We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$369
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Windermere Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
177
16
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
16
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaul suekendal mint cakeguest housemulled wine and mince piesdvds and booksmy partnerfull english breakfastmaking our stay perfecttea coffee hot chocolategreat night sleepday hikingminute walklake districtironing boardplaces to visitwarm welcometop floor
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Brilliant value for money. Montfort cottage was faultless and Paul and Sue are lovely hosts. Our room was stylishly decorated and the hospitality tray was well stocked including kendal mint cake and bottled water. Breakfast was great and set us up for the day. The location was perfect, only a short stroll to the shore to catch the boat. We highly recommend Montfort and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Book direct for the best deal.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at Montfort Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thanks for a lovely review Louisa, Sue and I appreciate your time in writing this wonderful review. The pleasure was ours because both of you are lovely guests and great company during breakfast time. Come back and see us again soon please, kind regards Paul and Sue x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Amazing place; but I must say that the hosts are the icing on the cake. Very hospitable and accommodating. Had a great 5 days at the cottage, with the room in the attic being spacious yet cozy at once. Great decor, great breakfast, and perfect location sandwiched in between the lake and the station. Definitely recommend this place to everyone and anyone!

-Alex and Chris

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuan899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at Montfort Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thanks for a lovely review Alex and Chris, Sue and I really appreciate your time in writing this wonderful review. The two of you were polite, courteous and a pleasure to look after during your long stay.
Please come back and see us again before you finish your studies, it would be great to see you both again. If any of your friends would like to join you then call me and we will book them in too!. Many regards Paul and Sue xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Absolutely faultless stay at the Montfort Cottage. With a friendly greeting upon our arrival through a wonderful 4 night stay, The hosts went above and beyond any expectations to make our stay a special one. A beautiful room and fantastic breakfasts. A heartfelt thankyou to Paul & Sue for making our stay memorable!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren-E73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at Montfort Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Wow, what a lovely review and wonderful comments, Sue and I really appreciate you giving time to write this review. Come and see us again soon please because you were lovely guests. Kind regards Paul and Sue xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I had a lovely 4 night stay in May and the Montfort was a great base to stay at.
Our hosts Sue and Paul were very friendly and always glad to help with any issues we had.
The room (#6) was very clean and had a TV, Hairdryer, small ironing board and coffee making equipment.
The room was en-suite (shower only, no bath) and very clean and tidy.
The bed was comfortable with lots of pillows and cushions.
Breakfast is ordered the night before and is a mix of cooked and cereal and yoghurts.
The Breakfast is cooked by Sue and Paul as you wait and is very nice, especially the Haddock.
Overall, our stay was just what we wanted. A quiet B&B with great service and in a great location between Windermere and Bowness.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Windermere room on the top floor (#6) is up several flights of stairs and has a sloping roof.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_&_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at Montfort Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thanks for the lovely review Sue and Chris, glad we made your stay enjoyable. Your review came out as a very good and not excellent but you scored us excellent on all the categories. I'll have to get in touch with Tripadvisor about this one!
Don't leave it too long before you come and see us again, we miss your banter during the breakfasts! Kind regards Paul and Sue x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hosts are amazing and very considerate. The fact that they care for your safety while out and about is very assuring.
Booking was a breeze and pricing is good.
I stayed in the Thirlmere room. The room is slightly smaller than I expected with just one medium-sized window looking out onto the road in front of the house. It's a quite road so no issues there.
Ensuite shower is convenient though really very small. I am quite small so had no issues but anyone who is on the larger size might have a little trouble. Shower amenities such as soap, shampoo, conditioner & lotion was great.
Towels were available though it'd be great if a towel rail was provided. I had trouble drying the towels the first day and ended up with damp towels when I returned after a long day's walk.
Could do with coat hooks on the back of the door or something.
No issues with the bed. But I rated sleep quality as average because all the rooms are around the stairs and very close together so if your fellow lodgers aren't fairies, they'll probably wake you!
The hosts provide a boot tray but there isn't much space in the room for it. Ended moving furniture around. But it's a great addition to the room.
Hospitality tray was fantastic with local treats too.
Lots of maps available so don't need to go to the visitor centres to pick things up.
Breakfast is a highlight of the guesthouse. Great variety, freshly prepared and a splendid way to start the day!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at Montfort Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thanks for your time Amy in writing a review for Montfort Cottage, however we are slightly confused.
The Thirlmere room you stayed in, is in our opinion, the best double en-suite and our personal favourite. Both the bedroom and en-suite are above standard size. Also the en-suite has a towel rail and coat hooks fixed to the inside of the shower room door!
We haven't had any previous comments on guests being noisy and causing a disturbance. As part of the meet and greet of guests we always ask them to respect other guests and keep their noise levels down. Apologies if you had been disturbed.
Please come back and see us again sometime, kind regards Paul and Sue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews