We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A meal with a view”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #27 of 76 Restaurants in Windermere
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A meal with a view”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

First class view. The food was perfectly acceptable and arrived promptly. It is perhaps a little more expensive than you would expect though for standard pub food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willhaypiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    144
    68
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Go for the lake view and marina not food....”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had seen this bar/restaurant from the lake Cruise so wandered down to it, we sat initially facing the park which was pleasant but noisy as on the main road then moved to the back of the pub downstairs overlooking the Lake. We were initially drink Symonds cider which was a nice change but when moving downstairs they didnt serve it form the smaller bar.

We noticed some food coming out which lookd nice so decided to look at the menu, The prices were horrendous I know the location was good but £6 i think it was for a plain jacket potato, sanwiches up to a £10, we decided to just have a few drinks and get something to eat elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alandt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor food, bad communications, great view!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We went to the Ship Inn for lunch, and unfortunately it was a bad experience.

Firstly, communication of the staff was poor. My wife asked for a fresh orange & lemonade, but received fresh orange (not a big deal).

My wife then ordered chilli con carne, but received chicken curry. When she mentioned that it was the wrong dish to the waitress, the waitress was not apologetic, and as my wife was hungry & generally likes curry, she stuck with it rather than waiting for chilli.

I ordered steak & ale pie. Unfortunately both the chicken curry & steak & ale pie were terrible.

The curry was far worse than what you'd make with a jar of Pataks sauce, and the steak pie had an air of wet dog about it. The steak was very dry.

We just ate the food because we were hungry, but it was not enjoyable.

We're not at all fussy - we're generally very happy with a wetherspoons pub meal, but this was far worse, and more expensive.

This was a disappointing meal, and I hope the Ship Inn can up their game.

At least we had a lovely view to enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not pretty, but not bad”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had a dinner here one evening, sat in the dog area inside. Didn't have anything fancy, just a good pizza and a pint. Not the prettiest pub in the area but not a bad pub because of it

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fast service and lovely view”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Food was lovely and very reasonably priced. Only complaint was the noise level at some times - there were a lot of children at the particular time of our visit which spoiled our peace and quiet, unfortunately.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing