We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights b&b and one nights dinner. The food was excellent with a good choice. The restaurant had excellent views across to the snow capped mountains. The room was of adequate size with plenty of storage and hanging room. Stafe, iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. The bathroom was small but usuable with a very good power shower. The more expensive rooms were bigger but the room was adequate for what we wanted and it was cleaned whilst we were at breakfast by some magic cleaners who we didn't see which was nice. The staff that we did see we're very polite and efficient. There is a nice conservatory at the rear next to the restaurant with views across the mountains and nice to sit and read to chat with other guests. Would definitely stay again and do not hesitate that if you want luxury then this is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you are going to spend the time in your room then have one at the back to make use of the views...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janieleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for clarifying the point that we have four different types of room for different budgets starting from deluxe up to ultimate luxury. All rooms are furnished to the same high standard but obviously there will be a significent difference between them and this is borne out by the views, size of the room and the luxuriousness and size of the bathroom. If a lovely base is all your looking for deluxe is perfect, if your wanting to spend most of your time in your room then you can't get better than our Ultimate luxury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,186)
There are newer reviews for Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

863 - 869 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at the Applegarth for a 2 night B&B in room 15 which we knew was one of the cheaper rooms. The hotel has real character and has tastefully kept the original features whilst bringing some of the public areas up to date, it has worked very well giving a clean and warm feeling without loosing it's atmosphere. Our room was very clean and well presented, the en suite was small but had a fantastic power shower and overall did its job. The décor and contents was of a good standard the double bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good with decent sized portions. We had one evening meal at the hotel that was again a very good standard. The staff throughout our stay were very friendly and professional. I am unable to find fault with the hotel, it is not cheap but I found it value for money. I will probably opt for a bigger room at the back with the superior views next time. We did not visit the spa facility which is approx a mile away so unable to review this facility.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJMESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your informative and balanced review which, I am sure will be most useful to future prospective Guests to the Applegarth Villa. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our last visit to Applegarth was July 2010 and I can honestly say that our stay this weekend to celebrate my husbands birthday has been just as good. The hotel is phenomenal. A huge villa with breathtaking views of snow capped mountains whilst eating your breakfast is something worth seeing. The breakfast menu is to die for. My. Notice was American pancakes, maple syrup and scrambled eggs. With copious amounts of coffee and toast. It truly is a fabulous experience. The rooms are exquisitely furnished and every room is different. We stayed in room 18 on our first visit and room 14 this time. Both rooms are amazing albeit room 14 was the top of four flights of stairs, (small point but, no lift and no offer to carry our bags up was a little disappointing) The massive bath in room 18 was a huge hit! We had a gorgeous dinner which was included in the price and was up to the usual high standard. The service is exemplary and nothing is too much trouble. All in all nothing could be faulted. We can't wait to visit again when the new wing and swimming pool are completed!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous, each being furnished in its own unique style. I stayed in room 18 and ro...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your fabulous review it is much appreciated. You really did get some lovely weather this weekend and I'm sure the views of the snow capped mountains made breakfast taste even better. Hope to see you again soon so you can enjoy some of our magnificent summer sunsets whilst enjoying dinner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Arrived back from Applegarth Villa and Restaurant on Friday after a two night stay. When booking we were upgraded to the Ultimate Luxury Room 2, which was lovely. The room was very relaxing with nice scenic views, the car parking facilities were safe. Our booking included breakfast and dinner, unfortunately we didn't experience the breakfast as it stopped serving at 10am and as this was meant to be a relaxing break didn't want to rush for the breakfast. The bed was a little hard for my liking but everyone has their own preference. The sheets had stains on which I was a little disappointed with, but as they were at the end of the bed put it to the back of my mind.

We had the included dinner on the first night, I had the lamb and it was gorgeous! My partner had the steak and again that was lovely however the dinner was let down by the atmosphere, or should I say non-existent atmosphere, considering it is a restaurant it is poor! I think as the hotel was very quiet it lacked an atmosphere in the restaurant, there wasn't any background music playing (well not that I heard), so I felt very uncomfortable and nearly ate my dinner in silence as there were only two other diners. We didn’t dine the next evening.

Applegarth is a lovely hotel (location and decorative wise) but for me it’s the customer service that let’s Applegarth down, for a ‘five star hotel’ I expected more. It was like a three star experience and that’s benig kind – yes the room was nice but it’s the service you receive that really makes it a five star hotel. The simplist things did not happen like being offered for our suitcase to be taken to our room or how to use the central heating that was in the room as we found the under floor heating in the bathroom unbearable on the last night, like hot coals – I know management will say I should have reported the issue but as it was 10pm at night and I’d just had a bath so didn’t want to.

The check out was the most disappointing part, you have to vacate the room at 10.30am which I did not have an issue with. The cleaners however started hovering and chatting in the corridor at 9:15am which would have disrupted our sleep if we had decided to lie in, unfortunately we did not. Then came the issue of the bill, we had expected a charge for the steak (which was £8.50 for the fillet), but there was also a £6 charge for the bar. We had only had three small glasses of water and were charged £6 for them. I queried this and were told we were charged for a bottle of water, which we never had at our table? A manager came out and informed us that we were not going to be charged for the water however his attitude was very dismissive. There was no small talk, no enquiry into how we found our stay or anything like that, he just swanned off into the restaurant once he was done with us, no offer to help with our luggage - disgraceful! For a '5 star' hotel it needs to work on its customer service skills, it seemed to have an air of arrogance to it, I wasn’t impressed!

Also the free Wi-Fi was terrible! I had selected like told in the guest welcoming pack to choose the Wi-Fi with the strongest signal strength. Using the internet on my laptop was impossible as the signal kept breaking, it was also the same on my iPhone. I tried to download a film which normally takes 5 minutes max, it took 4+hours to download then in the end the download failed due to the constant interruptions. Even browsing the internet seemed difficult for the Wi-Fi to handle!

I wouldn't recommend or stay at the Applegarth again purely based on the customer service, I would look elsewhere, and give my custom to a more deserving hotel.

Disappointing as this Hotel could be fantastic, each to their own though but for a '5 star' hotel I expected better service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieRMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us and the kind words you have to say with regards to your room and the quality of the food in the restaurant.
When you came to check out our Manager asked you if you had enjoyed your stay and you said that you had. There was no mention of stained sheets which Housekeeping would have rejected and certainly not fitted on the bed or the uncomfortable bed made by the "Oh soo comfy bedding company" costing considerably more that the average family car nor the noisey staff who would not have been housekeeping at that time of the morning!
In the restaurant in the evening you were chatting so avidly with your partner I was reluctant to interrupt to offer you a pudding menu, hardly the sitting in silence you portray or the lack of atmosphere, although since you did not notice the music playing throughout the bar conservatory or restaurant which plays from breakfast time to when the bar closes with a play list of over 1000 tracks rangeing from Adele to Andy Williams it is no surprise that you probably did not notice the atmosphere enjoyed by other diners!
Moving on to our wifi. Our wifi works perfectly for web browsing, sending and checking emails and using all the popular social media apps. However when it comes to streaming movies you have to remember you are in the Lake DIstrict not in the centre of an urban metropolis. Things take a little longer here no matter where you stay in the National Park. Fibre optic broadband makes its debut at the end of June 2014 so those of you who choose to watch movies instead of the magnificent landscape will, I am sure be ecstatic!
With regards to your bar account you ordered two glasses of still mineral water with ice and a further one during dinner. The still water we serve is locally bottled mineral water from Cartmel fell and obviously there is a cost involved. On departure our Manager was not dismissive to you just dumbfounded at being spoken to in such a way and your refusal to pay possibly the smallest bar bill Applegarth has ever seen which ironically never got paid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

On our second visit l mentioned that a favourite food dish I had enjoyed on our first visit last year wasn't on the menu this time, they put themselves out to make my favourite dish to make our stay superb. The quality of service is unsurpassed and all though we will be visiting again soon we will always remember our times here as the best holidays we have had.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

What a truly lovely review, you make all the hard work worth while and it is alway a pleasure to welcome such lovely people as yourselves back to Applegarth. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just come back from 2 dsyd in the lakes staying at the beautiful Applegarth. The staff are always very welcoming and friendly. The rooms are gorgeous, so luxurious. We have stayed in 4 different rooms now and have loved them all. The food is scrumptious, and the variety on offer will suit any taste buds. Really lovelh place. Thank you once again for another fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: We have stsyed in 4 different ones and all have been lovely,
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheekylildcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Lovely to see you both again, it is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Applegarth. It will be interesting to see which room you choose for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Applegarth Villa is a delightful Hotel situated in just the right location for visiting the many beautiful sites in the area. We stayed for 3 nights including delicious breakfast and dinner. The room was lovely with some well thought out features, the bed, so spacious, nice sheets and towels,the bathroom very attractive and the patio doors leading to our own terrace - would have been ideal if the weather had been a touch warmer.
The proprietors, family and staff were all very warm, friendly and helpful throughout our stay. When we have some more time we would love to go back. Loved the decor, taps and light fittings

Room Tip: All individual to suit pocket and taste
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you so much for your highly recommended review, hopefully we will see you again when the weather improves and you can enjoy your private terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,388 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,186 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,019 reviews
20.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £134 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing