We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

My husband booked us into this hotel for a two night stay from the 27th to 29th May to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed in room 9. It is an amazing room with a gorgeous four poster bed and massive bathroom. We had dinner both nights and thoroughly enjoyed everything we ate! Great central location with a lovely 'rustic' theme. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely go back. Thanks Applegarth Villa!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
So pleased you enjoyed celebrating your wedding anniversary with us. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    106
    41
    22
    10
See reviews for
26
934
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Went to the applegarth on a special deal
And we where not disappointed from the moment we arrived till the moment we left everything was first class.the hotel was beautiful the food was first class and let's not forget our hosts superb we will be back soon
Thanks for a great stay fantastic

Room Tip: Room 4 lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is often a suprise to guests that we have such lovely views to the rear of the building with a fabulous terrace for pre dinner drinks yet step out of our front door and you are a stones throw away from the heart of Windermere Village. We are very lucky to enjoy such a great location
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

This hotel came highly recommended by friends... we weren't disappointed. We had room 17 which was fabulous, attention to detail was second to none. The food in the restaurant was first class as was the care and attention of the owners, their family and staff. Will be going back without a doubt. Thank you Applegarth for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lLevidoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I have just spent a 2 night weekend break at the family run Applegarth Villa.The hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard.Our room was beautiful and had a very comfortable contemporary feel to it. We were well looked after by the owners, Kevin and Michelle, who were friendly and personable.We ate in the hotel and the food and service was excellent. The coconut creme brûlée is highly recommended, its a must... delicious!!!Although this hotel does not have any spa facilities, Applegarth have arranged for their guests to use the facilities at the Old England Hotel which is in Bowness. It is quite a walk away but it is down hill and it was good to walk of the hearty breakfast that we had eaten.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. Hopefully if everything goes to plan on your next visit Applegarth may have its own private Spa on site so it won't be so easy to work off your "hearty" breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Just returned (May 2013) from a long weekend at the Applegarth Villa. If you want a quiet stay in a small hotel, look no further, Applegarth Villa has it all! Fabulous individually designed rooms, gorgeous food and excellent all round personal service. The website shows it exactly as it is, you will not be disappointed in any way. Would highly recommend the Applegarth Villa.

Wendy (Wirral)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyFu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Applegarth Villa is such a magnificent Victorian Villa with so much history it really is a relaxing place to be especially with its own onsite bar and restaurant. We are really pleased your break was just what you were looking for
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We have just returned from another fabulous break at The Applegarth. We have stayed here at least 7 or 8 times now and the hotel has never failed to provide a delightful holiday break.
We have always found the staff to be exceptionally helpful and a special thanks to Kevin and Michelle who made us most welcome during our recent visit and upon reflection probably the most enjoyable of all our visits - thanks - you really made it a lovely break.The food was superb, as ever and the meal deal with evening dinner is excellent value for money.The shower/bath facilities in room 14 are absolutely awesome! Another thoroughly relaxing break and we will be back again hopefully soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveW777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review, as always, it was great to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Having just returned from another weekend break at Applegarth Villa, I felt it imperative I add my name to the list of endorsements for this fabulous hotel and restaurant.

Applegarth Villa is a charming family run establishment in the heart of Windermere town. Its beautiful Victorian façade and antique charm conceal a modern 5 star hotel which is the ultimate in luxury accommodation.

On arrival we were greeted by Kevin and Michelle from whom we received the warmest of welcomes and were instantly made to feel like old friends visiting, rather than mere returning guests. We received much the same reception from all the staff who were friendly and accommodating at all times.

This being our fourth stay we can bear witness to the fact that Applegarth Villa has undergone in recent years, an extensive refurbishment programme by Suzanne, Alan, Michelle and Kevin and each of their impressive rooms have been individually designed to the highest of standards and all are spotlessly clean.

We stayed in room 1 which I can only describe as exquisite. It is actually a suite with a huge bedroom area (to accommodate the largest bed ever seen) and an enormous lounge with bi-folding doors leading onto a balcony with patio furniture. The 55 inch television and comfy sofa meant that my other half could watch this weekends’ football tournament in comfort and style. The ultra modern bathroom was three times the size of my own bathroom at home, with steam shower unit and spa-bath large enough to accommodate aforesaid football teams. No attention to detail has been spared with this room, the lighting, soft furnishings, fixtures and fittings - everything screams quality. Ooh, did I mention the under floor heating…heaven.

We ate in the hotel’s restaurant on both evenings and it must be said, the food is exceptional - the chocolate cheesecake is “oh my god” to die for! Duncan and the rest of the waiting staff were attentive and made us feel like no request would be too much trouble.

I have only one criticism of this weekend and that is…it wasn’t long enough! We are already making plans to return in the winter and I cannot wait. If you’re looking for a break in The Lakes I would encourage you to book Applegarth Villa - you will not be disappointed and, like us, you will not want to leave.

Thanks again guys, for everything xxx

Tracey & Ian Beech

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you so much, see you later in the year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing