We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommemded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Ranked #30 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
swindon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“highly recommemded”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Had a brilliant stay in this bed and breakfast. Very accommodating, friendly owners( Paul&Sue).Accessible to the towns. Room is spotless, comfy with free wifi and you can watch films too which they also provides. You will really feel at home. Breakfast is excellent. Don't miss to try the pancake with salmon or either bacon with scrambbled egg.;)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowana210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at Montfort Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review. Sue and I love it when guests enjoy their stay and also find the time to write a review. Very much appreciated and love to see you both again soon. Cheers Paul & Sue x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
154
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last year in the summer, and again for valentines weekend. Paul and Sue are so welcoming and friendly, and instantly you feel relaxed. Rooms are clean, comfy and nicely decorated. We even had complimentary wine and chocolates too! Last year we stayed in room 'Thirlmere' and this year 'Windermere' - both were lovely although we preferred Thirlmere. Breakfast is amazing - cereals, fruit or croissants followed by a cooked breakfast of your choice in a cosy dining room. The location is pretty good for both Windermere and Bowness, although the walk back from the lake is uphill! Thoroughly enjoy our stays here and will most definitely return. Sue and Paul are wonderful hosts

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lepe1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at Montfort Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
It was lovely having you both stay with us again and to read your lovely review comments. Sue and I loved your company and look forward to your "third visit" with us! All the best Paul & Sue xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just got back from a great weekend staying with Sue & Paul at Montfort.

My partner booked 2 nights in Kentmere for Friday and Saturday night.

Location:
The B&B is situated between Windermere & Bowness and very easy to find by driving.
A 10/15 minute walk to both villages or £3.50 in a local cab (numbers left in the B&B hallway). We preferred Bowness for a drink as it had more of a lively feel.

Room:
Kentmere is on the top floor and has a great view of the village and mountains. We found the room very comfortable for two nights. The bathroom is seperate and located on the first floor - it is private and only Kentmere guests use it - however the room also has a small sink which is useful for teeth brushing/filling the kettle. Sue & Paul gave us a complimentary bottle of wine & chocolates on arrival for valentines weekend which was greatly appriciated. They also kit out the room with a hairdryer, iron/ironing board, tea, coffee, biscuits. There is also general information left in the room with attraction leaflets available in the hallway.

Breakfast:
Really enjoyed both our breakfasts, great choices hot & cold. I recommend the savory pancake with eggs & salmon. Nice pressed coffee too.


Sue & Paul were great hosts, very helpful and friendly. Would visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickleMitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Excellent, sue & paul make you feel welcome from the moment you walk through the door, rooms are very modern & well decorated, everything as new. Very well situated for all the local attractions, very quiet area, seriously if you are heading this way this is not to be missed, five stars A+ keep up the amazing work

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simhus19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here over the Christmas period. We have a truly wonderful stay - the hosts Sue and Paul were so helpful and knowledgeable of the local area. They recommended Shahib's Indian Restaurant in Bowness for dinner one night and we enjoyed a delicious meal there. The rooms were tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. Very fluffy white towels and comfortable bed.

Breakfast was excellent.

The review below is totally ridiculous???

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brimarLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

1st time at Montfort Cottage situated central for both Windermere & Bowness no need to get the car out. Paul & Sue were lovely hosts, we were given Thirlmere room warm as toast and the comfiest bed with lovely linen and soft towels.Breakfast is ordered the night before on the menu will fit most guests there is an excellent chose of locally sourced produce lovely farm sausages , and if you change your mind in the morning that's fine Paul will cook just what you fancy . A really homely B&B will return without a doubt 10/10

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mavisker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at Montfort Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thanks for a lovely review Mavis and Peter, it's been great having you stay with us and thanks for the laughs! Don't leave it too long before you come and stay at Montfort Cottage again.
All the best Sue and Paul x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We enjoyed a warm welcome, lovely clean room with en-suite and excellent breakfast provided by Paul & Sue our friendly hosts. Easy walk into Bowness and Windermere. Would definitely recommend. Pete & Susan

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan_ashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at Montfort Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thanks Sue and Peter for a lovely review, we're glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Don't forget about coming up in the spring and hopefully have better weather! All the best Paul and Sue x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#26 of 107 in Windermere
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#10 of 107 in Windermere
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#24 of 107 in Windermere
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#11 of 107 in Windermere
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 107 in Windermere
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#32 of 107 in Windermere
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montfort Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montfort Cottage Guest House

Property: Montfort Cottage Guest House
Address: Princes Road, Windermere LA23 2DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Montfort Cottage Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montfort Cottage Guest House is a lovely, compact and bijou 19th-century Lakeland stone terrace cottage, ideal as a romantic getaway for couples looking for comfortable, excellent Visit England 4* quality standard and affordable bed & breakfast accommodation in Windermere, the heart of the English Lake District.The guest house is personally run by its owners, Paul and Sue Blackburn, and is the perfect accommodation base from which to explore the stunning scenery and natural beauty of the Lake District. Situated in a quiet residential area close to Baddeley Clock Tower, the midway point between Windermere and Bowness, Montfort Cottage is just a 10 minute walk from either village and their abundance of shops, restaurants and traditional pubs, and a short distance from Lake Windermere itself. There is also free parking available outside or near to the cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Montfort Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montfort Cottage Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing