We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unless everywhere else is closed....”
Review of The Queens Pub

The Queens Pub
Ranked #47 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unless everywhere else is closed....”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

In fact, even if everywhere else is closed, get a bus to Ambleside. Called in for a pint to watch a football match, thinking of getting a snack with my pint, or maybe eating more formally after the game. I had a pint of the one cask ale on offer while I got the lie of the land. The beer was really poor, although delivered by a reasonably pleasant barmaid, while guy I took to be the manager rudely told another customer "it's Sunday we don't serve food after 3" as if it was unbelievable that somebody would be so silly as to ask. So decided to settle for crisps and a lager for the second half. The pub smelled of toilets, when I used the gents the reason was obvious, the floor was wet and filthy and you had no option but to walk that back over the carpet in the bar. I got a good view of the match in the big screen and the banter from the locals was entertaining, so I've given an extra star above what it was really worth.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    110
    84
    53
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Okay but!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Went in to watch the match late afternoon after finishing a walk. Just had a drink or three but its nothing special. It could be, and it did serve its purpose but staff really should look interested and offer some banter. Manager/staff member appeared to be more interested in playing machine near door and if you do nothing else please dust copper pitcher near door before you go up stairs as its got more dust than an empty house and stock a better quality wine selection. Wine drinkers recognise labels and Id rather pay a bit more for my wine than drink base camp stuff.

Attention to detail is the quest and you usually get out of something what you put into it so get on and up the monty.
.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deckland_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Won't visit again”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Went in over new year and there was an Alsatian dog running around. Will never go here again, staff were really rough

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We walked in to a busy old school pub that didn't really look like a place to eat but we spotted the sign for the restaurant upstairs and bit the bullet and went up. We weren't expecting much and were pleasantly surprised. The room is nicely decorated and clean. We chose a seat overlooking the high street so we could people watch. The waitress was very polite and tended to our every need without be over bearing. We chose Cumberland Sausage and mash, very well cooked, presented and priced.

Do not be put off by the pub downstairs

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stuart n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Pint..”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I've been to the queens several times, good beer and nice environment to chill and socialise with friends.. We've not eaten in the pub but food looked typical for this type of establishment.

The beer was good, not too expensive and access to the bar was good. Free pool table was a hit and so was the sports shown throughout - we watched the boxing.

I will say (and this isn't a slur on the pub) that towards the latter part of the evening the 'local' clientele were wrecked and unruly.. Lots of stumbling, bumping and shouting and general lairiness.

Helpful?
Thank telfordthaiboxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queens Pub also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Queens Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing