We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the wait!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

With the busy life my husband and I lead our one night away was perfect. The hotel was a last minute booking and from the first phone call my husband couldn't wait to get there. We stayed in Room one and it was stunning. Beautifully set out, bathroom was a dream. I could of slept in the bath. The bed was huge and comfy. The outdoor terrace was lovely. Have to say was blessed with the weather but sat with cup of tea in hand watching a hot air balloon over the mist from the lake was idyllic. We ate both our evening meal and breakfast at the hotel and the food and service was excellent. I am a self confessed very picky eater and nothing was too much trouble every plate went back clean. As for the staff they were all lovely. Very attentive and ever so helpful. I like many others have stayed in some world famous hotels but Applegarth Villa is up there with the best of them. Can't wait to go back and wouldn't even bother looking at other hotels in the area. Would recommend to anyone! Thank you to the staff for making our stay so welcoming and relaxing. Didn't see Eduardo on our walk maybe next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

We would be delighted to be your retreat for when you need a well earned break and somewhere to recharge your batteries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just arrived home after our Aug bank holiday visit to Applegarth Villa & were so glad we did they were just as welcoming as the first time.We booked Luxury Room 7 as we stayed there on our first visit it was still as lovely as ever.The bedroom is lovely & cosy furnished well has hairdryer ironingboard &iron so no need to over pack.The bathroom is every womans dream total luxury fantastic Spa bath built into bay window just as the photos show on the website.Food was great too plenty of choice Baileys Cheesecake a must. Breakfast just what you need to start the day plenty of choice there too.The staff are very welcoming & nothing a problem for them just ask & they will help.With so much choice in the way of rooms you could go back over&over to try them all & we lookforward to another return to see the new addition with swimming pool next year! Have just read a very negative review of this room & have to say Ive been to 4&5 star hotels all over the world that sometimes don't meet the standard of Applegarth but for a honeymoon if this room didn't meet your needs maybe you should have booked another hotel full of beer swilling rebels instead of a relaxing romantic top rated Guest house!!! I say to anyone reading this you will be missing a real gem of a place to stay.See you again soon & Steve loves the mint imperials haha

Room Tip: Look at all rooms as each is individually designed & chose to suit your taste
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

It was lovely to welcome you back and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Fingers crossed the new onsite spa and suites will be up and running for your next visit. See if we can get you out of room 7!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Booked 'Luxury' Room 7 as a honeymoon trip. The bathroom was nice, but the bedroom was extremely small, without much furniture/luxury/features etc. and certainly not worth the money paid for it. The photos online are quite misleading - would certainly not refer to the room as 'luxury', more a standard room that you would get at a
reasonable hotel.

Customer Service wad very poor, we certainly were not made to feel like we were staying in a so called 5 star hotel. The general feeling was that they were just happy to be taking your money.

Had meals in the hotel - the food on 1st night was not to a good standard, and tasted as if it was out of a packet, rather than freshly cooked (avoid the 'venison' and the 'parfait', also the inedible poor 'rhubard trifle' - you have been warned). Breakfast was very small, and average. One sausage, one piece of bacon and some over cooked mushrooms. Our advice,save the money and eat out, theres loads of good restaurants in Bowness. The restaurant and bar also completely lack any kind of atmosphere, it was like dining in a morgue.

We have stayed many times at the Lakes, sometimes in expensive hotels, other times in standard B&B's, but Applegarth is the worst have been to. Applegarth are trying to be something that they are not, and for the money they are charging at least one would expect a half decent attitude and customer service. We planned a luxury weekend away as a honeymoon trip, but were left extremely disappointed, and extremely annoyed at the service (or complete lack of).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Your review is so disappointing as when departing you said you had enjoyed your stay and actually asked for a late check-out. The vitriol only seems to have begun when two weeks later we were unable to locate a bikini that you believed you may have left in the bathroom.
After exhaustive attempts, first checking our lost property (we do have a documented procedure for handling lost items as everything from diamond engagement rings to the lonely holey sock have been found) and posted back to the rightful owner to telephoning the Off site Spa then the Laundry but to no avail.
Trip Advisor have actually removed your first review as your comments violated their guidelines. We've never known them do that before, so we feel it would be inappropriate for us to comment any further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I was lucky enough to stay in the Ultimate Luxury Suite 1 in February 13. I booked the room at the last moment as a short stay.

The hotel is excellent and easy to find (so is the entrance!!!). OK, the location is not the most picturesque in the lakes but that is more than made up for by the interior and décor of the hotel.

The room was very clean, tidy and furnished to the vey highest of standards. As previously mentioned, the suite doesn't have the perfect view of the lakes, but it really isn't a problem at all, they view of the garden was great. Besides, you don't buy a car for the view outside do you?!!!

The bathroom was outstanding. The steam room / shower was of a very high class and it would be the feature of any private house that had one, but it was overshadowed by the rest of the luxurious bathroom.

The bed was huge and very comfy. I'm 6ft 3 and almost needed ladder to get into it!!!

The restaurant was excellent and choice of food and drink was vast.

I didn't use the fitness centre / pool as they are both situated a short distance off site, but I wasn't there for using the gym.

I would love to go back again soon, we both enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: I cannot fault the Ultimate Luxury Suite 1, the clue is in the name.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goshow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have just returned home from a three night stay at the Applegarth Villa. I can honestly say it has left us wanting to return for more!
We stayed dinner bed and breakfast and all three were truly exceptional.
From the staff to the fillet steak, the eggs Benedict to the views of the fells there is nothing that we could fault.
We stayed in luxury room 11 and its décor was tasteful and relaxing.
Thankyou Alan, Suzanne & staff our mini honeymoon was perfect!
Katy & Andy Winfield

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katy815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Congratulations to you both and thank you for choosing Applegarth for your mini moon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We visited the restaurant on our last night and the food was amazing! The atmosphere is lovely and the staff are friendly and helpful. The food was top quality and we would recommend it to everyone! The puddings are wonderful and we would recommend the sticky toffee pudding and baileys cheesecake!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank PeterSkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

I will pass on your lovely comments to Chef and his team, I know they will be delighted to receive them. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had a great couple of days in the Applegarth villa & hotel, the rooms were all done up to a great standard and the bath was to die for, meals were all cooked to perfection and the service was second to none, Alan & Suzanne were great hosts so welcoming and friendly, we would highly recommend coming to Windermere and staying at the Applegarth Villa & hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words they are much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,449 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
368 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £139 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing