We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet again another excellent experience in this stunning high end hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Yet again another excellent experience in this stunning high end hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at Applegarth and we plan on doing so on at least an annual basis. It is a very pleasant location with excellent very well designed and appointed rooms. The owners of it are so very passionate about the rooms, food, wine and the location in the Lakes. How can you not want to return. Cannot recommend this enough as it is a genuine unique and very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 10 and 4 so far and can fully recommend them. We have actually been shown ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, see you next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    106
    41
    22
    10
See reviews for
26
934
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We went here for couple of nights 2nd and 3rd may2013 i must say it was fab , if you book this hotel pay the money to stay in room 1 it was just lovely. (very modern and lovely decor and very big room with living space all the mod cons. Staff were very helpfull and friendly We will be going again next year total lush ... (Only thing is you cant take kids but once you have been you will know why - LOVELY BREAK FOR A NICE RELAX)

Room Tip: The best Room to stay in is 1 SO SO nice x
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you Vicki for your comments. Although all of our rooms are individually interior designed, Val Dunn Interior Design really did exceed expectations with this one, so pleased you enjoyed the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at the Applegarth Villas over the bank holiday. On arrival we were given the key and directed to our room. On entering it be immediately apparent that despite the fact the room was advertised as a double Deluxe it was far from it. The bed (a normal double) fills the entire room, there are two chairs squeezed into the room facing away from the TV, the decor is dated and the carpet grubby. The bathroom is only suitable for single occupancy, two people cannot use this simultaneously, the sink is so small that washing your face renders the floor like an ice rink. There is no room for toiletries. There is no wardrobe or wardrobe space. We would only advise booking this room for a single person on an overnight stop, not a couple spending a weekend in the lakes. To make matters worse on registering our dissatisfaction with the manager we where 'sent to Coventry' for the remainder of our stay which made our evening meal experience awful. We were rushed out of the restaurant, being given our starter 5 minutes after we sat down and then the mains 5 minutes after that. Overall the Hotel is pleasant but NOT 5*, book somewhere else if you want to be made to feel at home and important as a customer.

Room Tip: Don't book the deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
I think we need to expand your heading "Do not book Room 15" and add "if you want a huge room with views and a walk in wet room with a spa bath!!" We have many of these rooms we also have some standard double rooms which according to the AA are of above average size, representing great value when you consider you have access to a bar and restaurant onsite and spa facilities nearby. All our rooms are furnished to the same high standard however do not look at our luxury rooms which are more expensive and then book a deluxe room which is cheaper and expect the same style of room. If you arrive on a bank holiday weekend and expect a free upgrade then it is not going to happen and would be offensive to those guests already staying with us who were prepared to spend a little more for some extra luxury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

This hotel is truly bouitique. The food is first class, wine excellent and the views amazing. it is great to stay some where run by really nice people. Well done and thank you for making the effort with us so we could have a really memorable time.

Room Tip: talk to the host and pick what suits you best. room 14 has a great bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elgarjenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for choosing Applegarth. so pleased you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed here in April and wouldn't have even made it into the hotel if other guests hadn't arrived as it wasn't overly clear where the entrance was. After paying over £400 as a birthday weekend away for my boyfriend I would not agree that this is a 5 * at all and we have stayed in much better hotels before including 3* for a fraction of the price. Although we did enjoy our stay it could have been better and we left feeling dissatisfied and disappointed.
1) When we checked in we weren't shown to our room or assisted with our cases - hardly 5* service.
2) We stayed in room 18 (basement room) and although it was decorated really nicely we soon noticed that it hadn't had a good clean for quite some time as there was dust on the furniture and the BROKEN Ipod dock looked like it had been there for years will all the dust it had gathered. We also noticed a cobweb in the top corner of the shower and there wasn't a soap dish so the soap slime ended up all over the place when you had used it once. Although we had a lovely double ended bath we couldn't get the plug out as there wasn't a chain on it. We had to source a pen to dig it out and I lost a nail in the process. We also found a completed comments slip with a previous guests full details on (name, address, tel no & email) in the room. Whilst relaxing on the bed people walked past the window and could see in quite clearly after this we closed the blind so unless we had the light on the room was in darkness.
3) On our first night we asked to make a dinner reservation and we were told that there was no availability after 8pm as there was a booking for 10 - however we were in the restaurant until 9pm and the booking of 10 never appeared - there was also a lot of empty tables whilst we were in there.
4) The restaurant was unbearable as it was like eating in a Sauna I ended up leaving most of my meal as I was just too hot to eat.
5) The table didn't have any water or napkins on it.
6) I had "button" mushrooms for starter however they were just normal mushrooms (although it was a lovely starter and I did really enjoy it).
7) The main courses were average and not what I would expect a 5* to be serving and also not up to standard very average.
8) We went back to the room to relax however we could hear the TV from room 19 so didn't need to bother with ours for a while. We can confirm that the other review on here referring to a herd of elephants upstairs is genuine as we had the same problem - VERY noisy and disturbing as it carries on well into the evening.
9) Breakfast is restricted between 8:30-9:30 and isn't a great way to start the day unless you appreciate cold coffee, cold burnt toast, overcooked egg and burnt sausage. Yet again to say this is a 5* no separate sugar spoon, sachet sauces on the table and poor service - we had to ask for our toast twice and then it wasn't what we ordered. Another couple complained their toast and coffee was cold and the waitress wasn't apologetic or polite with them at all and was quite rude in the way she snatched it off their table - we didn't think it would be worth raising the same issue.
10) We requested to book dinner again for the second evening and asked for 8 however we were told the latest we could have was 7:30 as they were fully booked... However it was over half empty and no one appeared AGAIN at 8 or after!!
11) When we went to the bar to order dinner we were asked if we would like wine, we asked for the list and then no one came back to take our order.
12) With breakfast on our second morning my fried bread just disintegrated when I tried to cut it, cold coffee and cold toast again.

To say dinner and drinks was £145 on top of our £400 spend on the room I can say 100% it was not worth the money and I would recommend staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Not a basement room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harric88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We were here for a 3 night stay for our Honeymoon. What a fabulous hotel, we could not fault at all. Alan, Suzanne and family really made us feel at home and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The decor and attention to detail in each room cannot be faulted, it has been done to a very high spec.

From looking at the last couple of comments on here I am surprised to read anything negative. We have already said we will be coming back for our Anniversary and were really disappointed to be leaving.

Thanks again and see you soon
Mr&Mrs Gilbert

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyGHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a night stay at the Applegarth for our third wedding anniversary. From the minute we walked into the hotel it was stunning, we got our keys and went up to room 7. The bedroom was spotlessly clean and impressive and the bathroom was the main feature with the double Jacuzzi bath and the walk in shower.
We took advantage of the "dine on the villa" which included evening meal and breakfast. The evening meal was excellent and the service was top class the owners of the hotel always checking you was ok and that everything was fine.
After the meal we retired into the bar area where we had a good chat with the owner mainly regarding different whisky's ect which we obviously had to try lol/
Overall this was a great place to visit and I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennandEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing