We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Chinese, good service and good food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of You and me

You and me
Ranked #49 of 73 Restaurants in Windermere
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Chinese, good service and good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in Bowness-on-Windermere as a couple and with so much food choices to eat decided on this Chinese as liked the look of the set meal choices at £13.50pp. We weren't disappointed and had a lovely meal (see pics) which was tasty, good service and excellent value for money!

We had the three courses on the set meal choosing the hot and sour soup (husband had the Tom Yam soup), mixed starter platter including ribs, sesame toast, chicken satay and spring rolls and honey and lemon chicken (husband had Kung Po crispy beef) with egg fried rice. Also had the Rose tea which was refreshing and prawn crackers.

Really enjoyable and very satisfying with good flavours and a nice atmosphere! A few Chinese restaurants around the same area and glad we chose this one!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    72
    31
    13
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This restaurant seemed like a family run affair. Ok, the staff's passion and enthusiasm doesn't burn very brightly, like a candle about to be blown out, or an engine about to run out of petrol.The decor was also nothing to shout about.

This place has a hidden oriental menu which can be seen on the outside, written solely in Chinese, and I would suggest asking staff to explain what each and every thing is on that menu as authenticity doesn't come much better if you have travelled in the far east. I don't know why they don't print that menu out in English. We ordered a shredded duck/pork vermicelli in broth from that menu and it was pretty tasty.

The toilets should be refurbished in some way or another. Currently with the window open the people on the other side of the street can see you (while they dine I think). And the general cleanliness of it is disappointing.

The prices are also reasonable however, but there was a service charge added onto the bill which I do not like in any restaurant. I like to tip as much, or as little, as I want.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coffeeleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average chinese meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Went here on a busy saturday night , didn't wait too long on a table. Chose the set menu £13.50 pp which was good value first course is soup then mixed starters or duck with pancakes, and main courses had a good selection with chicken,beef or prawns.
Food was average, service was average but price was good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GillianM681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

On of the best Chinese meals I have had. Restaurant is very simple with a small downstairs section and an upstairs for larger groups.
There were six of us and we went for the set menu and there was so much food. Portions are large and the set menu was very varied not the usual sweet and sour, black bean sauce etc you usually get. Food was excellent and the schezwan (?spelling) was very authentic.
Service was good although I think English wasn't a strong language for all staff but they were all friendly and entered into conversation with us and were always smiling.
Suggest if you have children to ask for smaller portions for them. They were very accommodating to us in making changes to the set menu for people in the group.
Overall we were really surprised as we expected a run of the mill Chinese restaurant and we got much more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb chinese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Being lucky enough to be spoiled with the eateries in Glasgow, it was great to find a Chinese restaurant that served absolutely superb food...and at great prices. The set menu is a steal at £13.95 for 3 courses including aromatic crispy duck. Service too was excellent. Would go back in a minute if back in the Lakes.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diarmid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed You and me also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to You and me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing