We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well deserving of its 5 stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a brief but hugely enjoyable stay at the Applegarth. The entire hotel is superbly furnished, and everything has been carefully chosen with the comfort of guests in mind. The biggest, fluffiest towels you can imagine are provided, as well as important touches like a full size ironing board and iron in the wardrobe. Breakfast is superb, and only a few hotels offer my personal favourite - pancakes. A big thank you from me!

The location is excellent, and overall we can't fault the Applegarth for the attention to detail and the welcome offered to guests. I hope to return soon. We didn't take advantage of the fitness facilities on offer, but maybe next time ....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerMo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your short stop over with us and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just spent two nights at the Villa to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. Alan, Suzanne and the staff made our stay very special, including a card on our table in the restaurant on our big day! Service in the hotel was good when needed without being overpowering and pretentious as can be the case in some 5 star places. We stayed in room 16 which was wonderfully furnished and decorated. We dined in the restaurant both nights and found both the service and food faultless (especially the chowder !). The bar was relaxed and very stylishly furnished. Fully intend to return and try another of the rooms in the future. Perfect for a relaxing few days away.

Room Tip: Read the website which gives details of every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTaySAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for choosing Applegarth Villa for your silver wedding celebrations We are so pleased you found Applegarth to be relaxing and unpretentious. That is exactly the environment we set out to create so it is rewarding to hear you felt we had achieved this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a warm welcome and beautiful Villa. We stayed out of season in November '13 on our honeymoon, it more than exceeded expectations. Staff were attentive and warm, and the family running Applegarth were amazing hosts.
If you stay here take time to enjoy the Villa (a great fusion of art Deco meets modern interior design) and relax in the bar, my husband would recommend to try the Applegarth whisky too.
We stayed in room 2 and could not fault it, however seeing other rooms also I would feel happy to recommend them also.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparklydebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very lucky to be custodians of such a magnificent building as Applegarth Villa. It does have some amazing features and architecture. Since your last visit we have totally refurbished the bar area and the result has exceeded our expectations. Hope you get the opportunity to come and see it soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excellent room with fantastic views and a superb bathroom. We really enjoyed this special treat at Applegarth. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. This is a fantastic find giving us a relaxing and peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveg280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are delighted you chose Applegarth for your 50th birthday celebrations and that you considered it to be a fantastic find and a relaxing and peaceful place to stay. We really are so lucky to have such a great location.Hope to see you again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

From the moment we first arrived, Alan, the owner greeted us with much warmth and made us feel welcome. Being from the States, I picked this B&B because many Brits gave the ApppleGarth rave reviews. The room was TOP NOTCH as shown on their website and my wife took pictures of the bathroom to use as a model for our own bathroom remodel project. We stayed in room number 9 which was on the top floor of this beautifully remodeled B&B. The bathroom and corner views from the windows made this a great choice. The dinner that was included with the rate was very very good and the service from the staff simply excellent! The bar and Deck rock as we enjoyed some great wine on a sunny afternoon upon arrival. Upon departure, Suzzane, the owner took some time to serve us coffee and cakes as I did some work on the free wifi in the lounge. What a wonderful lady! We will return to the AppleGarth!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you consider our new bar "rocks". We are also delighted with it. As always Val Dunn, our Interior designer has created a fabulous, comfortable and relaxing environment and we cannot thank her enough for all her hard work..Look forward to welcoming you back to Applegarth on your next visit to England

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel was perfect in every way. Magnificent food, friendly helpful staff, a room so clean warm and inviting. Enjoyed a gorgeous jacuzzi bath with husband watching tv, yes tv in bathroom and sipping champagne such luxury. Hotel is a peaceful retreat no children, such bliss and to find couple friendly instead of family orientated is a marvellous treat.
We unfortunately only stayed 3 days but left feeling refreshed and still full from all the fantastic food.
Alan and Suzanne have created the perfect place to stay and I cannot wait to return

Room Tip: All rooms fantastic but 1and2 are extra special so have a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JantyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a magnificent review of your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have recently returned from Applegarth Villas , full of delightful features, beautiful décor and warm friendly service.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, the food was excellent, cooked and presented well , also served by lovely staff who were so helpful.
Additionally, having access to a health suite and pool at another hotel made this break even better.
The owners, Alan, Suzanne and family made us feel so welcome, we will look forward to a return visit in the future.
Thank you to you all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KandP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for choosing Applegarth for your recent stay in the Lake District. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,421 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,220 reviews
2.7 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £137 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing