We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gem of a holiday cottage”

Review of Windermere Cottage

Windermere Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Windermere Cottage
Windermere cottage comfy furnished lounge Windermere cottage fully fitted kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Windermere Cottage
Windermere cottage comfy furnished lounge
Windermere cottage fully fitted kitchen
Windermere cottage master bedroom
Windermere cottage second bedroom
Windermere cottage luxurious shower room
Windermere cottage spacious dining room
Windermere Town Centre
Boats on Lake Windermere
House on the bridge Ambleside
Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway
Barn Owl at Muncaster Castle The World Owl Centre
Ashness Bridge near Derwentwater
Wastwater from the summit of Great Gable
Castlerigg Stone Circle
Lake Windermere and the Northern Fells
Windermere & Conniston Water from Hart Crag
Lake Windermere from Bowness
Lake Windermere Mariner
Ullswater from St Sunday Crag
Buttermere & Crummock Water from Haystacks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
David S
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A gem of a holiday cottage”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a holiday cottage in the centre of Windermere then they don't come much better than Windermere Cottage. Shops, bars and restaurants are all within a few minutes walk. The parking permit supplied with the cottage was a real bonus as it allowed us to park right outside the front door. The cottage is well equipped, warm, comfortable and came with free WiFi. Pet friendly and spotlessly clean it was a cottage we would not only recommend to friends but also one that we want to return to again. The central position might suggest you may suffer from noise at night time. No, we had really good night sleeps in a very comfortable bed! Our black Labrador, Abby enjoyed it too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3021
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantasic”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just got back from a 5 day stay with my husband and two year old. The Cottage was fantastic with everything we needed and more. The two bottles of wine and kendal mint cake left out for us on our arrival was a most welcomed surprise as was the free wifi! Good location and a clean and spacious cottage . Will definitely return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BexyQ
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We can't wait to return.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had such a fantastic stay at the Lake District and loved this cottage. It's in a great location. Nearby parking, and more importantly, pubs. Really comfortable and modern. We would love to stay here again. Thank you so much.
Mr Spencer and guests.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
g-h1981
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a great long weekend stay at Windermere Cottage. The cottage is spotlessly clean, cosy, beautifully decorated and equipped with just about everything you could ever need. The location really couldn't be better - right in the middle of Windermere with Bowness also within walking distance.
Will return and would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary P
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb holiday cottage in heart of Windermere”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This cottage is truly home from home with everything you need for an enjoyable holiday, is very clean, comfortable and warm and has been renovated to a very high standard. It is situated in a quiet street just off the main high street in Windermere with easy access to all local amenities. There is a bus stop at the end of the street so you can leave your car parked using the pass supplied if you don't feel like driving, and the railway station is a short walk away. The owner Clive is so helpful and goes out of his way to ensure your stay is a happy one-he rang to check we had everything we needed. Will be staying again this year - highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate B
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage In The Heart of Windermere.”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our second visit to Windermere. We previously stayed at the cottage next door which is also owned by Clive and Rose.

The cottage did not disappoint. Immaculately clean and very modern. Deceptively large inside. We were able to take our dog too.

The only negative is not always being able to park near the cottage as the road is very narrow and has few spaces. However you have a resident's permit which allows you to park in the neighbouring streets. But you are made aware of the parking situation upon booking.

This time we didn't even need to use our car. Lots of amenities nearby. If you are travelling by train then the cottage is within walking distance. Bowness and the Lake is a 20 minute walk away.

The welcome gifts of wine, kendal mint cake and sweets for the kids was a lovely touch. There was even a birthday card for my daughter!

The cottage is wonderfully equipped and Clive is a delight to deal with. We will most definitely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jade W
1 review
“Central, clean, cosy cottage”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Excellent cottage right in the centre of Windermere. Apart from tricky on street parking which is to be expected in the centre of Windermere and most of the Lake District everything was fantastic. The pictures don't do it justice.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$81
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing