We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Short stay with last minute booking all sorted quickly and efficiently. The website is really good, because you can view the rooms individually. One of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. The hotel is a Victorian property, which has been cleverly and carefully refurbished to keep original features blended in with modern luxuries. The room we were in was spotlessly clean, comfortable and had been beautifully decorated and fitted out, with a top of the range bathroom. The views to the rear of the hotel are fantastic and eating dinner in the lovely restaurant whilst watching the sun set over the Langdale Fells is a bit special!

The location in the centre of town (but down a quiter side street) is perfect for pottering around Windermere or going off to explore the beautiful lakes.

The owners Alan and Suzanne are friendly and attentive and make sure your stay is perfect. The food is excellent and good value and it's worth dining there even if you are not staying in the hotel.

A great short break and highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Look forward to seeing you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,053 - 1,059 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at Applegarth for a few days away from our children. The room was very pretty, the breakfast was a very lovely and traditional English breakfast, and the evening meals were delicious! I also really liked the décor, and the owners were very sweet. Two other bonuses - no children allowed meant we could eat in utter peace. Fantastic! And, we were able to get a free pass into a spa in Windermere. The spa was quite lovely, although it was somewhat tricky to get to. It was really more out of the way than we'd have liked. One negative was we were used to having at least a fan or something that could control the temperature in the room. While we were there, it was quite warm. Leaving the window open caused us to hear all kinds of birds. Lovely, but not really sleep-inspiring. Also, for the price, we were not as impressed as I had hoped to be. We very likely will not be returning to stay, but it was certainly a nice stop over for the one time.

Room Tip: The Superior suites were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karibee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

So pleased you enjoyed dining with us and thank you for your kind comments. We were sorry to hear you found the Spa difficult to find. Although the Spa is a 3 minute drive away or a 20 minute stroll it is by far the best in the area and we are delighted to have been invited to join enabling our Guests to enjoy the luxury facilities on offer. Knowing you come from America where air conditioning comes as standard we have to admit that it is a very rare occurance in the Lake Distirict where a fan or air conditioning becomes necessary. If you had felt your room was a little warm and the bird song annoying I'm sure we could have done something to help if you had only asked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My husband booked us into this hotel for a two night stay from the 27th to 29th May to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed in room 9. It is an amazing room with a gorgeous four poster bed and massive bathroom. We had dinner both nights and thoroughly enjoyed everything we ate! Great central location with a lovely 'rustic' theme. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely go back. Thanks Applegarth Villa!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

So pleased you enjoyed celebrating your wedding anniversary with us. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Went to the applegarth on a special deal
And we where not disappointed from the moment we arrived till the moment we left everything was first class.the hotel was beautiful the food was first class and let's not forget our hosts superb we will be back soon
Thanks for a great stay fantastic

Room Tip: Room 4 lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is often a suprise to guests that we have such lovely views to the rear of the building with a fabulous terrace for pre dinner drinks yet step out of our front door and you are a stones throw away from the heart of Windermere Village. We are very lucky to enjoy such a great location

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This hotel came highly recommended by friends... we weren't disappointed. We had room 17 which was fabulous, attention to detail was second to none. The food in the restaurant was first class as was the care and attention of the owners, their family and staff. Will be going back without a doubt. Thank you Applegarth for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lLevidoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Delighted you enjoyed your stay, see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I have just spent a 2 night weekend break at the family run Applegarth Villa.The hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard.Our room was beautiful and had a very comfortable contemporary feel to it. We were well looked after by the owners, Kevin and Michelle, who were friendly and personable.We ate in the hotel and the food and service was excellent. The coconut creme brûlée is highly recommended, its a must... delicious!!!Although this hotel does not have any spa facilities, Applegarth have arranged for their guests to use the facilities at the Old England Hotel which is in Bowness. It is quite a walk away but it is down hill and it was good to walk of the hearty breakfast that we had eaten.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. Hopefully if everything goes to plan on your next visit Applegarth may have its own private Spa on site so it won't be so easy to work off your "hearty" breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Just returned (May 2013) from a long weekend at the Applegarth Villa. If you want a quiet stay in a small hotel, look no further, Applegarth Villa has it all! Fabulous individually designed rooms, gorgeous food and excellent all round personal service. The website shows it exactly as it is, you will not be disappointed in any way. Would highly recommend the Applegarth Villa.

Wendy (Wirral)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyFu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Applegarth Villa is such a magnificent Victorian Villa with so much history it really is a relaxing place to be especially with its own onsite bar and restaurant. We are really pleased your break was just what you were looking for

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,413 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,207 reviews
20.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £139 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing