We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous room, lovely food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous room, lovely food!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here this weekend just gone in room 2, whilst in the lake distrcit for the great north swim. The hotel is beautifully decorated and our room (room 2) was the best hotel room we have stayed in. The bed was amazing, a huge circular bed with loads of pillows. The room had lovely views and a large bay window which i enjoyed sitting at! The bathroom was large, with a lovely jacuzzi bath and mood lighting with a tv on the opposite wall, most enjoyable after a long day at the great north swim!
We both enjoyed the food, it was the same menu both nights, but as we were there for two nights it didn't bother us, there was plenty of variety. wine and alcohol is very reasonably prices as well.
The breakfast was yummy, perfect menu with lots of choice, i highly recommend the wholemeal toast and the scrambled egg - best scrambled egg i have tasted in a long time!

All in all a very positive experience and we would both recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a bit of luxury whilst in the lakes.

Thanks Applegarth :-)

Room Tip: Room 2 has great views, and an amazing bed and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
So pleased that Applegarth was the perfect haven for you after completing the Great North Swim.
Hopefully we may see you again on a more relaxing occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    115
    43
    23
    13
See reviews for
29
1,002
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with my husband, weekend away to celebrate his 50th birthday. Found the hotel on trip advisor and it is just as lovely as it looks. Staff are great - down to earth, friendly and made us feel really welcome. Food really really good. We had room 17, just what we had expected, telly in the bath was fun, room does get hot but just leave the windows open to cool down. Quiet off the main street, lovely views from the restaurant. Stunning Victorian arts and crafts decor for those that appreciate interior design. The hotel gets our unreserved recommendation.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review and for appreciating our stunning Arts and Crafts Victorian Villa. We can ask for no greater accolade than your unreserved recommendation. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at Applegarth. There were 14 of us and they coped well. Nothing was too much trouble. A slight niggle for us was the dinner menu. It would have been helpful if they had a daily fish special. There was only one fish dish as a main course and that fish was wrapped in Parma ham so I had the same main course each night cooked without the ham. I did mention it to the owner's wife who said it was too much of a problem to change the menu daily. In this day and age perhaps they should rethink this policy as more people only eat fish and not meat. Had we not been with friends we wouldn't have eaten there the second night.
A very convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olgaworcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. Just a couple of points. I didn't actually say that "it was to much of a problem to change the menu daily" What I did say was that with such an extensive and freshly prepared menu it would not be possible to change the menu daily. Secondly, there were two, not one, fish dishes on the main menu and three fish starters during your stay. Head Chef does have to consider when compiling our menu the requirements of all of our Guests such as Vegetarian, Coeliacs etc so it is important that we produce a well balanced menu catering for all needs. You may be surprised to hear that we still serve more Fillet and Sirloin steaks than anything else!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here a few weeks ago and loved it. The hotel is beautifully decorated and clean with a friendly, relaxed service. We had a minor problem with our room on arrival due to previous customers (not the hotels fault) and the owners went above and beyond what you would expect to rectify it for us. They made a special occasion even more enjoyable. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reviewer660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
I think your review sums up everything Applegarth tries to achieve. Beautifully looked after, clean, friendly and relaxed, with the emphasis being on relaxed . We are delighted we made your special occasion even more enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern england
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here last weekend it is a beautiful hotel very impressive we had a lovely room with fabulous views.We had dinner on both evening which was superb very well presented and happy staff service was very good also the same for breakfast and the views from the dining room where lovely .
The hotel is well situated for the centre of Windermere and good parking at the hotel.
The room was very hot but we could open windows ,my only complaint was the bed just had a duvet on top with no sheet underneath that then we could have took duvet off and slept with just a sheet on top,maybe should have asked for sheet !!!Maybe a bit picky but would have made sleep a lot better.
Still a good weekend at Applegarth Villa.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucygemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. You are right to mention that we have such a great central location yet benefit from secure off road parking yet still have lovely views.A rare mix in such a busy location as Windermere.
Regarding a top sheet! As you say our staff are extremely happy and friendly so you only had to ask and it would have been organised in minutes. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our recent stay here was lovely. I thoroughly recommend a visit.
The hotel is wonderful, beautifully decorated throughout and spotlessly clean, we had a fantastic bedroom and bathroom, the food was great, owners Suzanne and Alan were such lovely hosts, we only wish we'd stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Applegarth and hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed in this wonderful hotel last month. It was our first little holiday together and it couldnt have been better. We arrived earlier than expected and this wasnt a problem , the room (17) was absolutely gorgeous and we couldnt have asked for anything better. After relaxing drinks in the bar we ate in the restaurant . The food was out of this world ! The sticky toffee pudding was fab so much so I had it again the following evening. Our 2 nights in this hotel went far too fast and we will definitely be returning . If you get chance to stay in this fabulous place, do it you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your first review with Trip advisor about Applegarth Villa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and as the time went far to fast, next time, we look forward to welcoming you back for longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,366 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,452 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,167 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing