We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE THIS PLACE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I honestly don't know where to start, I'm not going to give you the long boring blow by blow account of our holiday. All I can say is......
Applegarth villa is THE best hotel We have ever stayed in (and we have traveled A LOT)!
Suzanne and Alan are THE best hosts and bent over backwards to accommodate us and make sure our holiday was amazing!
The food in the restaurant was AMAZING (I literally could've eaten my body weight in the canapés alone!)
GREAT location, a very short walk to Windermere high street.
The chambermaids and hotel staff were all so very, very polite and friendly.
I cannot think of 1 bad thing to say about our experience at the applegarth other than we had to leave at the end of our holiday.
Thank you so much to Suzanne and Alan. We will DEFINITELY be back! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaterialGirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to your return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,186)
There are newer reviews for Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

992 - 998 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Having just returned from our stay at the Applegarth we had to say what a wonderful time we had at your hotel. The staff were welcoming and friendly. Suzanne was excellent at shoe shop directions. Bar was well stocked and your rose wine went down well. We stayed in room 16 and was impressed with it couldnt fault anything about it. The evening meal was served in a relaxed atmosphere nothing was rushed and watching the sun set over the hills whilst sat in the resturant was lovely. We will definitely be returning next year am working on having the ultimate luxury room for next stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amycol456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased you agree that Gina Ricci shoe sale was definitely worth a visit . I hope you are stilll delighted with your purchases. I'm also pretty good at handbag and clothes shop directions!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I booked Applegarth Villa for a nice getaway so I could propose to my girlfriend....I'm glad I did!!! This place is just absolutely stunning from top to bottom. The service from all the staff is second to none and they will bend over backwards to help (including making sure a nice bouquet of flowers placed in the room for a surprise). We stayed in Room 7 which was just amazing, with a walk in shower and a whirlpool jacuzzi which was used to good effect to relax into the getaway. Table was booked in the restaurant for 2000 hrs, when we arrived we were given canapés and asked to have a leisurely drink in the very nice bar area before ordering our food and then being shown to our table just as the starter arrived. Didn't feel rushed and was all in all a thoroughly relaxing experience.....plus the food was just brilliant. If you want a stunning time away to go and pamper and indulge, whether it be one night or a week then this is the place to go. In the heart of windermere and a stones throw from the train station, perfect for every occasion. Big thanks to Kevin and the team.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7 which was stunning, everybody we listened to were raving about their rooms, so I...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanison13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Manager at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for choosing Applegarth for such a very special occasion. Congratulations to you both. Would you believe we had six proposals in one weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We visited Windermere for the first time and stayed at Applegarth for three nights. We found exactly what we were looking for. The delightful mix of a traditional property with modern amenities. To add to the beauty and upkeep of the property, the owners Alan and Suzanne are lovely hosts and ensure your comfort and make sure you leave smiling. The location is perfect and is a five minute walk to the railway station. All the cabs know of the hotel which makes it easy to get back from pretty much anywhere. If you're looking for a peaceful get away and a trip to Lake District, make sure you stay at Applegarth. We would definitely stay with them in the future.

Room Tip: A couple of rooms are a bit small so make sure you check which room you're getting.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikaashh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. As you rightly say we have some enormous suites, some large rooms to average size deluxe rooms but this is reflected in the tariff offering everyone the opportunity to stay in such a beautiful building in an ideal location at a tariff to suit everyones budget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel was booked as a birthday present from my partner and because neither of us had visited the Lake District before.

She originally chose Room 16 but was asked (prior to our arrival) to change because that room was booked but didn't show on their online booking system so she chose Room 17.

The gentleman that booked us in we found a little brusque.

"Bar is only open to 11.00 and no later and doors are locked at 12.00"!

We haven't visited a hotel where you need to have a key to let yourself in after midnight for many years or indeed a bar that closes to residents at 11pm.

On entering the room there was a distinct smell of damp, not overpowering but lingering. It was then obvious that we were in the basement, had we have known this room was located here we certainly wouldn't have chosen it. It was very dark and because anyone sitting on the decking could see in the blinds had to be kept shut all the time hence making the room darker!

The room was beautifully furnished and very clean - so why when spending that kind of money do you leave plastic glasses in the room?

It also became very clear from about 7pm that we were right underneath the restaurant, which meant it sounded like herds of elephants above us (which has been mentioned by previous reviewers) with the sound of scraping chairs thrown in for good measure. Soundproofing is essential for this room or indeed the addition of a carpet in the restaurant rather than the wooden flooring which i am sure magnified the noise.

The bathroom again beautifully kitted out and very clean but so small. I am not tall but sitting on the toilet is a challenge!

Loved the spa bath with the TV but a separate shower is a must. Whilst the spa bath had a shower plate above it was difficult to shower for my partner who did not wish to get her hair wet. A separate hand shower as well as the plate would have been beneficial.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

To many people room 17 is their favourite room, this week alone one couple have got engaged and another extended their stay. As another reviewer has mentioned they could hear some movement occasionally but it did not in anyway spoil their stay and with 40 plus people in the building you may occasionally hear something wherever you are.
Having a duty of care to our Guests plastic tumblers do become a necessity in the bedrooms and fully tiled bathroom. However having a fully stocked bar, if this had been an issue to you we could have offered you a glass for every occasion! As you rightly say we do close the bar at 11.30pm and by that time our Guests who have enjoyed a wonderful day in the fresh air of the Lake DIstrict, wined and dined are usually tucked up in the comfort of their rooms. Applegarth does not seem to attract late night revellers but if that is what you require we will be only to happy to direct you to a couple of late bars close by.
Unfortunately your disappointment does seem to have begun long before your arrival at Applegarth possibly when the room you originally requested was let prior to your online provisional reservation arriving with us. Our staff and Manager tried very hard to turn the situation around but unfortunately in this instance it was not to be.Thank you so much for trying Applegarth and hopefully you may find somewhere more suitable to your requirements on your next visit to the Lakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfect. Food is fantastic and the room was amazing. Only issue was the spa is 2 miles away and the polish girl working there didn't explain the menu very clearly. If you stay more than 2 nights you get meals added in, it's hard to know what you get unless they explain the menu, after asking 10 questions I felt like I was inconveniencing her, really frustration. All the other staff were great.

Will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

So pleased you considered Applegarth to be perfect. As you rightly say the Spa is off site but just 1 mile away. Hopefully in the near future we will have our own pool on site which will be a benefit to our Guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for one evening, as we had booked a trip on Windermere. As we only stayed for one evening, it is difficult to give too much detail- but the room was lovely and clean, bed was comfortable and breakfast was relaxed and enjoyable. we had a room downstairs- so didn't have any view from our window: which was a shame- as I would have preferred to be upstairs... so watch out if you want a view/ lots of light in your room.

Other than that- I would come back again based on our experience, but would probably try one of the other highly recommended hotels in the area.

We have children, but having left them at home, it was nice to be in a hotel where it was adults only... so appreciated this element of the hotel policy.

Location was convenient for walking around town,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasper33Rosie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Understated elegance is such a lovely way to describe Applegarth, thank you. We do encourage all our Guests to book direct then they can choose exactly what they want from their room be it view, spa bath, Tv in bathroom, walk in rain shower etc etc Our website shows all our rooms individually and gives a full description and photographs of each so if its views you want we have plenty of them

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,388 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,186 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,019 reviews
20.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £134 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing