We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at the Applegarth in July for 3 nights and had an amazing time. The room was beautiful and the bathroom was massive. We dined at the hotel one evening which was superb and every morning we had a lovely breakfast, scrambled eggs with salmon was my favourite! It is about a 20 minute walk down to the lake with a good choice of restaurants/pubs, we were so lucky with the weather and found a nice hotel with seating outside, ciders went down a treat. It was nice to come and relax on the terrace each evening with wine, very romantic. Staff were lovely and helpful. If down again I would defo stay at the Applegarth.

Room Tip: We had the four poster, beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your room. I'm sure you will agree it really does have some fabulous views considering we are situated in the very heart of the village and we are pleased you were able to relax and enjoy the fabulous weather whilst enjoying a drink on our terrace, a great place to watch the sunset over the lakeland fells. If you book direct next time then you can actually choose your own room and enjoy the "Free dinner on the Villa" offer which is proving very popular
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    115
    43
    23
    13
See reviews for
29
999
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a luxurious decorated hotel in a quiet location within walking distance from the train station. The room was very pretty, and the spa was quite lovely. The owners are friendly and the food is excellent and good value. We only stayed for one night, we will stay for longer next time. If you wish to be spoilt with wonderful rooms, excellent service and fabulous food this is the place to go.

 我們從Glasgow出發的火車delay了,幸好Applegarth Villa在距離車站不到十分鐘的路程
 我們check in 的時間比預期的晚了許多,到達飯店時已經不早了,但飯店的主人仍然非常親切熱情的招呼我們,我們的房間被安排在二樓,女主人非常細心的觀察到我們的行李很多,也主動詢問我們是否需要協助把行李搬上二樓的客房,非常的貼心
 房間內部跟飯店大廳一樣裝潢典雅,尤其是浴室的大浴缸非常舒適,一解旅途中的疲勞,早餐是套餐,也相當美味
 可惜這趟行程只安排一天在湖區,下次再來,Applegarth Villa還會是我的第一選擇!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siena1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Next time you're in the UK we would love to see you again, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at the applegarth last September for my wife's birthday, we had a lovely time hear the breakfast was great each morning, the room was very nice with modern furniture. I would definitely recommend this stunning hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for your kind review. As always with Applegarth so much will have changed since your last visit so maybe we may see you again this September
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We spent two very relaxing nights in this luxurious hotel. Our room was decorated to a very high standard as was the rest of the hotel. The Spa bath in our room was a very relaxing plus point. The food was very good for both breakfast and evening meal and we would certainly recommend to eat here even if you don't stay. Our hosts Alan and Suzanne were very welcoming and friendly which added to the whole experience. We will most certainly be going back here. Darren and Dawn

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiggy_Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you especially liked your bedroom wallpaper! As you requested, Val, our Interior designer will email details of where to source the paper so you can have a little reminder of Applegarth in your home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Although this hotel is situated in the heart of Windermere it feels a million miles away from the outside hustle and bustle.
If you wish to be spoilt with wonderful rooms, excellent service and fabulous food this is the place to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HamptonJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review it says everything that we could possibly wish to hear, once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Spent a nights stay at this wonderful hotel , lovely room
staff and the meal in the restaurant was delightful. A must stay hotel for a special occasion .We shall be back for an extended stay soon .The Lake District is so beautiful all year round even in the rain .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasider333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We don't actually have rain in the Lake District just liquid sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

What a marvellous place! We needed to get away to recharge our batteries and we certainly did. Excellent food at breakfast and dinner, well constructed wine list and interesting whisky menu. Ideally located for any type of lakes holiday you need. The spa bath was just the job after a hard days walking, and at the tender age of 52 I have discovered the delights of Eggs Benedict. Superb. We can't wait until the expansion plans come to fruition.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sure you will be delighted to know that the new extended whisky menu and wine list have arrived this morning so if you needed an excuse for a return visit that could be it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,363 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,166 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing