We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,403)
Filter reviews
1,403 results
Traveller rating
1,184
133
47
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,184
133
47
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub ultimate luxury potter suite luxury room double bath mood lighting owners and staff fillet steak coffee machine high standard lake district both nights wedding anniversary spa bath the wow factor my partner fabulous hotel
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 1,403 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018

You can’t help but feel at home as soon as you arrive at the Applegarth. We stayed for two nights and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff who work in this family run hotel. The room was immaculate, the breakfast was a veritable feast of freshly cooked and locally sourced food and the dinners on both evenings delicious! A great location for exploring the local countryside.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Applegarth especially your "veritable feast" of a breakfast. We do feel that it is the ideal start to the day when your breakfast is waitress served and freshly cooked to order and we are please to hear that you agree. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Just back from another wonderful stay at Applegarth, we love the lakes, try to visit 2-3 times per year and wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else. We couldn’t resist staying in broadcrag hot tub suite again as the suites are simply stunning - pure luxury and relaxation, every detail has been beautifully designed. There is always a warm welcome from Alan and Suzanne and the family run the hotel brilliantly, nothing is too much effort. Thank you for an amazing break away, we hope to see you again later in the year.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hannah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Lovely to welcome you back and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review for us. Its especially lovely to know that you wouldn't stay anywhere else.The family and team are delighted by your kind words and they are and always will be the very heart of what we do. Look forward to seeing you later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We have just returned after a one night stay in this hotel. Lovely comfortable room. Nicely located in Windemere for the bars and restaurants on offer. Nice bar area and lovely breakfast cooked to order. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jacks0n3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Applegarth. We would totally agree that our location is ideal for visiting the village with its bars and restaurant not to mention our own lovely bar but also enjoying the quietness of a side street with beautiful views and a very rare commodity in Windermere, a large car park! Thank you for your recommendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

I didn’t know anything about the booking until we got to Windermere my fiancé had booked it for a surprise. The hotel was lovely and very friendly, we stayed in room 16 the room was spotless, loved the chocolates in the room on arrival. We didn’t have a meal in the hotel, although breakfast was lovely and there was plenty to choose from. I am looking forward for my next surprise visited hopefully with a hot tub. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank debhaz601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you very much for reviewing your surprise visit to Applegarth. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to enjoy another surprise visit, this time in a hot tub suite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel very last minute for one night realising we had childcare in place and work done by midday on a Saturday. On arrival the hotel manager greeted us warmly and chatted to us about local attractions. Our room was lovely with all the amenities expected.

We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was superb quality. All the staff were attentive and we found the managers to again be very welcoming, going out of their way to make us feel comfortable.

We had drinks in the bar before going out into Winderemere and Bowness, returning late. We are certainly not the most wealthy of customer but our hosts treat us as if we were the richest of customers and that made us feel great. Our cooked breakfast the following morning was excellent quality again served very well.

We would highly recommend this hotel. We did not know what to expect but I can promise you excellent quality, a warm welcome and consistent service throughout your stay. We hope to return when we can afford one of the lovely looking hot tub suites!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a heart felt review. Being family run our guests are always at the forefront of what we do and it is lovely to receive such appreciative comments. We look forward to your return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews