We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Zakynthos, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We recently had the very good fortune to eat a meal at the very fine restaurant which was fantastic. After trolling through the endless reviews on all the websites I finally chose the Applegarth Villa for a treat for my husband's birthday and what a meal it was, and the services was impeccable too. We shall next time try the hotel rooms too. Thanks again.

Room Tip: The food is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Head Chef, John Kelly and his team thank you so much for your kind comments and are delighted you enjoyed dining with us. For the convenience of Diners with dietary requirements such as Vegetarians, Celiacs and Dairy free, Chef has coded all dishes therefore creating a relaxed dining experience for all with the emphasis on local and seasonal produce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    110
    43
    22
    11
See reviews for
27
952
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Applegarth for 3 nights while visiting from Australia,and we were so glad we did ,Our stay was PERFECT,this villa has everything to offer, excellent service ,beautiful accommodation, with rooms that look like they are out of the best magazines and the very very best food.Suzanne and Alan your are to be complimented on your detail to perfection in all areas.We felt so at home but with the added feeling of being treated as royals.We stayed in room 1 and was so impressed with the decor and that shower and spa WOW!!!! Again thank you for a wonderful 3 days, we will always remember your excellent hospitality .

Room Tip: room 1 has the best shower and large 2 person spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonney2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. If your ever in Engand again we hope you will come and see us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Beautiful rooms, lovely decor and bags of space. Plenty of car park room too. The food was excellent with lovely touches like canapés in the bar before dinner. Wonderful steak and smoked Venison. Excellent eggs Benedict for breakfast, better than the omelette which was a bit more like scrambled egg. Would stay again and recommend to anyone who is looking for a guest house with a bit of class where you're pretty much guaranteed to have your stay run smoothly

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about our rooms and restaurant although I will be testing Chefs omelette in the morning!!! You do make a very good point that in this area where parking is such a premium we are so lucky to have such a large secure floodlit carpark with CCTV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We first stayed here a year ago, was not our choice but a gift from my dad for our honeymoon a very pleasant surprise! we stayed in luxury room 7 and i have nothing but good to say, spotless, comfortable, spacious and very luxury that bath with mood lighting is amazing!! nothing could top it off!!.............until we went back this weekend.

For our 1st wedding anniversary we decided we had such a good time we wanted to return so we booked ultimate luxury suite 1 and we have had the most amazing time ever. Honestly we was a little worried that when we got there it would not meet our expectation, being a bit pricey but WOW worth every single penny if you are celebrating a special occasion. the suite is HUGE and so relaxing from the whirlpool bath with a t.v built into the wall opposite, to the steam room and then relaxing outside on the private terrace.

The food in the restaurant is out of this world and if the rooms at Applegarth are out of your budget but you are in windermere defiantly visit the restaurant, non residents are welcome and the restaurant is a hidden gem!.

As much as we enjoyed our room and our food, you are made to feel so welcome at Applegarth we had only been once but when checking in Alan recognized us and instantly made us feel welcomed again. We only got back today and are already planning our next visit and we hope to celebrate our wedding anniversary there next year!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hodgey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for an amazing review,you are very kind. We'll see what we can do for your second anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for the first time. We found out about it in the Conde Johansens small hotel guide which we have found to be a reliable reference. We checked the hotel web site which was very user friendly and we made our reservation. We chose room 19 which was located down the stairs from reception. This double room was fine with an attractive ensuite bathroom. The only slight down side was that this room was located directly below the bar so you could hear some movements from above occasionally. This however was only a slight distraction and did not spoil our stay. The staff were attentive and friendly. The food was first rate with well prepared local produce on offer. The menu had good variety and we both looked forward to dinner in the evening. The hotel is located very close to the high street in Windermere which makes the town very accessible on foot. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and we will most likely stay again in future. We can confidently recommend this hotel. Enjoy.

Room Tip: The rooms are all shown in the hotel web site which is a very useful reference for room selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.Our Head Chef and team work hard to prepare the finest quality local produce they can find in the area and are alway delighted when their hard work is appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed last weekend for our anniversary....it was an offer so we didnt know which room we would have..we were in 15, which was ok..plus side the bed was superb..down side the bathroom was far to cramped...the sink was tiny and to be honest it was difficult to even shave in it...the toilet was positioned to close to the sink/vanity unit so for a tall man it would be a struggle...the full english breakfast was excellant , the eggs benedict were average.overal breakfast was as u would expect.
Didnt use the bar but it looked cosy and relaxing...if we stayed again would choose different room. To sum up the Applegarth is a very nice place despite my little gripe about the bathroom.

Room Tip: Avoid room 15 because of the inadequate sink..for me it lets it down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments. Here at Applegarth we have four types of room from the deluxe room that you chose to the superior, luxury and then ultimate luxury. This offers our Guests the luxury of experiencing 5* furnishings, onsite bar and restaurant , large floodlit carpark with CCTV and off site luxury spa facilities whatever their budget. For the best offers and the opportunity to choose your own room its always best to book direct. We very much hope to see you both again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I honestly don't know where to start, I'm not going to give you the long boring blow by blow account of our holiday. All I can say is......
Applegarth villa is THE best hotel We have ever stayed in (and we have traveled A LOT)!
Suzanne and Alan are THE best hosts and bent over backwards to accommodate us and make sure our holiday was amazing!
The food in the restaurant was AMAZING (I literally could've eaten my body weight in the canapés alone!)
GREAT location, a very short walk to Windermere high street.
The chambermaids and hotel staff were all so very, very polite and friendly.
I cannot think of 1 bad thing to say about our experience at the applegarth other than we had to leave at the end of our holiday.
Thank you so much to Suzanne and Alan. We will DEFINITELY be back! :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaterialGirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing