We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm & welcoming hotel,excellent room,food & staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very warm & welcoming hotel,excellent room,food & staff.”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Booked a Friday/Sat break and was really impressed and looked after very well the room was very well designed and very comfortable,you are not pestered and feel like you can relax and know that when you need anything someone is on hand in our case Kevin (: lovely guy who made us feel relaxed and welcome! will definitely be returning and would recommend this hotel without hesitation. Billy & Jo

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Kevin always enjoys a mention so you've made his day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    111
    43
    22
    11
See reviews for
28
963
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I was fortunate enough to spend a romantic weekend up in the lakes towards the back end of October in Windermere with my girlfriend of some years. On arrival I was greeted by the proprietor who gave us a mini tour of the hotel and guided us to our room which was very well furnished and very comfortable and actually very professionally finished which I have found to be unusual in the lakes a lot of the hotels are a little dated - somebody has taken a lot of time and effort to make sure everything has its place in this hotel and it does not go untoiced. We dined in the hotel for our evening meals and breakfasts and I honestly cannot find fault with any of it, the food was of a very high standard, the staff couldnt do enough for us and the surroundings were all idyllic for our stay so much so, the romance took over and I ended up proposing to my girlfriend on the terrace which was not expected and a bit last minute but everyone at the hotel rallied round and made it just the perfect memory for us. We will definately be back next year thanks to everyone at the hotel for making our romantic stay simply perfect on every level.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for in life. This hotel has rooms for every budget so feel free to talk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
You really embraced the relaxed and romantic ambience of Applegarth and left with a fiance. Congratulations to you both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

The applegarth villas are quite stunning and very modern
The rooms and building are in great condition and well maintained.

We stayed in room 18 and it was very modern and boutique.
Excellent place and breakfast
Highly recommend

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AS007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our Interior Designer is always delighted when her hard work in individually designing each of our rooms is appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

As we were driving around Windermere looking for a place to stay, we happened to drive by this hotel and decided to check it out. We liked what we saw and decided to stay the night. We had certain requirements for the room which were promptly attended to with great efficiency and genuine cheerfulness by the hotel staff. We encountered nothing but warmth and friendliness by every one during our short stay at this wonderful hotel.

The hotel is a stone's throw from the Tourist Information Centre as well as several eateries and has its own private parking lot which is extremely convenient.

The breakfast was great with the staff constantly inquiring whether we needed refills for our tea or toasts or anything else.

This is a place I would recommend to friends and would definitely stay there again if we were back at the Lake District sometime in the distant future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jncaridian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We can wish for no greater acccolade than your recommendation. We hope to see you again if your visiting England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

First time 3 years ago was wow! Room 7 then for first special occasion. Second visit we realised we waited to long to go back, Room 2 this time a big wow !!! Food is beyond the top draw and make sure you get the steak with the 3 sauces !!! Alan and Suzanne know how to make a hotel have the WOW factor. Will be staying again and telling everyone where to go...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glennapperley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, especially the three sauces! Looking forward to your third visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Having read through the reviews on this Hotel I at first thought they had been written by the owners! All I can really add to recent reviews is that this hotel is a real Gem, we were looking for a hotel with 5 stars and a restaurant to match and we were not disappointed. Room 4 fantastic comfort and views, and the Ribeye Steak is a real treat. We will be back as soon as we can so that's recommendation enough !

Room Tip: I can only comment on the rooms to the rear of the hotel offering great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We are fortunately to benefit from so much repeat business. It really makes running Applegarth very rewarding. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay in room 1 at Applegarth Villa and all we can really say is it was FABULOUS. From the minute we walked through the door to when we left it was 5 star all the way - ultimate luxury room, excellent food, first class hospitality, nothing was too much trouble. We are already looking at the calendar as to when we can return for a longer stay in this warm, friendly five star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 924Ross56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words.
As a returning guest you will now be entitled to some great deals we have on offer for existing customes one of which is a 35% discount on room rates from now until 13th February 2014. We will also keep you informed of future deals available to new and existing guests later on in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,415 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,141 reviews
24.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing