We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, friendly staff”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We usually stay in The Wordsworth in Grasmere but thought we would try somewhere different for a change. The quality of the accommodation is very good, furnishings in the room and the bathroom both of a very high standard, although our room was probably a bit smaller than we expected. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and Suzanne was a great ambassador for the area and she always took time to sit and talk with us which was nice. We stayed on the offer which included an evening meal which was a good standard. On the second evening I chose a dessert which unfortunately was not what I had thought it was going to be and consequently did not like it but the staff offered to change it for me which I thought was very good. Overall this was an enjoyable visit and would definitely consider staying there again in the future

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the quality of our accommodation and found our staff to be pleasant and helpful at all times. We all hope to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    115
    43
    23
    13
See reviews for
29
1,000
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We booked the hotel for my birthday, just for 2 nights. Normally we had stayed in room 2 but the upgraded version was not to our taste, so we booked room 15 mainly because of the colour scheme as the pictures showed, we were aware the view was not great but for 2 nights that was not a problem. We were not prepared for how small the room was but again for 2 nights we could manage, and we were not prepared for how small the shower room was, the shower is great, good size etc but the sink was not a functioning sink it was sooooo small i think the tap didn't help it was way to big, hubby couldnt bend down in bathroom without hitting head on something or bum on door. Could have done with minor tweaks like a light over the bedroom mirror to see what you do with makeup and hairdryer as the mirror in shower room made skin look yellow. Toilet roll holder would have made for less contortion! Blind in bedroom on first night didn't go down to the window sill until i untied it from the back (not good when people in building opposite). All little things but they mattered to us, especially the bottled water, whats going on there? it used to be still or sparkling bottles by bed now its a large bottle of tap water with stopper in, not good.Safe in wardrobe/door in wall not working, no batteries in looked quite broken. i left feedback, and the owners are really nice people but i have to say i was quite dissapointed. Time to upgrade your TV reception or provide DVD facility .

Room Tip: room 2 large, always choose a room that specifies the view, if it doesn't mention it it doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicken101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Delighted you came to see us again. Room 15 is ideal for anyone on a budget costing little more than a B & B but with the benefits of secure parking, leisure facilities, onsite bar and restaurant. Obviously it is smaller than our other rooms but so is the tariff! TV reception is excellent in all our of rooms and we can find no fault with the blind other than the repair we had to make due to you untying it! . Also the safe works by the key found on your key fob. If you had only mentioned these issues at the time they could have been so easily rectified
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

For our first visit to the Lakes I used tripadvisor to select a hotel. The outcome was the fantastic Applegarth villa. We chose room 9 and were not disappointed. The room was large and well decorated while the en suite was a masterpiece! The whole experience was a delight, the decor, the staff and the food.
I cannot recommend enough and will be looking to return soon. There really isn't the need to look elsewhere to stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BPC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
We are delighted that the whole experience of staying at Applegarth was a delight for you and that you considered your ensuite to be a "masterpiece." Hopefully this will be the first of many visits to the Lake District and we will certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Applegarth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for 6 days. The hotel is very beautiful and there are plenty of cafés, pubs and restaurants within the area. Bowness is also within a pleasant walking distance if you feel you're up for the journey. It's very worthwhile going there as there are more shops and eateries in that direction plus lake Windermere itself ...got to admit on the way back from bowness we tended to get a taxi back as the walk back to Windermere is a steep incline. Our room at the hotel was faultless. Everything was great, especially the bathroom, obviously a lot of money had been spent on the furnishings in our room. The hotel itself is great. If I was to criticise anything it would be the service of the hosts. When we arrived we were not given help with our bags and we had to take our luggage up quite a few stairs. We were also not given any information about the area. Fair enough the hotel has a lot of leaflets and brochures but a little conversation would have been nice, instead of just getting down to business and giving us the keys. Not sure if that was due to our ages as we are both in our early 20s and the majority of other people stopping here were mature. Breakfast was really nice although portions were on the small side. We ate out of the evenings as eateries in Windermere or bowness were a lot cheaper. But all in all the hotel itself was a fantastic place to stay. I would stop again.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room on the first floor, nicely decorated with a gorgeous bathroom that overlooked a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing Applegarth, we are delighted you remember us so well, it being nearly a year since your stay. Yes, as you say Applegarth is perfectly situated with everything on our door step. It is a shame that you chose to dine out each evenng and not give our restaurant a try. You must come back and see our fabulous new bar and conservatory we are all delighted with the result and maybe next time we can tempt you into the restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

On discovering The Applegarth quite by chance whilst exploring Windermere a few years back, we realised that life is to short and we ought to treat ourselves to go back the following year. This subsequently turned into a habit as we have just returned from our 4th trip to this quite remarkable, very warm, very clean family run hotel which is clearly the jewel in the crown for the area and a true credit to our hosts Alan & Suzanne who catered for us, as always, from start to finish but were equally discrete to allow us to feel perfectly at home.

Someone has really given a lot of thought to what the customer experience is here from the minute they pull into the drive of the hotel, to walking through the front door to putting the key in the lock to their room to gathering in the bar before the evening meal. Its tried and tested, any issues have been ironed out and what we have left is this thoroughly desirable luxury experience - looking forward to our trip before the end of the year. You only live once!

Room Tip: Understand your budget, call the hotel and put it to them. This experience is what you make of it we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Oh Stephen, it is always a pleasure to welcome you, your partner and your wicked sense of humour back to Applegarth. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed in room 16 on 6th & 7th of August. The hotel throughout is spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly and efficient. The food is fantastic. Only down side, on the first morning I had the best Eggs Benedict I have ever tasted so I ordered the same on the second morning but was disappointed when I cut into the eggs and the yolk was hard

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RONNIE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
It is ashame one of your eggs was slightly overcooked on the second morning of your stay but as you say the Waitresses are very friendly and efficient and just one quick word to them and a perfect replacement eggs Benedict would have arrived in minutes. We do hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Booked in as a last minute stay. Able to get a one night stay at a weekend in August despite two night requirement as nights either side were booked. Stayed in one of the smaller rooms (Room 15) which is cosy but nicely furnished. Very comfortable nights stay after an arduous day's drive.

Enjoyed a pleasant meal in the restaurant and an excellent breakfast the following morning. Hotel is beautifully presented with some lovely features. Lovely views from the dining area and well situtated for exploring the town and the surroundings.

Would love to return and spend a longer stay in future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We most certainly would love to welcome you back to Applegarth and thank you for taking the time to review your overnight stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,166 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing