We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I have just come back and had a lovely few days away.the staff were helpful and friendly,the breakfast and tea were lovely and have to say the egg Benedict was amazing.the rooms were clean and tidy and very well decorated.i will be coming back!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I think breakfast always taste better when it is waitress served in a relaxed environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    115
    43
    23
    13
See reviews for
29
999
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Lovely Hotel with exceptionally friendly staff certainly will come back again the next time I find myself in Windermere.
The hotel is located in a very central position in the town and has a very nice restaurant with fab breakfasts.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whall381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments, the staff love to be appreciated. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Went for our one year wedding anniversary at the end of February and enjoyed every moment. The room was very comfortable and clean with all amenities needed. The staff are very welcoming and create a very relaxed atmosphere in beautiful surroundings. Breakfast was delicious and the menu on offer was varied and cooked to our liking. Overall a wonderful weekend and somewhere we would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidRachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for your generous and considered review. It is good to know that in your opinion Applegarth achieved what we set out to do, that is to create a relaxed attentive environment in the heart of the Lake District. We are delighted you enjoyed your first wedding anniversary here and look forward to welcoming you back for many more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My hubby booked the Applegarth for my 30th birthday celebrations, we enjoyed every second from start to finish.. Started with a lovely warm welcome and a few helpful pointers of where to go around Windermere. We then went upstairs to our room (7) and wow just outstanding!

The room was beautifully finished and so luxurious with built in jacuzzi bath and huge monsoon shower! The bed was one of the most comfortable iv ever slept in and the attention to detail in the room and throughout the stay was just wonderful.

We explored Windermere and then came back to enjoy a glass of wine in the conservatory area. That night we ate at the Applegarth, the food was delicious! We had steak and it was just mouthwatering and the wines to accompany each course were lovely. We then had the sticky toffee pudding which was a meal in itself, absolutely gorgeous!

The next day we enjoyed a fabulous breakfast to set us up for the day. What a wonderful stay i cant wait to come back! The people are just lovely, nothing is too much trouble and everything is so well thought out - really really enjoyed it (can you tell!!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asht0n6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for embracing everything Applegarth has to offer. We are delighted you both enjoyed your birthday celebrations and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have just returned from another lovely stay at the Applegarth, this time introducing my daughter and her boyfriend to the joys of Lakeland to celebrate my 50th birthday. We have stayed in a number of the rooms at the Applegarth but on this occasion rooms 4&5 were selected. The usual high levels of cleanliness and quality furnishings that we have come to expect were evident in both rooms and we will certainly be booking the spacious room number 5 again. We opted to take advanatge of the inclusive dinner offer and the food was up to the usual particularly high standards. The breakfasts here are superb and coupled with the very warm welcome from all the satff, an absolutely lovely break. Can you do something about the weather next time!

Room Tip: room 5 or 14 have become our favourite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveW777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
It's always lovely to welcome you back, especially when you return with family on such a special occasion as your 50th.
Hope to see you soon, maybe when the weather improves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in room 17, beautiful room, great attention to detail and the double bath was amazing. The evening meals were delicious, as was the breakfast. We cannot praise the staff enough for their efforts in making us feel very welcome and relaxed. The owners are a lovely couple who have put a lot of time and effort into the villa and it really shows. We will be returning soon to try out a different room!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. As always the staff love to be appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Maybe we can tempt you into one of our Ultimate luxury rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed for two nights in Room 9, lovely room, fantastic bathroom and great views (despite the mist and drizzle!). Stayed on a DBB basis and the food was delicious....amazing choice for breakfast too! Hotel in perfect spot just a minutes walk from Windermere. Excellent off road car parking too. The hosts were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Would definately recommend for a touch of luxury. Thank you again for a fabulous mini break! We will return....

Room Tip: Room 9 had lovely views but up two flights of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for the review and so sorry for the weather, even by Lake District standards it was awful. Just to make it worse you were in a room that enjoys a fabulous view of the fells and the lake in the distance but the mist was so low you never got to see it. Possibly this is a good excuse for a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,362 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,449 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,166 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing