc etc
Moving on to breakfast. In our experience our Guests favour a more relaxed style breakfast and enjoy the luxury of waitress service rather than a self service/buffet style breakfast.
We very much hope to see you both in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

My partner and I stayed at Applegarth for a night.We booked Room 1 which is the ultra modern new suite that you can view on the web-site. There were some very good things about Applegarth, the room was wonderfully designed and the jacuzzi was fabulous. The "Steamroom" is essentially a large plastic shower unit, it does to be fair generate steam but it certainly isn't a 5 star experience. However, the Jacuzzi more than made up for the lack of steam. The view? Not amazing views of the Fells or Lake windermere, rather the top of next doors garage and a view into next doors kitchen.
The Food was good but not amazing, good portions, hot and some imagination thrown in. The wine list was poor. The best bottle in the house was Fleurie.
My biggest concern however was the poor service. We arrived to an empty reception area and found a bell to ring which after a minute led to us being greeted by the owner. It was quite apparent that the hotel had recently lost some of its staff and they were clearly stretched. This I can tolerate to a point however at 11.10pm,after struggling to get drinks through the night, we were sat enjoying drinks with another couple (our glasses still full) when we were TOLD that the the bar was now closed and the owner would like us to leave the bar....and do what exactly?? Well the only thing you can do is go to bed. I felt like a child being ordered to bed. It was like a scene out of a well known hotel comedy! We paid £290 for this "5 Star" experience (that was the cost of the room, which had to be paid up front before we arrived) and to say that I was disappointed is an understatement. Would I go again? What do you think?...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Squirrel111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Applegarth Villa. We are pleased you appreciated the quality of the room. The steam room was purchased for its performance and may not look quite as exquisite as the rest of the bathroom. On to the view. Applegarth is one of the few accommodation providers who actively encourage guests to choose their own room. We show many pictures of the rooms and include a full description. If you wanted a room with a view, may we suggest rooms 2,3,4,9,10 or 11. Room 1 is not sold as a room with a view although the room has four windows and the view over the garden is rather pretty.We make no excuses for our wine menu which is carefully compiled by Lakeland Vintners with over 50 wines and champagnes and our whisky menu of over 50 malts. Our wines are chosen for their quality and exceptional value. We are sorry that you felt that waiting a minute at reception was unacceptable. This does not mean we are understaffed only that at that particular moment our front of house staff where engaged with other guests. Applegarth creates a relaxed environment which possibly was not to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frizington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Me and my husband stayed here 27.2.13 for 1 night for my husbands burthday. We booked room 16 as it has a terrace and we smoke. The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was amazing (whirlpool bath & TV) , bathrobes and thick towels such a special touch. also Kettle with Tea & coffee and bottled water provided. It was spotlessly clean.The communal areas are full of original features. We had a three course meal 'On the villa' as part of a special offer, the food was amazing,,all 3 courses and my husband even at all of it, which I assure you is rarity.the quality of ingredients was evidient, breakfast didn't disappoint either The owners are very friendly and welcoming, i emailed them before hand to arrange a surprise cake & candles, they replied promptly and I got the feeling nothing would be too much trouble.we will definitely return again. You get what you pay for and Applegarth didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for placing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing