We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raisin standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Raisin standards”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is immaculate...well considered and very clean. Our room downstairs was very peaceful and ensured we slept well. The bathroom was small but fitted to an exceptional standard complete with large, fluffy towels which smelled of fabric conditioner and not hotel laundry!

In our opinion, some of the staff need to relax and smile more. This would go a long way to improve the quality of service. No-one seemed to want to chat or to listen carefully to our orders. We had the wrong fish starter on the first night and the wrong ice cream on the 2nd night.

It might sound picky, but it could help to up the ratings??

We also wondered if some more imaginative food might attract higher ratings? It did seem a little catering stylee in part and one diner was clearly dismayed that the sticky toffee pudding was not prepared to order so as to avoid on both nights the prospect of raisins!! The lamb was awful and should be removed at hasten from the menu.

Room Tip: 16 is quiet with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fartyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about Applegarth, they are very much appreciated.
I'm not totally convinced you understand the mechanics of running an a la carte kitchen. Unfortunately we do not have the luxury of taking each Guests pudding order then freshly preparing it, as in dedicating one member of staff to get together the ingredients of a sticky toffee pudding, mix it then bake for an hour. Equally I'm not sure any Guest would be willing to wait well over an hour for it to arrive at the table. Maybe it is also best to clarify that Head Chef does not include raisins in his sticky toffee pudding mixture, but he does add dates. We are sorry that the cut of lamb we serve was not to your liking. It is actually our most popular dish and is the best fillet of lamb available but we would agree that if someone is expecting a rack of lamb then there may be some confusion. We very much hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    115
    43
    23
    13
See reviews for
29
999
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

After staying here for 2 nights what a fantastic stay, the meals were brilliant the room fantastic, i couldnt get my wife out of the jaquzi, as for the staff very polite and friendly , cannot wait for our next visit. Don Hughes. : )

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p38rr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality and furnishings of Applegarth and that your Wife particularly enjoyed the fabulous circular spa bath in room 7.
We have 15 individually designed rooms so hopefully we can tempt you into another one on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Warm welcome, fabulous room with lovely views (room4), massive bed and luxury bathroom. All immaculately clean n luxurious fittings. Loved the bar and the restaurant. Food excellent quality, great choice of breakfast, all served to your table. The staff are very friendly as are the owners. They have a very unpretentious knack of just making you feel totally relaxed, welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Very central and plenty of shops and restaurants/cafés within a few minutes walk. Thank you, we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 4 good view, large room with massive bed, lovely bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed the relaxed unpretentious hospitality of Applegarth and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My daughter and I stayed her for two nights at the beginning of May as part of a two month holiday in the UK.
What a lovely place to stay! The hotel itself is in a great spot, near the centre of town, but down a much quieter side street. The hotel restaurant is excellent, with nice decor and a relaxing ambiance, but should you want to wander further afield, there are plenty of nice restaurants within 5 minutes walk or less.
Also, there is free parking in a private car park behind the hotel - a big plus.
The accommodation was simply excellent. We had Ultimate luxury suite 1 which is almost a small apartment. The decor is amazing - tasteful and luxurious. The room had its own terrace which looked over a pretty garden, with concertina door which opened out to take advantage of the lovely weather. Comfortable seating and huge tv set. The fireplace id a winner, so warm and cosy. This would be a perfect spot for a quiet, romantic weekend away with a partner.The bed was comfortable and the linens fresh and crisp.
The bathroom - heaven. The best shower I've ever had, with excellent water pressure and massage jets - loved it. Plenty of fresh, fluffy towels and funky circular towel rails. loads of room for two females to spread out their makeup and toiletries - most important!
The owner, Suzanne was lovely and most accommodating. She does most of the decorating too, so you can thank her for the lovely rooms and excellent taste in furnishings. She even showed me some of the other rooms and believe me, they are all amazing.
This guesthouse crosses all the t's and dots all the i's. It's pretty close to perfect.
I have fairly high expectations of accommodation that i choose and Applegarth Villa exceeded them admirably. I truly can't recommend it highly enough.
Stay for a few days...you'll want to stay longer....we certainly did.
And a special thanks to Suzanne....we had a fab trip : ))

Room Tip: Suite 1 is amazing and so is suite two. If a romantic weekend is your plan, then choose one of these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
What can we say to your review as thank you seems too menial. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Applegarth and we are sure that your eloquent and comprehensive review will give prospective visitors to us an excellent insight into everything Applegarth has to offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed at Applegarth over Christmas.
extremely overpriced £930 for 4 nights for the tiny box room we stayed in with bad lighting(one energy saving bulb), emergency door with green light in bedroom.bathroom door woudnt close.glass on top of lockers loose and keep slipping anytime you put an item on,room not serviced 2 days out of the four.nail in carpet which I stood on in my bare feet and went through my foot at 8 months pregnant.

owners were extremely rude and other guests had mentioned various issued they had with applegarth.we had problems with our car on my stay and we needed to make it back to the ferry and imagine upon checkout the owner stated no word of a lie "I hope your car breaks down again on your way back"

we had been nothing but polite in our stay and didn't mention any of disappointments we had as we wanted to make most of our time in Windermere.the only thing we advised the front desk was that there was a nail coming up through the floor board that needed to be looked at.

I never write reviews and am always cautious that people over exaggerate but I want wanted to warn people about this family run premises.

we seen some other lovely places to stay in Windermere so I would advise to stay clear!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FionaMullen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review. £930 for a four night stay over the Christmas period including all meals with a Gala seven course Christmas lunch, a selection of complimentary drinks and much more, we feel represents great value.
As far as your room is concerned, two days out of the four you had "do not disturb" on your door. Due to your condition we were conscious you wished to relax a little more than other Guests so our Housekeepers respected this request.
I think your problems continued due to your car breaking down yet again and you arriving two hours late for the Gala Christmas lunch. On Christmas Day lunch is served at 2.30pm and all Guests sit down together at this time. As a result of being late you were already three courses behind everyone else which, although handled admirably by Head Chef and Team, seemed to give you issues. These issues continued throughout your stay especially when we offered to arrange for the local garage to professionally and safely repair your car, to ensure you had a safe journey back to Ireland but instead you decided to ask an elderly Guest to open his bedroom window whilst you precariously plugged in a battery charger leaving the Gentleman with an open window throughout the night in late December.
Ourselves and our Staff constantly tried to help you out of situations you seem to find yourselves in during your stay with our Manager even giving you £10 so as you could both join in the race night we organise on Boxing Day!
I truly believe we could have done nothing further to help you and this review comes as no surprise, only that it has taken you six months to write.
I think the countless Guest reviews before and after the time of your visit add great balance and perspective to your review.Applegarth is family run and Christmas is a very special time for everyone here with many of our Guests from last year already booked for Christmas 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Me an my girlfriend stayed here for a one night stay and we couldn't fault the place. Room 17 was amazing and the spa bath was great. Food was incredible and service was great, Alan was a passionate nan about his hotel and the area and gave us suggestions of local activities to do. Would stay here again without any issues and recommend to all friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your review and for all the lovely comments you have made about Applegarth Villa. We are delighted that you both enjoyed your room and your stay with us and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of May and enjoyed our stay very much. The room (10) has a lovely view toward the fells, and one could just see the lake on a clear day. The standard of decor is very high and the quality of the finish in the bathrooms ( I also saw room 2) superb. The bed was large and comfortable. I loved the quirky mix of contemporary and period pieces; although I think the decor in the reception rooms was due to change shortly after our stay. I'm sure it will be equally tasteful.
The food was sourced locally and the lamb and steak were delicious, as was the rest of the menu that we tried.
Staff were very friendly and efficient and we would certainly stay here again next time we are this way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
As a regular reviewer on Trip Advisor and some one who obviously uses it to determine where
they want to stay we are delighted that you have scored us five out of five. Your considered opinion means a lot to us and we hope to welcome you back to see our beautiful new bar and reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,363 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,166 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing